We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Favourite Hotel in Istanbul”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Osmanhan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Osmanhan Hotel
Ranked #3 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Chippenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our Favourite Hotel in Istanbul”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

A great location, extremely friendly and helpful staff, spotless rooms and a very tasty breakfast with a view of the Bosporus as a bonus. In particular, nothing was too much trouble for Ilknur and his restaurant recommendations were spot on.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    862
    111
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
167
495
112
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Unbelievable value, especially for such a superb, central location. We stayed at a decent hotel last year, but it was nowhere near as charming as the Osmanhan. Moreover, this place was a vastly superior deal --- $80 a night cheaper, and we had the best room. Add in delightful breakfasts and a superb staff that clearly cares about you --- you just can't do any better.

Room Tip: If you want a bigger bed and don't mind climbing 50 stairs, go for the deluxe room there. About...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prosebuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This was our first time in Turkey and we were not sure what to expect. But from the time we stepped into this hotel, the manager Ilknur and the rest of the staff were extremely hospitable and helpful. Ilknur helped us get oriented in the city with some helpful maps and very useful tips on how to get around. He gave recommendations for restaurants, sights and areas.

The room was modest but had a comfy bed and a clean bathroom and a well-stocked fridge (water, soda, etc). They had excellent views from the rooftop of the blue mosque on one side and the marmara sea on the other. We enjoyed several sunsets on the rooftop with a coffee or a beer. They also served a great breakfast on this rooftop every morning.

One of the best aspects of this hotel is the location. You can walk to every major site in the Sultanhamet district (Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Basilica Cistern, etc.) and if you don't mind a little longer walk you can cover Sirkeci on foot as well. And the area around the hotel is very quaint and laid back with steep hills paved with cobblestone and flanked by picturesque building facades.

All in all, it was a great experience and we would highly recommend Osmanhan hotel to anyone traveling to Istanbul.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MahadevD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This hotel is well located for all sites in the old city. Just blocks from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia? The staff is very friendly and helpful as well. They even give you a helpful map of the area and help with directions. Breakfast is on the room. Nice view. Nice place for drinks in the afternoon and evening. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasTeaTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel is well located for all sites in the old city, within easy walking distance of the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, and many good restaurants. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful as well. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tlybra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

In 2012, I was booked to stay in the Osmanhan Hotel for 2 nights before returning home from nearly 3 weeks in Turkey. I checked in late one evening and called home only to find out that my boyfriend was ill. I called the airline and was able to move change my flight to the following morning. The hotel staff were great as I was quite upset and just wanted to get home. They went out of their way to help me get organized (I had left a bag at the hotel I stayed in when I first arrived in Turkey and they helped me retrieve it and they also organized a taxi for me). They let me cancel my original booking and I promised one day that I would return.

In October 2013, I did return. On my honeymoon with my now husband :) The hotel was just as I remembered. The staff were so good to us and we immediately felt at home. You can't beat the location and the rooms are comfortable and clean.

Our favourite thing to do (because we were waking up so early in the morning) was to sit up on the rooftop to watch the sunrise.

Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful stay. We hope to be back again soon :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marmaladeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

From the moment we walked in we just knew this was a great hotel. We were greeted warmly and treated like old friends. The hotel is just lovely; small and personal, spotlessly clean and with very comfortable beds. The furnishings are extremely well maintained and full of character (not sole-less stainless steel ultramodern). Bathroom was spotless and had a great shower. Breakfast is served on the roof-top with a birds eye view of the surrounding area. Food was beautifully fresh, plentiful and catered for all nationalities (e.g. cereals, toast, pastries, fresh fruit, cold meats, savouries, and eggs made to order and plenty of tea, coffee, juice etc.) ALL staff were great!; from the young man at reception who was full of local information and happy to share it, to the young woman who made the beds! All staff were happy and willing to make our stay a delight.
Bedrooms are upstairs (no elevator) but staff take care of the luggage so this was not a problem for us. (?I think I spotted a guest room on the ground floor?) Breakfast is on the roof top so might be a problem for anyone with mobility problems with stairs (but definitely worth the effort). Hotel is within easy waking distance of some of the major tourist attractions and an easy walk to the tram for any attractions further away. The area is full of great restaurants (it's a tourist area so the prices reflect this however they are not too expensive (approx average AUD $15-25 p/p). Loved this hotel and would go back in a heart beat!
A couple of other tips : Arrived and departed from Sabihagokcen Airport which is a very long way from the hotel therefore it was worth pre-booking an airport shuttle at around 10 Euros p/p each way and leaving PLENTY of time to allow for heavy traffic (our journey took nearly 2.5 hours!). Get your entry visas on-line before you arrive in Turkey in case the line up at the visa counter is huge and be prepared for a long and dysfunctional wait to progress through the passport counter.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twosavytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,129 in Istanbul
2,919 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3,183 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#4 of 1,129 in Istanbul
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,129 in Istanbul
1,986 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#24 of 1,129 in Istanbul
1,710 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#13 of 1,129 in Istanbul
2,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osmanhan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osmanhan Hotel

Property: Osmanhan Hotel
Address: Akbiyik Cad. Cetinkaya Sok. No:1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Osmanhan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Osmanhan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing