We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast on the terrace”
Review of Osmanhan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Osmanhan Hotel
Ranked #8 of 1,181 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I stayed at Osmanhan Hotel with my husband and children for 3 nights.
Though Osmanhan isn’t a big five-star hotel, I think it gets high points as well as them. We had a chance to meet the owners Hamit and Mustafa, who are brothers. They and staff are always gentle and caring customers’ comfort, quality of breakfast, cleanliness of rooms and so on.

We loved everything of this hotel, especially the breakfast served at the roof top terrace with a super view. They’re preparing fresh vegetables, fruits, hot omelets, fresh-baked bread, freshly brewed tea, coffee and home-made cake. We also enjoyed the panoramic view of Marmara Sea, Asian side and Princes Islands.

When we looked around from the terrace, we could find only a few hotels serving breakfast on their terrace. And, we also carefully looked at other hotels in Sultanahmet and learned that most of them are giving breakfast service on the ground floors or the basements. (Sorry, but we wanted research the quality of the other hotels in the same area. If you want, you can easily learn from outside where hotels are serving breakfast.)

We really loved Osmanhan Hotel. 3 nights were short for us. We want to stay at the hotel again if we go to Istanbul at the second time. We also recommend Osmanhan Hotel to all tourists.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,040)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

338 - 344 of 1,040 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Highlights of the hotel are the attentive and helpful staff, the boutique style and local flavour, the central location and the very good breakfasts served on the rooftop with sea views. During our week stay we felt welcomed and comfortable. Osmanhan is ideally situated in Sultanamhet, easy walking distance to the main sites. The friendly staff certainly give this hotel the edge. Hakan, on the desk, gave us much helpful advice including tips to some excellent restaurants (eg Tria Elegance, Buhara and a delicious fish restaurant close by, Baliki Sabahattin). Hakan also introduced us to Turkish coffee. Breakfast is served on the rooftop terrace with indoor and outdoor options and all with a view over the rooftops and out to sea. In this relaxing and sunny space we enjoyed the delicious breakfasts with hot and cold options, all fresh and varied including freshly cooked omelettes. Our room was on the second floor. In the European tradition it was small but a good use of space. Rooms on the next two floors are larger. We had room for our two large bags and comfortable for a week's stay. Bar frig, tea and coffee making facilities, effectively functioning bathroom, and a good sized mirror apart from the one in the bathroom. All very clean and attractively decorated. The street was usually quiet so not troubled by noise. The hotel organise an efficient transfer to and from the airport. Wifi is free and works well. Our stay in Istanbul, which we loved, was enhanced by this warm and friendly hotel that made a point of making us feel at home. We would certainly return and highly recommend. Thank you Osmanhan for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel_addict13_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Highly recommend this property. Spent two nights at the start of a visit to Turkey 03/21/14 and the remaining three nights of the trip. The deluxe rooms on the third and four floor are comfortable, well appointed and spotless. The breakfast is plentiful and delicious and the weather was warm enough to sit on the terrace for at least some of our stay. We took beautiful pictures at sunset from this vista. As many reviewers have noted, the hotel is centrally located in Sultanament, within walking distance to Hagia Sofia, Blue Mosque and the tram line. All members of the hotel staff were helpful and always available to answer questions. We hope that we have the opportunity to return to this property.

Room Tip: we selected a deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Kind hospitality, comfortable and beautiful room, heated towel rack and floor in a spotless bathroom, varied breakfasts with home made cakes and pastries, stunning terrace views, wonderful staff. Can not say enough about how nice of a stay we had here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RateThis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Very central location and easy to find if you take the metro and tram from the airport (email the hotel for directions). 5 mins. walk from Haghia Sofia and the Blue Mosque. Plenty of cafes and restaurants nearby. Very clean and comfortable, plenty of choice at breakfast, friendly staff. We had a twin deluxe room at the front - recently refurbished. Quite noisy a couple of nights - music from the hostel opposite but not for long and not late.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizH227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This is one of the best 3 star hotel we have been in, and it would probably deserve more stars if it had an elevator, although for us it was absolutely not a problem! We spent 5 nights in a Deluxe room, very clean, nicely decorated, and comfortable. We were impressed with the professional and attentive service provided by the staff. Having breakfast on the top floor was a real pleasure, and delicious as well - thank you Fadim. Most of all, we liked the interesting conversations with Mr. Hamit Balkir, the owner of the hotel, who has an extensive knowledge about the restoration of ancient carpets, and gave us valuable recommendations. .
A lot more could be said on this hotel, but in short, this is certainly a place to come back to and recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights recently and thoroughly enjoyed it. The reviews before have said most of what I want to say but I will elaborate a bit because it is such a nice place to stay!
Location - so close to all the attractions, only 5 minutes to the Blue Mosque, the palace, walking distance to Grand Bazaar and Spice Markets. Plenty of restaurants in the area to choose from and just ask the hotel staff as they made great recommendations for us
Breakfast - plentiful and tasty, served with a view of the water.
Staff - so friendly and helpful, nothing is too much for them.
Room - we were on the 3rd floor in a deluxe room, we did not have a view but the room was a good size, good shower, comfortable bed and warm.

A special mention to Hamit - thank-you for all your advice on where to buy coffee and the pot to make the coffee in! It is certainly worth shopping around to get the best price. Hamit even gave us the history behind the carpet making in Turkey in the little souvenir shop that they also run which was great.
Would definitely recommend this hotel - great location, awesome staff and overall probably the best 3 star hotel we have stayed in!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kiwitraveller1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,181 in Istanbul
3,178 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,181 in Istanbul
1,841 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#22 of 1,181 in Istanbul
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,181 in Istanbul
3,620 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#3 of 1,181 in Istanbul
3,066 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#6 of 1,181 in Istanbul
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osmanhan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osmanhan Hotel

Address: Akbiyik Cad. Cetinkaya Sok. No:1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 1,181 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £33 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Osmanhan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Osmanhan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing