We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Personal and personable...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Osmanhan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Osmanhan Hotel
Ranked #3 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Personal and personable...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

My mother and I stayed mid-March for a few days. I wondered how such a small affordable hotel could have such a high ranking. Aside from the great location and breakfast buffet, this hotel is small and personable and extremely clean. The staff, Fatih and Vefa in particular were very friendly and most helpful, their recommendations were right on. Other reviewers have better described the details. But I would like to add that during our stay there was a break in main water pipe (due to street construction near the Palace) that left the entire area without water for a few hours,mid-morning. The owner offered a free 'bath' at a nearby hotel hammam to compensate for this. Also they kindly held our luggage between check out and our departure. Additionally, we were on the the second floor and had no problem with noise at all.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnnGeewanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    862
    111
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
167
495
112
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We recently stayed at Osmanhan Hotel. It is a great hotel. First, the staff is very friendly and helpful. Second, the location is great, as you are right in Sultanahmet but aren't paying exorbitant prices. Third, the breakfast was very nice -- real Turkish breakfast with fresh simit (round bread with sesame) and delicious jams (such as rose, for example, which is very authentic). I recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GiannisM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

The week we spent at this hotel was terrific. It was calm, the people were friendly. The second they picked us up from the airport on our experience was great. Mr. Fatih, who works with the hotel, was incredibly nice and polite. My wife and I felt like we knew him for years. The room was cozy and elegant. The view was amazing, looking over the sea. Everything was spectacularly clean and the food was superb. We loved the Turkish style gourmet breakfast! The two people who serve breakfast on the terrace are amazing. You won't forget them.

If I ever have the privilege of visiting Istanbul again, I'd never hesitate to stay here again.

- Ziad and Najua from Washington DC

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ziad e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

We booked this hotel for a 4 day trip to Istanbul on the recommendation of friends and it fully lived up to their recommendation and to the reviews on TA. Communication was excellent from before we arrived with prompt and helpful replies to e-mails. Fatih was very helpful throughout our stay as well. This is a small but definitely not cramped hotel. The room and ensuite shower room were both of a good size, but don't expect the acres of space in the chain hotels. This is an entirely different experience and the building is typical of those in the old town (Sultanamet area) The photos on the hotel website give an accurate flavour of the rooms and the standard of fittings is very good - comfortable bed, excellent shower, double-glazed windows.
The breakfast served on the roof terrace was a generous buffet with local cheeses, olives and homemade fried pastries as well as the usual muesli, fruit etc. When they found out that I was vegetarian, Hamid asked his wife to make pastries for me with only cheese and leek, leaving out the usual salami. There are views from the roof terrace of the tops of the minarets of the Blue Mosque, in one direction, and over the Sea of Marmara in the other. Everyone was helpful and friendly and we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Unless you have problems with stairs, it is good to be higher up as the streets nearby can be a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SJ49-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronxville
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

My family loved the Osmanhan. The location in Sultanhmet can't be beat. The roof terrace has a lovely view out to the Sea of Marmara. The staff is friendly, helpful and proud of providing a high level if hospitality. I loved some of the homemade items they served at breakfast that were delicious and which the staff took obvious delight in my delight. In terms of value, the Osmanhan is easily a five-star. Potential guests should know that the hotel does not have an elevator (which the staff pointed out to me even before I'd booked the reservation). I only saw our room (41) - it was nicely furnished, impeccably clean, not large, but adequate. It was very quiet for sleeping. I don't know if there were mosques close by, but we never heard the early call to prayer which we heard in other places we stayed in Turkey. If you want super modern or ultra-luxe, the Osmanhan is not for you, but if you are looking for a wonderful local feel with all the pluses I've described, the Osmanhan is great.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We absolutely loved everything in this hotel: from the simple yet great quality of the furniture, the rooms, the service. The breakfast on the roof terrace in particular was absolutely charming.
We were very well received by Fatih at the reception, and by the staff serving breakfast.
I have absolutely no complaint. I am not surprised the hotel is so positively reviewed.
It offers exactly what it promises, is very clean, very well located, has a charming entrance and reception area. I would recommend it in a heartbeat

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank msnimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We only stayed one night at the Osmanhan Hotel, but would have loved to have made it much longer. This hotel is an excellent combination of a great central location in Sultanahmet (within easy walking distance to many main attractions), friendly service/advice, quality accommodations, and ambiance, including nice views from the rooftop dining area. Fatih at the front desk was gracious from the outset, greeting us upon our late arrival. He answered all of our questions and provided service that was beyond what is typically expected for a good hotel. Osmanhan Hotel appears recently updated with tile, natural stone, and wood embellishments. Our room had thick dual pane windows and from our location up several floors from the main street below traffic, noise was not a problem at all. The breakfast offered a generous assortment, including some unique Turkish "delights" (not the candy). Our favorite novelty was the "Rose Jam". We were told this was a special homemade concoction. It tasted as wonderful as roses smell. Considering everything, it's hard to imagine not recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Davill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,919 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,184 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#4 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#13 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,861 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#24 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osmanhan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osmanhan Hotel

Property: Osmanhan Hotel
Address: Akbiyik Cad. Cetinkaya Sok. No:1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Osmanhan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Osmanhan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing