We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, clean, Good value”
Review of Saruhan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saruhan Hotel
Ranked #14 of 1,078 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is a small simple place, the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast is served on a roof top terrace that provides views to the Bosphorus, whilst basic it is tasty and better than many other place we have encountered whilst in Turkey

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

We travelled in Turkey for 2 weeks and this was our very favorite hotel. Very helpful and caring staff, very clean, great breakfast, organized to and from airport, helped us with lost luggage, good shower and bed :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is a nice little hotel with an excellent staff, comfortable, charming rooms and great location. It's a little bit away from the main tourist street but in easy walking distance of good, small cafes and major tourist attractions. (It was nice to be just a tiny bit off the main tourist path.) It's right near one of the important mosques--Little Hagia Sophia--which is wonderful to visit. Our room was clean and had a little veranda. The breakfasts on the rooftop was really good. The staff went out of their way to help us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the upper level so you'll have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel three times during our six week stay in Turkey. Each time was excellent and we would definitely stay there again. There was a wonderful breakfast and it was so relaxing sitting outside watching the ships in the Sea of Marama.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hawean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We caught a taxi from the bus station to the hotel and we are glad we did as otherwise we would have been completely lost. Even the taxi driver had trouble. However once at the hotel and after a short walk around the area, we felt completely at home. Located about 10 minutes behind the Blue Mosque in the Sultanahmet area, it is primarily a housing area complete with playgrounds and soccer pitches. The hotel staff are friendly and courteous and a lift makes for easy access to upstairs rooms. The balcony rooms are large and clean and are well maintained on a daily basis. Laundry facilities are available and are affordable. A coffee machine in the foyer was a bonus. Breakfast was excellent with a great selection served on the roof top with indoor and outdoor seating. Numerous restaurants of various quality can be found in the nearby streets.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GreyNomadAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We loved this place. So clean and friendly. We loved the location with great views of Bospheris an Mosques. We were close to all we wanted to see in Istanbul and we walked to them. We are two senior women and found it very safe and charming around the city. We loved Istanbul and the Saruhan Hotel. This hotel and their staff made us feel like we were at our new home in Istanbul. We would go back as many time as possible. Great experience.

Room Tip: We asked for ground level and it was perfect. Very quiet hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nancy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We had good time in this nice tiny hotel. Service is pleasant and room clean and secured.
It is 10min walk to Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. Service is provided to reach the airport.
Terrace is nice when sunny !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lilian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#24 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,775 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,075 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#16 of 1,159 in Istanbul
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#34 of 1,159 in Istanbul
711 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#27 of 1,159 in Istanbul
834 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#3 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saruhan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saruhan Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Cinci Meydani Sok. No: 30 | Sultanahmet, Kadirga, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 1,078 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: £23 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Saruhan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saruhan Hotel is a yellow stone house run by a Turkish family; this is the only hotel in Istanbul decorated with stone and wood together. It is located in the heart of the open air museum Istanbul, in the historical Sultanahmet area. It is ideal for visiting by foot the oldest and the most important Byzantine and Ottoman monuments of Istanbul. It is constructed of smoothly hewn yellow, pink and beige stone from Cappadocia and unbelievable quality of wood work like an ottoman wooden house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Saruhan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saruhan Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing