We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location and very friendly and...”
Review of Osmanhan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Osmanhan Hotel
Ranked #4 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2010

Amazing location and very friendly and helpful staff. Our favorite part of this hotel was the terrace overlooking the sea of Marmara and the Blue Mosque. Staying at the heart of Sultanahmet is perfect!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rc2144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,026)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

690 - 696 of 1,026 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2010

Our stay in Osmanhan Hotel can only be described as a wonderful, unforgettable experience. Our room No. 22, overlooks the cobbled streets. It was small but cosy and exceptionally cosy! Outside the hotel during the day yellow taxis park for passengers. But come night time, all is silent and peaceful.

We love the bed having stayed in other 4 5 star hotels theirs was the best bed we have slept in. The mattress was firm and supports our backs and the feather quilt is warm and so comforting. Hot water is instant and the water pressure is strong.

Choosing accommodation in Istanbul is not easy. There's a wide variety of them, but we decided we wanted the experience of staying in the historical area in Sultanahmet, away from the chain hotels.From the beginning our emails were answered promptly by Fatih and Ahmet.

We arrived early before 8.00 a.m. and Ahmet was at the reception to greet us. We were given breakfast. at the terrace. While waiting for our room to be ready we went for a walk around the Sultanhmet area even up to Sultanahmet square.

Later we met Fatih and my wife even guessed his age correctly. Ahmet and Fatih were so helpful to us throughout our stay. Fatih helped to carry our luggage on arrival and departure. Ahmet was very kind to lend his English Quranic translation and helped to purchase Turkish perfumes for us.

Leyla prepares breakfast and later cleans all the rooms. She is a gem.

We visited the owner's carpet shop; Motif Collection. Hamit is passionate about his work and we learned a lot about Turkish carpets and Kilims. We brought a few souvenirs from his shop. Thank you Hamit for also bringing us shopping for Kilim leather bags.

There is a hidden treasure in Osmanhan and we found this in the light of Mustafa, the elder brother of Hamit. They say that breakfast is the most important meal of the day and this is so true for us. Mustafa was always there at breakfast and we would wait eagerly for him to bring the Simit. Sometimes his wife would bake cakes which were absolutely delicious and not too sweet. He prepares our favourite Menemen (Turkish scramble eggs). It was so wonderful to see him in the morning. Leyla was also there to help him and later we got to know Haiyyat.

We stayed a total of 9 nights and was really sad when we had to leave to another hotel.
We had booked a taxi for the transfer but instead Mustafa sent us in his own car braving the traffic jam with our heavy luggage. We will never forget this kind and sincere deed. Thank you so much Mustafa!

2 days we came back to get the perfumes from Ahmet and it really felt like a homecoming, walking the cobbled streets and walking up the steep spiral staircase. The first thing that caught our attention was the familiar smell of breakfast .

The breakfast in Osmanhan is delicious! We love the Simit. Oh the smell of the Simit, soft on the inside with a crunch on the outside. Certainly the best Simit comes from Osmanhan 's breakfast table For us the breakfast at Osmanhan was not just a meal, it was momentous event where we spent an hour in the terrace in the morning.

If you want to experience Turkish hospitality this is where you want to stay. From the reception desk to the breakfast terrace everything is done with sincerity and warmth.

Thank you Osmanhan for the wonderful memories you gave us.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank salkhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2010

This hotel is ideal for the tourist as it's near to the main sites and it's near to the tram. However if you don't want to take public transport everything is still within walking distance. The hotel itself has everything you need. Great hospitality, clean and comfortable rooms and ample breakfast. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hellasgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

Forget the chain hotels and go here. Pretty much perfect location next to blue mosque and Hagia Sofia. Walking distance to all main sights. Service and accommodation exactly as described - excellent. eWhen we got back home we discovered we'd left some jewelry in the room, emailed the everpresent Fatih, and hey presto a package arrived a few days later with the earrings and pendant. That says it all.

Michelle and Jo

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2010

I am writing this review trying not to offend the wonderful owners and staff in this hotel. From the moment I booked this hotel the communications and organisation was first class.
When we arrived in Istanbul there was a car to pick us up (25 euro) and then Fatih met us with a lovely smile, he carried our bags up to our lovely room and explained everything.
At b/fast (or before) Layla made us coffee or tea whenever we cared for one and it was allways with a smile. The truth is the staff made this hotel...... What I had a problem with was how you entered the building and that was reception, you then went up a spirral staircase and there was 2 rooms on each floor, off the staircase (no landings) on the top floor is the b/fast room and small balcony for 2 tables. There is also a terrace ontop of the b/fast room with one table for 2. This I feel should be made into an area with soft furnishings like the hotel behind, where you can sit in the sun and enjoy a book or a drink.
Our room was clean, spacious and the beds very comfortable, the only downside of the room was the taxi rank outside and because of the room positions on each floor, I think they will all have the same noise problems. (see photo)
I would recommend this hotel for families with little children because of the stairs, as you can imagine in a spirral staircase, each step is normal size on the outside but very thin on the inside.
Please don't let me put anyone off about this hotel, but I would class this as a small B&B

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank myfavebench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2010

The hotel had a real family touch, but at the same time being very professional. The rooms were very clean and tidy. An amazing location in Istanbul. All the staff were warm and welcoming and the hotel was perfect for families with young children. We would definitely come straight there in future visits!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thekhans91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

Very highly recommend this hotel, which has a real feeling of a Bed & Breakfast. Fatih at the front desk is a real sweetheart, speaks beautiful English, and was very helpful to us during our stay. They set up three single beds for my friends and me, and they were each so comfortable with a down mattress topper and duvets. Really comfortable, great shower, and SO conveniently located in the heart of Sultanahmet. I give it 4 stars for sleep quality only because it is a little noisy there - calls to prayer may wake you up, and there are a lot of people walking/ driving around at all hours of the night, but it's part of the charm. Terrific value too!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wendyroberts617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,109 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#3 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,017 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#24 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,792 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#25 of 1,163 in Istanbul
839 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#7 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osmanhan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osmanhan Hotel

Address: Akbiyik Cad. Cetinkaya Sok. No:1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £34 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Osmanhan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Osmanhan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing