We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,081)
Filter reviews
1,081 results
Traveller rating
952
122
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
952
122
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop terracetopkapi palaceblue mosqueturkeyold cityno liftevery morningbreakfast is servedmarmara seasmall hotelyogurttop floorexcellent locationminute walkmajor sitesbreakfast roomwithin easy walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
390 - 395 of 1,081 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Osmanhan is a small family-run hotel, but the service is as excellent as big five-star hotels’.
The owner Hamit is an honest and hospitable person.
The staff is also reliable and friendly.
When we arrived at the hotel, the receptionist gave us a hand-made map about Sultanahmet, which was very helpful because it showed not only sight-seeing points but also supermarkets and so on.
Rooms are very comfortable and well-equipped.
Breakfast is served on the roof-top terrace with panoramic sea-view.
We were very satisfied with fresh vegetables, fruits, coffee and tea.
When we came back from sight-seeing every evening, welcoming smiles of the owner and staff were a great pleasure.
We spent a very marvelous time at Osmanhan Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marta F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We only had two nights and a day over New Year's to spend in Istanbul, and cannot imagine having stayed anywhere else. Not only is the location superb (just steps away from the lively but very real Akbıyık Cad), with the Sultan Ahmet Mosque and The Haghia Sofia neighbors, but also the staff welcomes you as family. We felt very much at home in this warm, old-world (I'm guessing former mansion) and tranquil environment, a perfect complement to the joy, dynamism and beauty of Istanbul. It was our first time but we know we will return, again and again -- both to this amazing and important city and, of course, to the Osmanhan Hotel.

Room Tip: choose one of the upstairs rooms -- the view is impeccable, and the staff will insist on carrying your luggage anyway!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tcinnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

perfect location: the hotel is hidden near a nice and quiet street with several bars and cafes at the same time very close to the city center and the sites
very clean: the rooms are rather small, but very clean. everything was clean: shower, towels, linen
nice staff: nice and helpful people at reception

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anastasia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My mom and I stayed here just a few days ago and I'm so glad we did!

We actually transferred to this hotel at the end of a group tour; the last hotel we stayed in had terrible service but Hamit and the entire staff here were the complete opposite experience. It was a bit of an experience actually getting to the hotel since the taxi driver had no clue where this hotel was so I'd suggest printing out a map and actually showing the driver the location so you don't get a tour of the entire city. It's very near the Four Seasons hotel FYI. Also, there are very few rooms so if you're looking for a place, book this quick!

We ended up arriving fairly early in the day (b/c I couldn't wait to get out of the other hotel and just took my chances). Fortunately, Hamit had a room available for us and actually gave us a free upgrade because it was simply available. Outstanding.

We were welcomed with warm tea then Hamit walked us to his rug store Motif Collection (also highly rated here on Tripadvisor) and gave us quite an education (we ended up buying 2 rugs by the time we left). He really is the embodiment of hospitality.

Breakfast is prepared with great care on the top floor and there's a wonderful view.

The nearest tram stop is Sultanahmet; there's just a little stroll from there back to the hotel. Ask the hotel for a map, it's a lifesaver when you first start moving around in the area. It's super close to Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque so a great location in the old city.

Note: If you're wanting to see a Whirling Dervish performance, I would actually go to the Galata Mevlevihanesi (the actual monastery) to watch a show during non peak season b/c the price was cheaper (40 TL) than the flyer featuring the Hodja dance theater that's in the reception area (60 TL).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mystique777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Though the room was rather small, it was very clean and well done. Convenient location in the historic area of Istanbul. The proprietor was friendly and extremely helpful. An easy walk to the Blue Mosque, etc. Steps to upper rooms and eating facility are steep, so I would recommend for someone with mobility issues. The breakfast was delicious and fresh with views of the water from the table.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Katy053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews