We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, helpful staff, good breakfasts”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Osmanhan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Osmanhan Hotel
Ranked #3 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent location, helpful staff, good breakfasts”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Small hotel five minutes walk from Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. Warmly welcomed and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were good too.
The property is an old house refurbished to a high standard. Our ground floor room had a very comfortable bed and a quality bathroom with a decent shower. There is no lift so the sixty plus stairs to the roof terrace made breakfast a great reward for all that exercise!
It is not an establishment with five star pretensions but there was free wifi and a tea/coffee making facility (buy your own milk and keep it in the fridge). There is no residents' lounge.
Travel tip from Sabiha Gokcen airport. We pre-booked on www.istanbulairportshuttle.com at 10 euros each. Good value for a door-to-door service. Let the hotel reserve places for the return journey as they receive a well-deserved commission.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    862
    111
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
167
495
112
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in March/April and really appreciated all the help provided by the hotel staff. Fatih was exceptionally hospitable and provided us with all the help we needed and more, even before reaching Istanbul.

The hotel was very well located in the Sultanahmet area (historic part of Istanbul) and within walking distance from all of the main attractions. We even walked to and from Taksim and Besiktas - quite doable if you are up for a long but enjoyable walk.

The rooms are clean and fit for purpose but do not expect them to be spacious and luxurious. Breakfast was great at the hotel rooftop.


Thank you to all the Osmanhan staff for making our stay even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Omar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed here with my husband during the Easter long weekend and we were immediately made to feel welcome.

Fatih, who mostly manned the front desk, was so hospitable and helpful with anything from directions to just having a casual chat about our stay. He genuinely wanted us to enjoy our stay in Istanbul, which was refreshing.

The breakfast is served at the top of the hotel, where you can get a nice view of Istanbul, including a partial view of the Blue Mosque and Bosphorus River. There is a small but nice selection of food at breakfast and we'd often spend an hour just enjoying the view and the food.

The hotel is located within a really nice part of Sultanahmet, near lots of restaurants and is walkable to all destinations. The rooms are comfortable but can get hot at night, so just put the air conditioning on. The beds were really comfortable and were not two beds pushed together like what you find at most European hotels. Just note that Istanbul generally has more chlorine in the water so we brushed our teeth with bottled water as we're not used to it. They provide a kettle for boiling water and tea bags which is always nice to have after a long day site-seeing. The hair dryer was also relatively powerful for a hotel one.

To get to the hotel, we used a private transfer which only cost us €20 for the 2 of us. I would suggest this over public transport or a taxi as taxis are expensive and public transport is not easy to use in the old part of Sultanahmet.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in March, and had a great time.
The hotel is close to all the main attractions and just around the corner from some lovely bars and restaurants.
The staff are this hotels best asset as they are very helpful and nothing is too much trouble.
It is great to start the day with a lovely breakfast looking out over the roof tops to the sea.

We really enjoyed our short stay and if we ever go back to Istanbul, we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We were in room 41, which was a lovely big quiet room at the top of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ET0703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Traveling with my son (age 6) and my father, we only had two nights to visit Istanbul for the first time, and the Osmanhan hotel definitely contributed to our excellent impression of the city. First, the hotel arranged transportation from the airport, which was much welcomed after having to file a lost baggage claim - the driver was still there after an hour delay. Upon arrival, the hotel staff were helpful in directing us to both a store where I could buy pajamas and other essentials (due to missing luggage) and to a pleasant restaurant close to the hotel. It was such at treat to be able to walk by both the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sofia on our first evening. The room itself was perfect for the three of us - not large, but clean and nicely decorated. There was a minibar with reasonably-priced beverages. Breakfast in the bright room on the top floor was excellent and must be even better when it is warm enough to sit outside. The hotel staff (Fatih) provided excellent suggestions for all of our meals in Istanbul, and was generally an exemplary ambassador for his city. We appreciated the small, friendly feel of the hotel, but as other reviewers have said, this is closer to a bed-and-breakfast style hotel - which suited us perfectly. We were very pleased with our choice of hotel and will no doubt stay there if we are lucky enough to go to Istanbul again. (Oh, and you will be woken up by the call to prayer in the early morning, but that just seemed like part of the experience...)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K_Alice_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Fatih and his staff were very helpful the whole of our four day stay in Istanbul. Breakfast was excellent and provided a really good start to the day with wonderful views over the rooftops to the Marmara Sea and Blue Mosque. The hotel location was excellent in a relatively quiet road within easy walking distance of major attractions and local restaurants. Be warned that there are lots of stairs and no lift but the views and hotel comfort make this a small price to pay.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor with good views from the bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Duncan449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

3 nights approx €65-70/night Ground floor room.

Location is very good within minutes of Topkaki Place, Aya Sofia and Blue Mosque. Lots of restaurants-although touristy joints and minimarts/convience stores nearby. About 10-12min walk from Sultanahmet tram stop. 20-25 mins to Eminonu Pier for Boshporus boat rides and 15-20min to Grand Bazaar. You can always take a tram for 1.95TL/trip with IstanbulKart(Card)6TL which can be purchased and topped up and several newspaper kiosks or ticket machines (which happened to be all out of order) near Sultanahmet tram stop. Basic smallish room with minibar, tea/coffee facilities and a tv – Does the job but don’t expect a large room/luxury. Breakfast is served on the top floor, great views of the ocean; you can sit on the balcony if it wasn’t raining and cold when I was there. Cold meats, cheese, bread, cereals, fruit, salads, select cakes and Turkish pastries are provided – simple but filling and tasty. The reception staff were extremely helpful and spoke good English.

Overall an excellent value accommodation in the Sultanahmet district. A great base for the main tourist attractions.

Room Tip: No elevator so you may need help caring your bags up if you stay on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prozerran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,129 in Istanbul
2,919 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3,183 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#4 of 1,129 in Istanbul
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,129 in Istanbul
1,986 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#24 of 1,129 in Istanbul
1,710 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#13 of 1,129 in Istanbul
2,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osmanhan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osmanhan Hotel

Property: Osmanhan Hotel
Address: Akbiyik Cad. Cetinkaya Sok. No:1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Osmanhan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Osmanhan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing