We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent , excellent , excellent”
Review of Osmanhan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Osmanhan Hotel
Ranked #3 of 1,148 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
vancouver bc
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“excellent , excellent , excellent”
Reviewed 6 October 2012

i cant say enough about this little hotel.. at the moment you check in with Fatih ..you feel completely welcomed and the rooms are impecably clean and cozy..the location is fantastic.
breakfast is home made and the breakfast staff Mustafa and the other staff are wonderful.
The only bad news about this hotel is that its always booked full.
Once again the hotel is great but the staff certainly make it the BEST !!!!

Room Tip: any room is great.. i will take any of them.. maybe not the one room on the first floor thats all i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ghalston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    878
    112
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
173
501
114
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kanagawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

I stayed 6 days in Osmanhan hotel.
The location is 5 minite walk from blue mosque.

The room is comfortable and furniture is lovely.

Breakfast in patio is excellent, fresh fruit,vegitables..
overview beautiful sea of Marmara!
Mehmet talked with us very friendly.

Fatih on front desk help us to where I want to go and recommend excellent restaurant.
He always smile and say 'Okaeri'( welcome home in Japanese)

The orner,Hamit-san is also nice.
He helped us toreserve Hamam.

Hotel staffs are very nice and frendly.
It's home from home.
Everything is perfect!

I want to stay Osmanhan hotel again!

Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Yoko5566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, VA
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Osmanhan Hotel again in September 2012. It has the feel of home. Fatih at the desk and all the other staff are friendly, helpful and eager to make us comfortable. Breakfast on the roof overlooking the Sea of Marmara was superb--one morning we had three different kinds of traditional Turkish borek! We love the Osmanhan and will stay there whenever we get the chance.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hanusa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

My wife and I booked this hotel for a one-week visit to Istanbul based on all the excellent reviews on TripAdvisor, and we were not disappointed. Other reviewers have already done an excellent job of describing their stays at the hotel, so I won't bore you with yet another litany of its many merits. Instead, I will cut to the chase and concentrate on its few deficiencies.

The rooms are clean and cosy, but relatively small, especially the bathrooms. Great for lone travelers and friendly couples with minimal luggage, but problematic for a larger family.

There is no elevator, so older or disabled individuals will have problems getting around the hotel. Even if you get a room on one of the lower floors, you'll still have to climb all the way to the top floor for breakfast every morning or whenever you want to enjoy the terrace view. Just getting to the reception area from the street entrance requires going down several steps.

Access to the hotel is a little challenging as well. It is hidden away in some back streets, many of which are a steep in places and with missing or unusable sidewalks. You'll end up having to walk in the cobbled street much of the time while keeping a sharp eye out to avoid getting run over by cars and tour buses.

The streets around the hotel are lined with restaurants of a hundred different varieties (including a pretty good Korean restaurant right next to the Oshmanhan itself). Though this is great if you are looking for a meal, it can be a problem at other times. The problem is that every one of those restaurants has a man standing out front in the evenings whose job it is to entice you in for a meal. Some of these guys can be pretty pushy, and after a while, we started to dread the running of this gantlet on our return to the hotel after dinner.

Breakfast is included in the price of the room, but don't expect to see a big buffet spread with hot plates full of steaming western-style breakfast food. What you will find is a small side-table holding a few plates of cheese slices, cold cuts, yogurt, fruit, cereal, slices of cake, some bread and simit (wonderful Turkish bagels), jams, fruit juices, milk, etc. There is usually a friendly face around willing to cook you a small omelet or make you a coffee, but don't expect much more. If you don't eat a lot for breakfast (like us), then not a problem, but if you are used to a large hot meal to start your day, you'll need to look for it elsewhere.

Don't get me wrong. We loved our stay at the Oshmanhan, and would be happy to book there again the next time we travel to Istanbul. The hotel was perfect for a relatively healthy couple like us, and for the price, you can't really beat the location and quality of the accommodations.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank palandri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Stayed here only 1 night on what was big trip for us across Turkey and Greece. Friendly from the moment we walked in. We were given maps and recommendations for where to eat, and what to see and do.

Our room was very comfortable and a good size. Breakfast on the rooftop was great. We also took advantage of the roof top for evening drinks that we bought from a nearby corner store. The view from the top is spectacular.

The hotel is in a great spot for exploring the main attractions of Istanbul.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We very much enjoyed a four night stay here in late August. As many others have commented, the service is excellent, terrific location, nice breakfast, etc. We appreciated the minifridge in the room, where we kept leftovers from dinner to enjoy the next day. At the suggestion of other TA reviewers, we took a bottle of wine up to sitting up in the eating area on the roof, where we savored the view out over the Sea of Marmara. One night we watched the moonrise over the water, and then turned the other way to see the lights on the minarets of the Blue Mosque. The staff encouraged us to use the plates, glassware, and flatware from the breakfast room, which made for easy and pleasant dining.

The one drawback was occasional loud conversations trickling in from the street, where there are several hostels. We were in a first floor room, so maybe the higher rooms wouldn't have that problem.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank njpr0f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We booked OsmanHan after reading Tripadviser reviews and are very glad we did so. This tiny boutique hotel was a lovely place to stay. From the first contact they were efficient in answering questions and booking tours as well as the hotel booking. Mr Fatih on the front desk is a mine of information and could not have been more pleasant. The rooms are exactly as shown on the website. Although the bathrooms are tiny, they have everything you need including a wonderfully powerful hot shower. The place is immaculately clean. The breakfast on the rooftop, overlooking the Bospherous was a lovely way to start the day and considering the size of the hotel the breakfast was amazingly comprehensive, fresh fruits, fresh squeezed orange juice, cereals, breads, cheeses etc, and they will also make omlettes fresh for you. It is about a 5 minute walk from the Blue Mosque, Arasta Bazaar and the square to catch tours and trams on Divan Yoli street. Literally one street away is a main street with lots the most popular restaurants in Sultanahmet, so convenient. I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone unless they cannot cope with the winding staircase. They also manage a guest house just 2 buildings away that a friend stayed at, Argos, which is apparently also excellent and possibly more suited for families.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank LHSDoha_Qatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,148 in Istanbul
3,317 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#6 of 1,148 in Istanbul
2,982 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,148 in Istanbul
2,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#5 of 1,148 in Istanbul
2,974 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#12 of 1,148 in Istanbul
2,908 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,148 in Istanbul
1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osmanhan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osmanhan Hotel

Property: Osmanhan Hotel
Address: Akbiyik Cad. Cetinkaya Sok. No:1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 1,148 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Osmanhan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Osmanhan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing