We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, great for a short stay.”
Review of Sultan Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sultan Hostel
Ranked #17 of 1,200 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing location, great for a short stay.”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The reason we stayed at this hostel was because the Busabout tour we had booked departed from here. It was in a great location, close enough to walk to all of the main sights in Istanbul including the Grand Bazaar, Hagia Sofia and the Blue Mosque. We had a street facing room with a shared bathroom. It got quite noisy at night due to the club downstairs but wasn't too much of a hassle. It was clean although there are cats around inside but stayed out of your way.

Very basic breakfast but was included so O.K for a couple of days. There are plenty of restaurants close-by if you wanted something else to eat.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia09Albury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    156
    47
    18
    9
See reviews for
15
58
119
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Had an amazing time at Sultan Hostel with a group of 33 people. Besides the clean rooms and perfect location (5 min to blue mosque), the most admirable thing was the service.
The staff was always present, laughing and ready to party. Even more important was the recognition, these guys were truly interested in us and willing to help us and call or negotiate with people for us.
Another important factor that made this stay fabulous was the bar with many cocktails and the restaurant which provided us with good meals, especially in comparison with the surrounding restaurants. I will definitely be back in this Hostel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Menno S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sultanhostel, Owner at Sultan Hostel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Hi,
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at Sultan. Thank you for the rewiew and hope to see you one other time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Bountiful breakfast, firm beds, hot showers... discount at the restaurant (and you'll want to eat there because others in Istanbul don't even compare in price-- even without the discount!).

Stayed here twice and both times met some incredible people, other travelers so open to share their experiences. Sure, you can get that anywhere you go but at Sultan Hostel, the environment was so conductive for it (and a great narghile session). Enes and Hakan are the best, great service and an awesome help to accommodating everything I asked for. In fact, all the staff was very friendly, willing to help out and if you strike a conversation with them, they'll most certainly have some interesting things to say.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zajizabalerio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sultanhostel, Owner at Sultan Hostel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Hi,
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at Sultan. Thank you for the rewiew and hope to see you one other time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I stayed at Sultan Hostel for a couple of days... It's a good, clean hostel, with a friendly staff. The breakfast is plenty, caters to vegetarians too... the Aya Sofia, Topkapi Palace and the Sultanahmet (Blue) mosque are three minutes away. For your ride home, there's an airport shuttle to get to the airport on the way back.

I'm definitely staying here, when i return to Istanbul! :)

Room Tip: The ground floor girls dorm is a good room, only remember to draw the curtains and prepare to be wok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aparna_andhare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I've traveled all over Europe and the U.S. and this was my favorite city to visit- thanks in large part to my experience at the hostel. We were in a 10 person shared bunk- everything was very clean, including the bathrooms and showers. The front desk staff weren't particularly friendly, but were always helpful when I needed anything. The best part about this (in addition to the great location) is the bar and restaurant out front. The staff there (a part of the hostel as well) are AMAZING. We would venture out for dinner and drinks elsewhere, but always came back. Customer service was great, they were friendly- always offering advice on what to see, having a drink with us, etc.- and great music. They let us play our playlist at one point, made us drinks that we requested, etc. I can go on and on about how great they were. The free breakfast was delicious, and I ordered off there menu a couple times. Wasn't a five star meal, but great value for money! I can't wait to return to Istanbul and to Sultan Hostel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Sultan hostel is the place to be! It's a 3min walk from the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, the tram stop,...The prices are good, rooms are clean, the food is excellent, the atmosphere is great and the staff!! Omg the staff is just incredible! They really make you feel comfortable, help you with anything you might need...for sure one of the best hostels I've stayed in for a while. I would especially like to thank Hakan and Enes, you guys are the best! :)I had an amazing week in Istanbul and I'm sure I will come back again. Thank you for everything:)

Helpful?
1 Thank Špela N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sultanhostel, Owner at Sultan Hostel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Hi,
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at Sultan. Thank you for the rewiew and hope to see you one other time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I must say it was one of the best hostels i've ever been. And I travel a lot. The location is Top! You are 3 minutes from the Blue mosque (walking time)!Well i just got back from the Istanbul. Me and my friend Spela were staying in here- Sultan hostel for 7 days in a 10-bed room and the breakfast was included (vegetables, cereals, juice, feta, jam, butter, honey, milk, tea, coffee)! The room was clean and nice, the bathroom and the shower was clean too. You have only one key of the room which is either in reception or someone is in the room. They have cameras everywhere and you got a diffrent key for the sef. so you can save important stuff in it. Maids were daily cleaning everything. At the front of the hostel is a bar and restaurant in one. The food was delicious and cheaper than in other restaurants.10 % off. I must say the staff members was really nice ( esp. Enes and Hakan- I just loved them). i must say they were saying hello everyday night and day to everyone. And they hang out with everyone in the terrace. They even suggest you places and where you should avoid.They were nice and very friendly. We all the time got the pipe on the house and tea and coffee were free everyday till 3.O'clock pm. Thats was awesomee! You can saw from the street, that all the time only our bar was full. So that tells it all. I met a lot of amazing people in the hostel. So i will really miss this place and people! Got some good memories. Sultan hostel was the best choice. I don't have any regrets!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sultanhostel, Owner at Sultan Hostel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Hi,
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at Sultan. Thank you for the rewiew and hope to see you one other time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,725 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,950 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cheers Hostel
Cheers Hostel
#3 of 1,200 in Istanbul
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Antique Hostel - Guest House
Antique Hostel - Guest House
#23 of 1,200 in Istanbul
343 reviews
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#4 of 1,200 in Istanbul
732 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Hostel International
Orient Hostel International
#14 of 1,200 in Istanbul
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Hostel

Property: Sultan Hostel
Address: Akbiyik Cad No 17, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 1,200 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sultan Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be smart, stay smart! Our mission is to provide comfortable, stylish, convenient and affordable accommodation in Istanbul at a price that can't be beat. Our location is designed with the backpacker in mind. From our 24-hour reception to security lockers , we have everything you need to enjoy your stay and feel comfortable. SULTAN HOSTEL IS THE ONLY HOSTEL WHERE YOU CAN WATCH RUGBY GAMES LIVE ON BIG SCREEN TV AND ALSO ENGLISH PREMIER LEAGUE IN ENGLISH Our hostel is also regularly health and safety checked by the local governments. If you have not satisfied with your stay for any reasons, we take your comments and suggestions seriously. We encourage you to speak to your dedicated and highly-trained staff to help us improve our hostels. We will work our hardest to make it a pleasant stay, whether one night or a month! As part of the Youth Hostel Association and the International Youth Hostel Federation. We are right in the heart of a young, international area full of shops, cafes, restaurants and bars, this YHA property buzzes with action. We are the perfect stop on your backpacker trail of Istanbul. Our rooms are with or without Bathroom and Breakfast Included. Our hostel is centrally located in Sultanahmet and is just a few minutes walk from all the major attractions. On our big screen TV.You can watch the latest movies and watch all sports activitivies including, Rugby, Premier League, Tennis, golf. Some of our facilities are; Reasonable prices, Clean comfortable rooms, 24 hour piping hot water, No curfew, Friendly, helpful English speaking staff, Great food, Relaxed Bar, Lockers for your valuables. Free internet access, wireless internet, home tether, free towels, breakfast included, travel agency, sea view terrace in summerThe Sultan Hostel is a short walk to all the main sights including, the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, the Underground Cistern, the Grand Bazaar and Topkapi Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Sultan Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing