We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not adviseble to anyone”
Review of Hurriyet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hurriyet Hotel
Ranked #173 of 1,039 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“not adviseble to anyone”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

the rooms are very tinny, and they make a lot of confusion about the transfers to the airport. Despite l told them Ataturk airport, they took me to the other one. l payd 140TYL to go to the other one and l didn't loose the plane just for a few minuts. when l try to get a satisfation from them they decline and told that was my fault, that l take a wrong car. l was waiting at the lobby and someone of the hotel came to me and told me that my tranfer arrived and shown me that bus

Room Tip: don't go to that hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charubo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    62
    29
    14
    21
See reviews for
30
38
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

The hotel is located in Sirkeci, very close to the Orient Express train station. There is a view of the Bosphorus from the terrace of the property. The location is ideal for sightseeing and exploring the historical centre of Istanbul. The staff was always very helpful and provided us with much useful information and advice. As far as the room is concerned, it was rather small. There was also an ensuite bathroom which was really tiny. The breakfast served on the roof terrace consisted of Turkish breakfast with a reasonable selection of hot and cold beverages. All in all, I can only recommend the property to those looking for a fairly priced accommodation in the centre of Istanbul.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicholasPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

The hotel isn't perfect, but you get at least 100% of what you could expect for the price you pay.

Location: Excellent. Close to the tramway, railway station, ferries and boats. Walking distance or short tramway trip to all the main attractions.
Room: Small. Working air conditioning, thank god!
Bathroom: Small, with quite a primitive shower (you have to sit on or stand next to the toilet seat when showering).
Cleaning: Far from painstaking, but satisfactory.
Noise: Ear plugs are recommended. The first call for prayer is around 5 AM, and its sound is NOT stopped by the walls... Additionally, the cleaning staff can be rather noisy if you want to take a nap in the afternoon. The street in itself is rather quiet, though.
Breakfast: Great!! Lots to choose from - bread, butter, cheese, sausage, jam, olives, tomatoes, cucumber, cereals, biscuits, eggs... and you eat it with a splendid view over the Bosporus. Great start of the day!
Staff: Friendly and helpful. Staff in reception speaks English reasonably, other staff not so well, but as everywhere else in Istanbul, lack of language knowledge is well compensated by friendliness and a will to help.

All in all: If you don't need to use the hotel room for more than resting, sleeping and showering, but want to have a decent breakfast - this is a very good choice. If you want perfection in all aspects - choose another hotel, but then you'll have to pay a lot more!

If I would like to stay in the same area again, I wouldn't hesitate to choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KristianPersson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We booked via booking.com looking at the pictures which were good. When we got there we were given something very different.

The room was on the 4th floor with no lift. Walking up and down with luggage is no joke.

The room looked very old and the bathroom was terrible. Even the beds and sheets were old worn out.

The following morning we realised this hotel had two buildings side by side. We were given a room in the old one while the pictures showed on booking.com belong to the rooms in the new part of the building.

Dont be tricked and always ask for the new part of the building as we felt cheated paying the price we did when we were offered something else other then what was advertised on booking.com

It seemed as if we were given the worst room just because we had already booked online and had no other choice.

The only thing nice was the location as it was close to transport facilities and the view from the rooftop during breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keeranraaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Before i arrived to the hotel eith my family,we were thinking to change it,but we were lucky that we didnt find another one,because after our residence in hurriyet hotel,we could see how the location of it was excellent and the staff are very helpful and smiling all the time,rooms are very clean with A/C and TV, and some of them have bubble basin,at ladt i want to say that i will never hesitate to come back to this hotel if i come to istanbul again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stranger112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buchares
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

really ok hotel, next to the ferry station and train station. the room was very clean and the staff was realy nice and helpfull
the only minus for those who have problems sleeping - noisy in the morning because of the train station

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Hurriyet hotel is very close to all tourists attractions,close to sirkeci tram station....The staff was very friendly and the rooms very clean...the only disadvantage is that they dont have mini fridge to put something.for its price i think is the best choice...

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liebrefania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Septimum Hotel
Septimum Hotel
#485 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Sultanahmet
Askoc Hotel
Askoc Hotel
#530 of 1,135 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Akcinar
Hotel Akcinar
#950 of 1,135 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Galata Istanbul Hotel
Galata Istanbul Hotel
#590 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orka Royal Hotel
Orka Royal Hotel
#253 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Sultanahmet
Grand Esen Hotel
Grand Esen Hotel
#168 of 1,039 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hurriyet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hurriyet Hotel

Property: Hurriyet Hotel
Address: Hocapasa Mahallesi, Nobethane Caddesi, Serdar Sokak No: 11/13 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet , Sirkeci
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 1,039 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hurriyet Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing accommodation in Sultanahmet Old City centre, Hurriyet Hotel is around 4 km to Topkapi Palace and 2 km to Grand Bazaar. WiFi is free throughout the property. The air-conditioned rooms of the hotel offer a satellite TV and a private bathroom with a hairdryer. They have modern furnishings come with traditional Turkish features. Some rooms also have views of Bosphorus Strait. Guests can enjoy a rich breakfast buffet on the terrace overlooking Istanbul and Marmara Sea. Hurriyet Hotel has a car rental service. Ataturk Airport is 20 km away and Eminönü seaports along with Sirkeci Railway station are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hurriyet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hurriyet Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing