We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location - Huge Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas
Ranked #37 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2014

There is no ideal place to stay in Istanbul and getting around can be a chore. The best sightseeing is in Saltanahmet but most of the hotels are on the other side of the Golden Horn. The Park Hyatt is near Taksim in Nisantasi, an upmarket neighbourhood with lots of shops and restaurants. This means that its a taxi ride to most tourist sights but there are places to eat near by - it's also a safe area to walk around.

The hotel itself is very stylish. There's a large atrium as you come in with a bar and the reception area. This was also where they served breakfast when we were there (the main restaurant and terrace were being remodelled). The rooms were great - very comfortable and large with lots of amenities (coffee machine, kettle, large flat screen TV etc). Views were nothing special but the windows opened and the high ceilings made the rooms very airy. The bathroom was great too (we had a spa room) - freestanding bath and a separate steam room.

Service was good to - all in all a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonBurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulcin K, Guest Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear LondonBurl,

We are very happy to receive your feedback about your stay in our hotel. Your comments are very helpful for us to explain our hotel and the special Nisantasi area, where is one of the most elegant districts in the city. We are also grateful that you mentioned about your Spa room, with the distinguished features it consists.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (724)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

352 - 358 of 725 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

Excellent service from the staff of this hotel. The concierge is very knowledgable and always willing to help. The spa rooms are amazing and the hot water, air conditioning and amenities in the room are fabulous!! Excellent location. SUPER AMAZING WIFI!! Breakfast selection was ok, not the best but service was excellent.

Room Tip: Try and get a view of the main street in a spa room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank world t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulcin K, Guest Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear world t,

We are grateful to receive your kind feedback regarding your stay with us. Especially mentioning about our services in general and particularly our Concierge services, we are truly delighted. You can rest assured that we shared your remarks with our colleagues.
It is noticeable that you enjoyed one of our signature Spa rooms with a private Turkish bath set-up and steam room. They are indeed designed for the ultimate Park Hyatt experience, so we are happy to see that our guests love these features.

We will look forward to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I stayed in this hotel with family. Excellent location just in the middle of all the luxury shops (beware married men) :) Room is very well decorated and comfortable. 2 cons: bad internet reception and lack of space at breakfast. Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yakup D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulcin K, Guest Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Yakup D,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and also highlighted the shopping heaven of our neighborhood, Nisantasi.
We will surely work on the internet service to be accurate at all times.

We will look forward to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is like any other park Hyatt.. Elegant, understated and classy.. Friendly staff and very helpful. The hotel is situated in an amazing area which is not that touristic and has amazing pubs, bars and restaurants around it. There's also a lot of high-end around the hotel where all the brands you can think of are there, and also city's mall is within 2 minutes walking distance! The hotel otherwise is tiny and doesn't have too many amenities but is located really really well!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Paris179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulcin K, Guest Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Paris179,

Thank you very much for your comments.
It is so nice to see that you appreciated the services we provided. Our hotel is located in one of the residential districts of Istanbul, called Nisantasi, and we are glad that the features our neighborhood offer are up to your liking. This way, you can experience our city almost like a local does.

We will look forward to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

With some interesting new openings around the world I wanted to try the brand and I have to say it was not bad at all.
Located in the upscale shopping / residential area you are a 15 to 30 minute taxi ride away from the major sights of the City - for me that is a plus as I would not want to be based in the main tourist areas.
We arrived at about 11am and the room was not ready and having agreed to pay for a room upgrade we waited an hour and a very helpful lady on the reception desk came over and told us the room was ready and would we like to follow her to the room. Just as we were getting into the lift her phone rang , she took a call , and told us we would have to find our own way to the room as something had come up .... A little strange.
The room was fantastic , by any standards , and for me to be impressed takes quite a bit! It turns out that having paid for an upgrade we were then upgraded to the next level , which was hugely appreciated. But we did need someone to show us how the fairly high tech lights / aircon / curtains etc worked.
However, the room itself somehow outclassed the lacking little extras. The brand claims it offers guests 'unexpected pleasures' and I am not quite sure what is meant by this - is it the tiny bowl of Turkish Delight that was left out one day, or the 2 oranges the next?!
There were no newspapers given to guests or flowers in the room, and no complimentary mineral water ( there was a jug of drinking water left out but personally I want bottled water) and these are things that I have come to expect in high end hotels these days.
Housekeeping was a little slow and not quite up to speed - not enough towels / not replacing showergels etc.
One night we booked a babysitter with the hotel - we agreed that it would cost €25 per hour and €25 transportation costs - she was very nice and arrived on time. We tried to work it so that we were away for 3 hours - ie a total of €100 which to me is quite enough . I was disappointed when we arrived back 15 mins after the 3 hours and she wanted that extra - come on!
Finally , one morning we ordered a light breakfast to be delivered to our room to have on our terrace. The trolley was wheeled into the room and left - no thought as to where we might like it - this would not have happened at a Starwood property. And to serve not freshly squeezed orange juice - it may have been a mix of half and half - is just unacceptable , particularly in a country where oranges are produced in huge quantities.
I will return - the staff tried hard and were excellent - I am a Park Hyatt convert - but would love to see these little things rectified to push it into the Great category.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EddieALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulcin K, Guest Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear EddieALondon,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking time to express your feedback about your stay with us. We highly appreciated that you pointed your experiences in such a detailed way.
We understand that you had the chance to enjoy one of our superior suites with a private terrace. Even though your arrival process was handled professionally, it has been unfortunately distracted when our colleague has received an international phone call. Believing that all our guests deserve the utmost attention, we will look for the best opportunities to overcome such inconveniences.
We are sincerely happy that you liked the room. Our Executive Suite has so many special features where our guests can have a unique Park Hyatt experience. In regards of the room cleaning facilities, we will be more careful to follow up our guests' schedule, in order to avoid any interruptions. Also, we took our notes about your bottled water and fresh juice requests for your future stays with us.

We will look forward to welcome you back again.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Having read mixed reviews , I was a bit anxious about this hotel but I need not have been . The check in process was efficient & smooth aided by a very helpful staff member.
We had 2 spa rooms which were large , beautifully furnished & well equipped .
While there is renovation work going on, it did not have any impact on our stay other than the lack of a hotel based resturant & as there are so many to choose from right on your doorstep this was not a problem. The concierge recommended 2 fantastic resturants within walking distance.
The Park Hyatt is situated in a lovely part of Istanbul ,close to shops, cafés & you feel quite safe strolling around this area away from the hustle & bustle of the old town.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank oscarspet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulcin K, Guest Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear oscarspet,

We are very happy to see that you had a memorable stay with us. It is indeed a very clear feedback that you mentioned about your arrival and the rooms you received. We show maximum attention to our guests' arrivals and it is motivating for us to see your appreciation.
The construction work in the building will soon be over, so that in your next trip, you can be able to enjoy a brand-new restaurant in the city.
Also, we are grateful to you that you highlighted our Concierge services. Our experienced colleagues work hard to provide the tailor-made solutions for our guests' needs and give tips to make it an enjoyable experience of Istanbul.

We will look forward to welcome you and your family back.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I have been member of Hyatt for a couple of years, stayed in several Parks around the globe, I just noticed that the hotel has nothing to do with this chain, poor in all aspects, room standard, outlets quality of the room, and most important thing is the noise!!!

If you guys are planning to visit Istanbul in the soon, please rethink about staying in this hotel, as there is a construction going on in a restaurant within the building, and drilling start from morning till evening, and they cannot do anything about it, and in my opinion the very unprofessional part that you would expect from such chain is that there is no notification related to this matter.

also it is valuable to mention that the rooms looks old, need refurbishment badly.

Also there is only one lounge, or sort of all day dining area right on the entrance of the hotel, which used to serve the breakfast, some light snacks, as well as used as a bar!!! this is not really what I have expected from Park Hyatt, as I have stayed in Hamburg, Tokyo and other cities, where you feel you are at home.

Sad to be disappointed by chains that I use to love.

Room Tip: Choose different hotel for the time being
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alhouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulcin K, Guest Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Alhouri,

Thank you for your feedback about our hotel.
We appreciate the time you took to write about your experiences.

We would like to inform you that during the period of your stay, there is a renovation for the opening of our pool and terrace. We are working hard to complete this process as quick as we can.
Regarding your comments about our rooms' look, we sincerely respect your opinion. Our rooms are designed with a vision to create the palazzo effect, where our hotel is located. We also would like to highlight that the hotel’s interior designer is the renowned Randy Gerner of Gerner Kronick + Valcarcel in New York City, which won the “Best Guestroom Design” category at the 30th annual International Hotel, Motel + Restaurant Show® (IHMRS) Gold Key Awards for Excellence in Hospitality Design for its job on Park Hyatt Istanbul - Maçka Palas.
We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back, so that we can pamper you during your next stay.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
The St. Regis Istanbul
The St. Regis Istanbul
#40 of 1,173 in Istanbul
254 reviews
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#67 of 1,173 in Istanbul
1,841 reviews
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#57 of 1,173 in Istanbul
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Besiktas
Raffles Istanbul
Raffles Istanbul
#16 of 1,173 in Istanbul
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas

Address: Bronz Sok. No:4 Tesvikiye, Sisli, Istanbul 34367, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sisli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#13 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#19 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#24 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#27 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £118 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish five-star hotel houses a total of 90 generously sized deluxe rooms and suites. Decorated with Ara Güler's black-and-white Istanbul photography, traditional Turkish patterns and icons represented in contemporary scale and composition, the hotel fills the guest with what we call "unexpected pleasures". The finest food and beverage facilities at 'The Lounge at Park Hyatt' offering all-day dining, including breakfast. The outdoor facilities include an outdoor pool and The Terrace. The Spa offers the ultimate in relaxation after a busy day in town. Be it a business trip, a city break, a shopping spree, or the perfect honeymoon, our city hotel in Istanbul offers all that you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing