We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive, but not as good as the Park Hyatt Tokyo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas
Ranked #31 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Impressive, but not as good as the Park Hyatt Tokyo”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I spent four nights at the Park Hyatt before moving to the Ramada where I had to attend a conference (my company would not pay for a Park Hyatt room). This was my second stay at a Park Hyatt property, and as such I had high expectations - which were mostly fulfilled, but the experience was not as remarkable as the Tokyo Park Hyatt. I think I have to try a few more to see if the Tokyo hotel is really the expection. I found it impressive how they kept the typical Park Hyatt cold and sober elegance and yet managed to give it the turkish touch. The interior designer clearly did an excellent job. Of course it broke my heart when I had to leave and move to the Ramada.

There's two things I found a bit - problematic. The location is far from the tram or subway, and you either walk (across a park) or take a cab. Other hotels in the same area are closer to public transportation. I did not really mind, but expected some kind of shuttle service like in Tokyo. And then there's the internet fee, totally inappropriate.

I think I will give the Hyatt Regency a try next time in Istanbul. The location is closer to Taxim, and the pool is larger.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marais75012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    113
    21
    11
    1
See reviews for
110
266
55
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

This modern hotel was a treat. Beautiful room - we were upgraded to a room with a hammam. Very modern spin on a Turkish tradition.

The pool area was small, but stylish. The outdoor restaurant by the pool was lovely. Breakfast menu served great options. Concierge was very helpful. Hotel is located in a quiet/upscale area. Easy walk to train to old part of city, and a quick taxi ride to Taksim Square area.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRMBinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The 100 year old building has been converted to a 90 room hotel in the best shopping district (Macka) in Istanbul. The hotel is convenient to everything. The steakhouse, Prime, is very good. The breakfast, served in the lobby, is imaginative at a reasonable price. Our Terrace Suite was fantastic, with a Turkish hamman bath and 49 foot terrace over looking the outdoor dining area and pool. The hotel was built as an apartment house for the former Italian Embassy located across the road.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The hotel is well located and its quality is excellent in all range and levels. The quality of food is very nice and the service one of the best we have met.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hiromi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We have been in many luxury hotels around the world and this hotel, its facitilties, its staff and most particularly its management are beyond excellence. The hotel is meticulously clean, the rooms are large and very comfortable and the food outstanding. The hotel staff are the most professionally mannered individuals with a genuine warm-hearted disposition to assit you with any request. They reflect the exemplary leadership of the general manager. Not only is this hotel superbly run, but also is situated in the upscale and safe Macka Park area. It is a 5 star hotel with a 4 star rating... It is the best location in Istanbul.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

This is a beautiful modern hotel with a Turkish twist. I stayed in a suite which was amazing, huge room, living area and the bathroom had a steam/shower and large bathtub with mood lighting.
It is located in a nice area, lots of high end shops and restaurants around within walking distance. The hotel has a nice poolside restaurant though the menu is a bit limited the food was great.
Very nice staff and surroundings - would definately visit again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickyscriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Positive points: large and well decorated suites in the last floor, good views, good places to walk around in a trendy section. Negative points: slow and kafkian service, spa always empty with noone avalilable.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alef1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
The St. Regis Istanbul
The St. Regis Istanbul
#23 of 1,156 in Istanbul
226 reviews
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#73 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,744 reviews
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#65 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Besiktas
Raffles Istanbul
Raffles Istanbul
#14 of 1,156 in Istanbul
517 reviews
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#8 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas

Property: Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas
Address: Bronz Sok. No:4 Tesvikiye, Sisli, Istanbul 34367, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sisli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#11 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#20 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#21 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#34 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish five-star hotel houses a total of 90 generously sized deluxe rooms and suites. Decorated with Ara Güler's black-and-white Istanbul photography, traditional Turkish patterns and icons represented in contemporary scale and composition, the hotel fills the guest with what we call "unexpected pleasures". The finest food and beverage facilities at 'The Lounge at Park Hyatt' offering all-day dining, including breakfast. The outdoor facilities include an outdoor pool and The Terrace. The Spa offers the ultimate in relaxation after a busy day in town. Be it a business trip, a city break, a shopping spree, or the perfect honeymoon, our city hotel in Istanbul offers all that you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing