We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near the Topkapi Palace and the historic sites”
Review of Hurriyet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hurriyet Hotel
Ranked #128 of 1,078 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 May 2013

In the old part of town is the Hotel that is close to most of the sights.   The rooms are clean and simple. The price is very affordable and convenient.    The staff is friendly.The hotel is not responsible for metron station being built near the hotel. .Breakfast is good. A true city hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zeljko_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2013

I reserved this hotel for 6 nights, I checked in at first day, as you may had seen in other reviews that they have two room types the new good ones shown in pictures and the bad old ones are kept for your surprise!
Unfortunately I got one of these worst rooms ever, it is no more than 7-8 square meters, the bed is just fit the room width, no room even for a single person to put luggage and staff.
The bathroom is a disaster, the door does not close, no curtains for shower, and of-course very small and old.
I asked to change the room, one of the guys at the reception was a liar and said all rooms are the same, the other receptionist was much nicer and understanding and he told the truth that they have two room types and the new ones are occupied, and he will try to fix room for me next day.
I checked again next day if they have the room, and that was the liar receptionist and he said no we haven't so I checked out and left this bad bad hotel.
Breakfast was very basic no hot staff.
Avoid this place

Room Tip: Don't go there, trust me
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WaelG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

I arrived at this hotel about 8am one morning after arriving in Istanbul on an overnight bus. Obviously it was too early to check in but they still offered me breakfast, which I gladly accepted! The view of the harbour from the restaurant is spectacular! Many of the hosts speak reasonable English and they were helpful in directing me towards the best places for Turkish dinner and baklava. The location is superb! Approx 10min walk to the heart of Sultanahment and 10min to the ferry port...definitely within walking distance of a number of the main attractions. I was in a single room, it was small but very clean and tidy. I was on a tight budget but still wanted somewhere pleasant to stay after a week in rural turkey in "holes and the wall" and overnight buses. At 50 euro for a night it was great value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

This hotel has two parts.The good one that was on the photos in booking.com and the bad bad part, that you should live on... with not hot water,no tv,no elevetor...after a big squabble they gave us another room, much better with tv, jacuzzi and view...
the best thing was the location! you could walk everywhere in the old town of Istanbul!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view and elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TaniaL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

I was staying in this hotel for 3 days in January. It is warm, clean and cozy place. The staff is extremaly nice and helpful. The location is perfect, close to the most famous places in Old Town. Brekfast is ok. I would always stay here while being in Istambul. The prize is very resonable, too.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edyta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Hotel is clean, staff very friendly but room too small. I had to climb over my bed to open the window. Desk in room could not be used due to lack of space. Heating was working only a few hours per day. Door of bathroom could not be opened completely due to lack of space. Breakfast was very good with view to the Bosporus. After all I was satisfied with the hotel but next time I will ask for a better room (they have some rooms with more space)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Werner H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

This hotel located in a very good location, walking distant to all the main attraction. But the room are very small and toilet are even smaller. As for the breakfast hopefully the management will consider making some changes instead of the same food very day!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanKualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Galata Istanbul Hotel
Galata Istanbul Hotel
#575 of 1,159 in Istanbul
102 reviews
Sultanahmet
Old City Viva Hotel
Old City Viva Hotel
#639 of 1,159 in Istanbul
205 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sehir Hotel Oldcity
Sehir Hotel Oldcity
#297 of 1,159 in Istanbul
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Akcinar
Hotel Akcinar
#917 of 1,159 in Istanbul
51 reviews
Sultanahmet
Grand Esen Hotel
Grand Esen Hotel
#162 of 1,078 in Istanbul
168 reviews
Sultanahmet
Istasyon Hotel
Istasyon Hotel
#711 of 1,078 in Istanbul
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hurriyet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hurriyet Hotel

Address: Hocapasa Mahallesi, Nobethane Caddesi, Serdar Sokak No: 11/13 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet , Sirkeci
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 1,078 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: £20 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hurriyet Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing accommodation in Sultanahmet Old City centre, Hurriyet Hotel is around 4 km to Topkapi Palace and 2 km to Grand Bazaar. WiFi is free throughout the property. The air-conditioned rooms of the hotel offer a satellite TV and a private bathroom with a hairdryer. They have modern furnishings come with traditional Turkish features. Some rooms also have views of Bosphorus Strait. Guests can enjoy a rich breakfast buffet on the terrace overlooking Istanbul and Marmara Sea. Hurriyet Hotel has a car rental service. Ataturk Airport is 20 km away and Eminönü seaports along with Sirkeci Railway station are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hurriyet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hurriyet Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing