We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff!”
Review of Sultan Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sultan Hostel
Ranked #16 of 1,203 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice staff!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great location, stone-throw away from Sultanahmet (Blue Mosque). Akbiyik Cad is a buzzing street with loads of hostels and bars and it just comes alive at night. The breakfast is pretty basic but it does its job, the rooms are fairly big (stayed at a 6 bed female ensuite) and it just all felt really safe. The hostel has its own restaurant that's a really cool place to start your night out with a couple of cheeky beers and a peppermint-flavoured nargileh.

The staff were attentive and professional. Recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    156
    47
    18
    9
See reviews for
15
58
120
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
County Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The hostel is well-maintained and reasonably priced. The reception staff were friendly and didn't try (too hard) to sell us partner trips etc. which was a nice change.

Rooms were pretty standard but clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wobbler99CF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Really nice hostel, cheap and very close to every touristic site in Istanbul.
with a really nice bar with good cocktails ! :)
The location is perfect and the room are clean.
Nice terrasse on the top with a great view on Istanbul.
Good advices receive for turkish bath.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugénie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo, Uruguay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Perfect location,perfect staff,cheapest beds....thank you for everything..ı Will never forvet you guys..my favorite is SAMED..we had great experience with you and feel like we were in Uruguay...see you guys..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina alejandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Sultan Hostel is located within 5 minutes of the Blue Mosque and Haiga Sophia. It is also around the corner form the basilica cistern and other sights within Sutanahmet. It's on a busy street with loads of restaurants and some bars. It can be quite noisy at night but not too bad. It is clean and safe. There are lockers provided too. Also the best shisha we had in Turkey!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The hotel is great is you want to be near the center of Istanbul and all the sites. Location could not be better. The hostel restaurant is the best and liveliest spot on the street. Backpackers are out at all hours. The halls can be noisy at night but very quiet in the morning. We had a basement room which was dark. Towels are not included so bring your own or rent. Desk clerk was very helpful.

I rated average because the room could have used a little updating and the front door was broken you have to enter through the restaurant.

We did have a couple of chaps getting drunk at 0830 having their second pint of beer and trying to flirt with a girl waiting for a shuttle. We just moved the kids to a better table. This was the only incident. The other nights we sat outside at a table playing cards until 2200 with no problems. Most of the people looked out for the kids.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kris030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We spent the morning touring the Blue Mosque and Ayasofya, leaving us with parched throats and a desire to put our feet up. The terrace offers some fantastic views of both landmarks as well as the teeming boat traffic on the Bosphorous.

Prices are higher in Sultanahmet, but here they seemed slightly more so. Staff was attentive, courteous, and very suggestive of the mezze, which I did not believe to be worth the price. We did not try other food here.

Would I go back? No. Was the Sultan Cafe advantageously located and worth the overpricing at that very moment? Absolutely.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#625 of 1,149 in Istanbul
611 reviews
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#527 of 1,149 in Istanbul
122 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cheers Hostel
Cheers Hostel
#3 of 1,203 in Istanbul
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Orient Hostel International
Orient Hostel International
#13 of 1,203 in Istanbul
502 reviews
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#4 of 1,203 in Istanbul
736 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antique Hostel - Guest House
Antique Hostel - Guest House
#22 of 1,203 in Istanbul
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Hostel

Property: Sultan Hostel
Address: Akbiyik Cad No 17, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 1,203 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sultan Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be smart, stay smart! Our mission is to provide comfortable, stylish, convenient and affordable accommodation in Istanbul at a price that can't be beat. Our location is designed with the backpacker in mind. From our 24-hour reception to security lockers , we have everything you need to enjoy your stay and feel comfortable. SULTAN HOSTEL IS THE ONLY HOSTEL WHERE YOU CAN WATCH RUGBY GAMES LIVE ON BIG SCREEN TV AND ALSO ENGLISH PREMIER LEAGUE IN ENGLISH Our hostel is also regularly health and safety checked by the local governments. If you have not satisfied with your stay for any reasons, we take your comments and suggestions seriously. We encourage you to speak to your dedicated and highly-trained staff to help us improve our hostels. We will work our hardest to make it a pleasant stay, whether one night or a month! As part of the Youth Hostel Association and the International Youth Hostel Federation. We are right in the heart of a young, international area full of shops, cafes, restaurants and bars, this YHA property buzzes with action. We are the perfect stop on your backpacker trail of Istanbul. Our rooms are with or without Bathroom and Breakfast Included. Our hostel is centrally located in Sultanahmet and is just a few minutes walk from all the major attractions. On our big screen TV.You can watch the latest movies and watch all sports activitivies including, Rugby, Premier League, Tennis, golf. Some of our facilities are; Reasonable prices, Clean comfortable rooms, 24 hour piping hot water, No curfew, Friendly, helpful English speaking staff, Great food, Relaxed Bar, Lockers for your valuables. Free internet access, wireless internet, home tether, free towels, breakfast included, travel agency, sea view terrace in summerThe Sultan Hostel is a short walk to all the main sights including, the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, the Underground Cistern, the Grand Bazaar and Topkapi Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sultan Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing