We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place.”
Review of Sultan Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sultan Hostel
Ranked #13 of 1,260 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Affordable place with stunning location. It gets a tad bit noisy at night if you are an early sleeper but apart from that this place is very enjoyable. They offer a nice breakfast and free flow of tea and coffee till a mid afternoon. The bartenders are pretty amiable too! Backpackers this is the place for you.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Goh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 553 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

The Sultan Hostel delivers on the chilled-out-by-day / party-by-night atmosphere that you'll encounter from the get-go. The downstairs bar is an often crowded affair with the staff both serving and mingling among the international crowd. The rooms are clean, well maintained and spacious enough. The breakfast is nothing special. During our stay it rained and we discovered that the window facing out over the ocean was prone to leaking. The staff, however, were quick to lend a hand and provide us with plenty of towels. Keep in mind that you will pay a premium for the location - central to all the sights and about a 10 minute walk from the tram. So if you're budget conscious (like us) do not expect to be paying budget hostel prices. Still, for two nights, our stay here was practical and enjoyable. Also, the discount on bar food and drink is an added bonus for all guests.

Room Tip: Aim for a higher floor facing the water to avoid the noise of downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c-j-dob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Sultan for a night on each side of our Gallipoli Anzac tour and we all wished that we stayed at Sultan for the whole time rather than the awful hotel the tour had booked us. We drank at sultan every night that we were in Istanbul and it never once disappointed! There was always a great crowd and vibe and the staff were always up for a laugh! Great beer and free shisha.. What more could we want! I could spend my days there sitting in the sun meeting awesome people and drinking great beer! Would definitely recommend!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank RoseAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sultanhostel, Yönetici at Sultan Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Hi,
Thank you very much for your good rewiew about our hostel. We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in our city and also in our hostel. Best wishes...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We had a very good time. Small but clean rooms. Great vieuw from the roof of the hotel. Good breakfast and nice staff

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank janine30011971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The reason we stayed at this hostel was because the Busabout tour we had booked departed from here. It was in a great location, close enough to walk to all of the main sights in Istanbul including the Grand Bazaar, Hagia Sofia and the Blue Mosque. We had a street facing room with a shared bathroom. It got quite noisy at night due to the club downstairs but wasn't too much of a hassle. It was clean although there are cats around inside but stayed out of your way.

Very basic breakfast but was included so O.K for a couple of days. There are plenty of restaurants close-by if you wanted something else to eat.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia09Albury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Had an amazing time at Sultan Hostel with a group of 33 people. Besides the clean rooms and perfect location (5 min to blue mosque), the most admirable thing was the service.
The staff was always present, laughing and ready to party. Even more important was the recognition, these guys were truly interested in us and willing to help us and call or negotiate with people for us.
Another important factor that made this stay fabulous was the bar with many cocktails and the restaurant which provided us with good meals, especially in comparison with the surrounding restaurants. I will definitely be back in this Hostel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Menno S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sultanhostel, Owner at Sultan Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Hi,
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at Sultan. Thank you for the rewiew and hope to see you one other time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Bountiful breakfast, firm beds, hot showers... discount at the restaurant (and you'll want to eat there because others in Istanbul don't even compare in price-- even without the discount!).

Stayed here twice and both times met some incredible people, other travelers so open to share their experiences. Sure, you can get that anywhere you go but at Sultan Hostel, the environment was so conductive for it (and a great narghile session). Enes and Hakan are the best, great service and an awesome help to accommodating everything I asked for. In fact, all the staff was very friendly, willing to help out and if you strike a conversation with them, they'll most certainly have some interesting things to say.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zajizabalerio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sultanhostel, Owner at Sultan Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Hi,
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at Sultan. Thank you for the rewiew and hope to see you one other time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#467 of 1,181 in Istanbul
129 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#874 of 1,181 in Istanbul
629 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Palace Hotel
Sultan Palace Hotel
#502 of 1,181 in Istanbul
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,181 in Istanbul
1,841 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antique Hostel - Guest House
Antique Hostel - Guest House
#17 of 1,260 in Istanbul
354 reviews
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#2 of 1,260 in Istanbul
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Hostel

Address: Akbiyik Cad No 17, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 1,260 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: £11 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sultan Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be smart, stay smart! Our mission is to provide comfortable, stylish, convenient and affordable accommodation in Istanbul at a price that can't be beat. Our location is designed with the backpacker in mind. From our 24-hour reception to security lockers , we have everything you need to enjoy your stay and feel comfortable. SULTAN HOSTEL IS THE ONLY HOSTEL WHERE YOU CAN WATCH RUGBY GAMES LIVE ON BIG SCREEN TV AND ALSO ENGLISH PREMIER LEAGUE IN ENGLISH Our hostel is also regularly health and safety checked by the local governments. If you have not satisfied with your stay for any reasons, we take your comments and suggestions seriously. We encourage you to speak to your dedicated and highly-trained staff to help us improve our hostels. We will work our hardest to make it a pleasant stay, whether one night or a month! As part of the Youth Hostel Association and the International Youth Hostel Federation. We are right in the heart of a young, international area full of shops, cafes, restaurants and bars, this YHA property buzzes with action. We are the perfect stop on your backpacker trail of Istanbul. Our rooms are with or without Bathroom and Breakfast Included. Our hostel is centrally located in Sultanahmet and is just a few minutes walk from all the major attractions. On our big screen TV.You can watch the latest movies and watch all sports activitivies including, Rugby, Premier League, Tennis, golf. Some of our facilities are; Reasonable prices, Clean comfortable rooms, 24 hour piping hot water, No curfew, Friendly, helpful English speaking staff, Great food, Relaxed Bar, Lockers for your valuables. Free internet access, wireless internet, home tether, free towels, breakfast included, travel agency, sea view terrace in summerThe Sultan Hostel is a short walk to all the main sights including, the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, the Underground Cistern, the Grand Bazaar and Topkapi Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Sultan Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing