We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely stay here again”
Review of Hotel Evsen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Evsen
Ranked #199 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Once we found the hotel, the staff was fantastic. We arrived on a drizzly afternoon and it was very nice to be offered a glass of cinnamon apple tea as we checked in. We (2 of us) had reserved our room online and it was one of their smaller rooms, although the website indicated it was suitable for 2 people. When we checked in the staff tried to talk me into a larger room, which I declined. The room was indeed very small, with little space to walk around the bed and no exterior window. The next morning, the staff without a request from me, insisted on relocating us to a larger room, to which I gave in. They moved everything and when we returned later from a day of sight-seeing, we had a nice spacious room overlooking the street. Staff was very helpful throughout our 4-night stay.

Getting to the hotel from the tram was a bit of a challenge as we did not have a super-detailed map. There are a whole bunch of little streets and alleys in this neighborhood and it seems like the names of the thoroughfares change every block or two. Once you find this place you'll love the location as it is in short walking distance from a number of sights and the tram. It is the perfect location. And there are a ton of eateries nearby. I would stay here again without hesitation and recommend it to others!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Evsen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

This small hotel is a 10 minute walk to the blue mosque and Sofia mosque.it is surrounded by stores and restaurants that come alive at night. My only complaint is that they put a very strong room deodorizer in rooms and that my room was teeny weeny and had no window.the elevator which goes up to the 6th floor restaurant is also tiny that only 3 persons can fit in.breakfast was however good and there is free internet in rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank betty l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I just stayed at Hotel Evsen for a total of 7 nights with 2 of my friends (we were a group of 3 girls all in our mid-20's). Another one of our friends joined us and stayed in a room by herself which she also loved.

We all had an AMAZING stay and could not be happier with the hotel and the staff! I'm not sure why the other reviews are saying that the rooms were too small...we stayed in a Comfort Triple Room and there was more than enough space for all of us -- it was a great size. The room was decorated really nicely and was very clean - the bathroom was nice too (very clean). They cleaned the room every day and provided fresh towels which was really nice.

The staff here are amazing. Hayder and Turan were so helpful and kind. We all became friends by the end of the trip. I highly recommend asking them for tips and advice and just have conversation with them. They are so friendly! Travelling as a group of 4 girls, they made us feel really comfortable and safe.

The hotel also has free coffee which we became addicted too (the cappucino's are amazing). The breakfast was nice as well.

The hotel is a 5-7 minute walk from the Blue Mosque / Hagia Sophia / Topkapi Palace - it's in a really good location. We also headed to Taksim often which is only a 10 lira cab ride or a 15 min tram ride. The hotel is also really close to the tram stop which we used quite often to get to Ortakoy and Bebek.

I would 100% recommend Hotel Evsen. We had an amazing stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rubab H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

As written by everyone already, the location of this hotel is great as it is walking distance from major attractions. Book this hotel if you aren't staying long in the room and are just looking for a clean room and bed to sleep in. The room is so small there is no place to walk after opening one luggage. We came by taxi the first day and this is probably a mistake. The taxi driver could not find the hotel despite asking about 10 different drivers. There was also heavy traffic in old town so not ideal to be stuck in the narrow roads and searching for the hotel. Taxi driver gave up, deposited our luggage at the road side and told us it was very near, despite agreeing to drop us at the doorstep when we were discussing the taxi fare. We lugged our suitcases around for 20 minutes before finding the place. Save yourself some trouble and take the tram and have some idea where the hotel is before arriving. The hotel should be near both Sirkeci and Gülhane station, but we find Gülhane more convenient for us.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Eksplorling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located in great area just by tram to Gülhane station. I walked upward historical area where you enjoy Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi, Basilica cistern and museums. A lot of nice restaurant are around. Even though the room (I stayed at room 401) is small and the waste water in shower area didn't drain well, I was still happy.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Praec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Friendly staff, very good position concerning top tourist destinations of Istanbul but the smallest rooms I ever visit in a hotel.
Fortunately, I was book the comfort room (is is little bigger than standard and got balcony). I don't want to imagine how small can be the standard one.
The rooms aren't sufficient for one person not for a couple. We've got two suitecases and we have to put the one over the other in order to move around the room. No question about a chair or something to put the suitcases on, simply not feet. As about the balcony it is simply the name as it wasn't bigger than 20cm long, you can step out and step in, that's it.
Staff are very friendly and try to do the best but I felt suffocate in that room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

MY single room was so small there wasn't enough room to open my suitcase on the floor, and the tiny window was blocked up. I was only staying for one night and arrived late so it wasn't a big problem but wouldn't have wanted to stay in that room any longer. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the position of the hotel is wonderful

Room Tip: ask to see your room before confirming
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultan Palace Hotel
Sultan Palace Hotel
#524 of 1,159 in Istanbul
110 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Laleli Gonen Hotel
Laleli Gonen Hotel
#475 of 1,159 in Istanbul
221 reviews
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#60 of 1,159 in Istanbul
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sapphire
Hotel Sapphire
#95 of 1,159 in Istanbul
2,192 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#147 of 1,159 in Istanbul
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Evsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Evsen

Address: Hocapasa Mah. Ibnikemal Cad. No:9 Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34134, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#127 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#188 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £26 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Evsen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Evsen is located at the centre of the Old City in Eminönü-Istanbul at the starting point of both land and sea transportation and is just near Sultanahmet. Our brand new hotel, which is dealed out on October 2008 with its top quality facilities & amenities, welcomes you to enjoy the unique historical places in Istanbul with qualified multilingual staffs. If you choose to stay in Hotel Evsen, you will experience the magnificent history of Istanbul by visiting the Topkapi Palace, The Blue Mosque, Saint Sophia, The Basilica Cistern, Turkish Baths, The Grand Bazaar and more which are only in 10 minutes walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Evsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evsen Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing