We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrive with public transport”
Review of Hotel Evsen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Evsen
Ranked #211 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

As written by everyone already, the location of this hotel is great as it is walking distance from major attractions. Book this hotel if you aren't staying long in the room and are just looking for a clean room and bed to sleep in. The room is so small there is no place to walk after opening one luggage. We came by taxi the first day and this is probably a mistake. The taxi driver could not find the hotel despite asking about 10 different drivers. There was also heavy traffic in old town so not ideal to be stuck in the narrow roads and searching for the hotel. Taxi driver gave up, deposited our luggage at the road side and told us it was very near, despite agreeing to drop us at the doorstep when we were discussing the taxi fare. We lugged our suitcases around for 20 minutes before finding the place. Save yourself some trouble and take the tram and have some idea where the hotel is before arriving. The hotel should be near both Sirkeci and Gülhane station, but we find Gülhane more convenient for us.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Eksplorling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located in great area just by tram to Gülhane station. I walked upward historical area where you enjoy Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi, Basilica cistern and museums. A lot of nice restaurant are around. Even though the room (I stayed at room 401) is small and the waste water in shower area didn't drain well, I was still happy.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Praec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Friendly staff, very good position concerning top tourist destinations of Istanbul but the smallest rooms I ever visit in a hotel.
Fortunately, I was book the comfort room (is is little bigger than standard and got balcony). I don't want to imagine how small can be the standard one.
The rooms aren't sufficient for one person not for a couple. We've got two suitecases and we have to put the one over the other in order to move around the room. No question about a chair or something to put the suitcases on, simply not feet. As about the balcony it is simply the name as it wasn't bigger than 20cm long, you can step out and step in, that's it.
Staff are very friendly and try to do the best but I felt suffocate in that room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

MY single room was so small there wasn't enough room to open my suitcase on the floor, and the tiny window was blocked up. I was only staying for one night and arrived late so it wasn't a big problem but wouldn't have wanted to stay in that room any longer. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the position of the hotel is wonderful

Room Tip: ask to see your room before confirming
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

this hotel is in a perfect location ,The staff are very helpful and give you information about the areas to visit , The hotel is very clean ,our room was a double comfort , I would recommend this as the other rooms are very small , The breakfast room is on the roof ,there is a good selection of food but no toaster

Room Tip: pick a comfort room they are bigger and have more amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adriancockcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were a group of 9 South Africans on tour in Turkey. The hotel staff were exceptional and assisted us with tour bookings, transfers and choices for restaurants in the area. The rooms were fantastic - each of them different so it didn't feel like a holiday inn! It was situated right in the middle of the old city and close to all the major tourist attractions. I would highly recommend this Hotel to all travellers. They speak good English and that made a big difference to us. Their breakfast on the rooftop was really tasty too!

Room Tip: All rooms have aircon, a fridge and a kettle. If you are a smoker you can ask for a room with a balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mishka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Nice hotel, excellent location. The friendly staff made all the difference, making sure that my stay went without hitch and any potential problems were resolved immediately. Brilliant breakfasts.
would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultan Palace Hotel
Sultan Palace Hotel
#531 of 1,163 in Istanbul
111 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sapphire
Hotel Sapphire
#96 of 1,163 in Istanbul
2,204 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#99 of 1,163 in Istanbul
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#160 of 1,163 in Istanbul
787 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#26 of 1,163 in Istanbul
845 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Laleli Gonen Hotel
Laleli Gonen Hotel
#445 of 1,163 in Istanbul
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Evsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Evsen

Address: Hocapasa Mah. Ibnikemal Cad. No:9 Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34134, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#90 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#92 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#187 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £23 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Evsen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Evsen is located at the centre of the Old City in Eminönü-Istanbul at the starting point of both land and sea transportation and is just near Sultanahmet. Our brand new hotel, which is dealed out on October 2008 with its top quality facilities & amenities, welcomes you to enjoy the unique historical places in Istanbul with qualified multilingual staffs. If you choose to stay in Hotel Evsen, you will experience the magnificent history of Istanbul by visiting the Topkapi Palace, The Blue Mosque, Saint Sophia, The Basilica Cistern, Turkish Baths, The Grand Bazaar and more which are only in 10 minutes walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Evsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evsen Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing