We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You've got to be kidding!”

En La Luna Restaurant
Ranked #3,607 of 13,399 Restaurants in Istanbul
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: Turkish, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Sultanahmet
Cranbury, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You've got to be kidding!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

We decided to have a drink on the rooftop restaurant one evening. At first glance, we were disappointed by the rooftop view but we sat down anyway. We were the only customers on the rooftop restaurant because it was early. In the middle of our drink, we were startled by an explosion in the bar area next to our table. Really, we were so scared that we ducked under the table--it sounded like a bomb was exploding! Once the sound subsided in a minute or two, we sat up on our chairs and saw that a gas tank had exploded behind the bar and it sent shards of glass everywhere from the glasses behind the bar, everywhere around us and on our table. No one came to us to apologize- so we dashed out, absolutely shaken! When we got downstairs, they had the nerve to charge us for the half drunk drinks...unbelievable! As we were leaving the restaurant, everyone in the street asked us if we were ok...the sound was heard by everyone in the street. This is a strange place--good location but we wouldn't go back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    30
    11
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Uninviting overpriced roof garden with no garden or view”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012 via mobile

A few reasons to skip this place-Unpleasant loud owner, who is rude to his stuff; a service by a young boy who doesn't understand a word in English(even asking for salt was a big trouble); mediocre food - our main course arrived cold; uninviting atmosphere-seating under fluorescent light, with unpleasant smell of old carpet, no views..you can do much better in Istanbul!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lica_alisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiburon, California, USA
Level Contributor
105 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Perhaps they were having a bad night but our experience here was quite average. They have a nice terrace with a good view ( though the view at Seven Hills is much better). Be prepared to walk up quite a few stairs to get there. I believe their kitchen was on the ground floor because our entree was not hot by the time it was set on our plate. The menu is just average compared to the many other resturants in the area ( such as Metropolis). And our service was quite poor from a young waiter who didn't speak English very well and who we constantly had to ask to bring us things ( such as napkins, dressing for salad and salt/pepper).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
9 reviews
“Small Place, Excellent Turkish Food, Great Service in English”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

The restaurant patrons on the evening we visited were all tourists - Canada, Japan, Germany, and South Africa. It made for interesting conversation, which occurred between tables. The food was delicious and authentic, and the evening felt magical. I cannot promise that everyone's experience would be magical, but the food was Turkish and of excellent quality.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bramhall, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Totally overrated”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Disappointing, wine twice as expensive as other, better restaurants. Food was only acceptable.can get much better elsewhere. Don't wate your money here. Recommend Balicki fish restaurant.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed En La Luna Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to En La Luna Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing