We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel”
Review of Osmanhan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Osmanhan Hotel
Ranked #3 of 1,148 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
canada
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We arrived on an early flight from Johannesburg at 5:30 a.m. We had previously requested for the hotel to arrange transportation which was waiting upon our arrival. When we reached the hotel (about a half hour drive from the airport), our room was not ready but we were invited to have breakfast on the rooftop. We accepted and were treated to a lovely view of the sun rising over Istanbul. After a short nap we explored the neighborhood and were delighted to find that we were a five minute walk from the Bosporus, the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia and some of the best restaurants in Istanbul. In fact the street above the hotel had so many restaurants that each competed for business. A great location and a great family run hotel. We were treated so well and the room had everything we could wish for including a safe and mini bar. Our hosts advised us on the best restaurants within a two minute walk and in fact two of the restaurants were featured in Trip Advisor as five star and we were not disappointed. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We asked and received a room just below the rooftop breakfast area. the room offered also great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Noel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    878
    112
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
173
501
114
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We realy enjoyed our stay at the Osmanhan. The room decor is elegant and the rain showers are amazing! Plus I really liked that we had a mini-fridge and a safe in the room. The front desk staff were great - always very friendly and helpful! Plus its location off the main street means it is pretty quiet at night.

There is no restaurant on the roof so you can go up there whenever you want, even late at night (which we found ourselves doing each night). Great view of the sea from the roof but you can only see the very top of the Blue Mosque’s minarets, and you can’t see the Hagia Sophia at all. Nonetheless, the view is pretty stunning - especially in the morning, during the delicious breakfast.

The only room I wouldn’t recommend is the cheapest one on the ground floor as it is located directly behind the front desk and you are basically in the basement with no view from your window - plus you can hear everyone walk in, and the bed was really hard. We switched rooms on our last night and this one was on the 3rd floor had a great view and very comfy bed. We wished we had stayed there all along! The triple our friends stayed in was also great.

Coming back to this hotel each night felt like coming home. It doesn't have the view of the other hotel we stayed in on our trip but it was a better experience in general!

Room Tip: Don't go with the cheapest room on the main floor, as it has no view and can be loud with people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank erin464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Osmanhan Hotel for 3 nights. I think the previous positive reviews about this hotel on Tripadvisor were all correct.

The owner Hamit and all the staffs welcomed us warmly and treated us well during all our stay.
The location is good and we walked to every place (Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar and even Galata!) by walk.
The room was very clean and comfy. All the necessary things as kettle, tea bags, hair-drier and so on were prepared.

One of the most attracting features of Osmanhan is the rooftop-terrace. It is overlooking the Sea of Marmara and on it breakfast is served. The quality of the breakfast was good. We enjooyed fresh vegetables, fruits, delicious Turkish baguettes, home-made local foods, Turkish tea, filtered coffee and some other drinks.

We will definitely stay at Osmanhan Hotel again on next visit to Istanbul.I appreciate Osmanhan Hotel and also Tripadvisor!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zach T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gullane, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

If you are looking for small is beautiful then this is the one for you.

It only has 7 rooms but they are very well appointed, clean and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable. I am always slightly suspicious of hotel photos but in this case they are true to life.

There is no lift but the owner will carry your luggage up to your room.

Breakfast is served on its roof terrace and the food is limited but very good. No complaints as I am not a big breakfast eater anyway. You can see the Bosphorus from the terrace but to be honest not much of it. Just enjoy looking at the roof life of the city as you sip your fresh orange juice.

Its location is perfect. 5-10 minutes walk from the Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque and Cistern and not much further to the Topkapi Palace. Also a tram stop is about 10 minutes away.

There is a street of good and reasonably priced restaurants one block behind the hotel where we ate every night. Ask the hotel for the one with the underground Palace which you can visit for free after, or before, your meal.

If you are after a more authentic feel to a hotel as opposed to the big chains then have a serious look at this one. I would certainly go back here if I returned to the city.

On a separate note if you want a guide for a day or half day look at Context Travel (you can find them on the web). They are very good, not cheap, but you get academics who really know their stuff.

Room Tip: We had the top floor of rooms but I suspect they are all pretty similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeremy21558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel in 2011 and loved it then, it was wonderful and I liked it just as much this time. Really the only thing I think has changed is the breakfast. I thought it very good on my first visit but if anything it was better, a slightly bigger selection. The rooms are just as clean and you have room to move, you certainly could not call them pokey, a flat screen TV with the BBC and CNN News comes in handy when you have been away a long time and need news from home. You can't fault the bathroom plus Tea and Coffee facilities in you room. To be honest I wouldn't consider going to any other hotel. I love Istanbul and the Osmanhan Hotel is in a great location and a great price. The staff can't be faulted and will go out of their way to help you, Mehmet on Reception is always there to help if you need anything. I hope it will not be too long before I return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Osmanhan Hotel during October in room 11. We choose their cheapest room, because we were arriving late and leaving first thing in the morning. Because we were leaving early in the morning before breakfast, we were offered sandwiches to take with us.The room was a little noisy because we were just below street level, but it was still a nice room and had nice large thick towels. The location is excellent, close to many restaurants and an easy walk to most of the tourist spots. This is a great hotel for the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonnieMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Finding a good, centrally located hotel in Istanbul for a reasonable price is not easy. Finding a great one is even more difficult. But the small (7 rooms!) Osman Han is great, very centrally located and definitely worth the price. Breakfast was plentiful and freshly made, and the terrace has very good views. Everyone in the staff is smiling, friendly and helpful - and they all speak English. Rooms are not the biggest, but spotless clean.

Room Tip: The room on the ground floor is small, but still good value, and you don't really hear the recep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,148 in Istanbul
3,317 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#6 of 1,148 in Istanbul
2,982 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,148 in Istanbul
2,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#5 of 1,148 in Istanbul
2,974 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#12 of 1,148 in Istanbul
2,909 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,148 in Istanbul
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osmanhan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osmanhan Hotel

Property: Osmanhan Hotel
Address: Akbiyik Cad. Cetinkaya Sok. No:1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 1,148 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Osmanhan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Osmanhan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing