We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location, modern rooms, great breakfast”
Review of Hotel Evsen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Evsen
Ranked #228 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Brilliant location, modern rooms, great breakfast”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed for 5 nights in July and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were welcomed with a cooling glass of tea and friendly smiles. Throughout our stay the staff were ever helpful.

2 minutes away from the nearest tram stop (the stop is Gülhane) which means the city is very much your oyster. If you're happy to walk and explore the old quarter, the hotel is no more than 10 minutes from the showpiece attractions of the Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque. Perfect location if you want to stay out late and watch the buzz in Sultanahmet Square without having to walk too far to get home.

The room was clean and modern, with a good sized bathroom. Plenty of space to store your belongings and the couch was an added bonus. Huge selection on offer at breakfast, including typical Turkish fare of bread, tomatoes, cucumber, cheese, olives and tea. Plenty of other options including cereals and omelettes.

Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    82
    31
    12
    6
See reviews for
57
118
30
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Nice hotel with a great location. Close to old city and Topkapi palace.Walking distance to old area and city. Would stay there again although rooms are small and bit cramped up. The post inthe middle of the room is a definate no no!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The hotel is very near Gülhane Tram Station and close to many attractions. The staff is very kind and helpful. The room is small.

Breakfast is plenty, a lot of choices. We’re happy with this.

Many restaurant around here, but expensive. We walked back a bit to Sirkeci and found a lot of cheap street food and cheap restaurant. There is a small convenient store in front of the hotel that we can buy some water and snack.

Good price and great location, Very recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thailovetravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Once we found the hotel, the staff was fantastic. We arrived on a drizzly afternoon and it was very nice to be offered a glass of cinnamon apple tea as we checked in. We (2 of us) had reserved our room online and it was one of their smaller rooms, although the website indicated it was suitable for 2 people. When we checked in the staff tried to talk me into a larger room, which I declined. The room was indeed very small, with little space to walk around the bed and no exterior window. The next morning, the staff without a request from me, insisted on relocating us to a larger room, to which I gave in. They moved everything and when we returned later from a day of sight-seeing, we had a nice spacious room overlooking the street. Staff was very helpful throughout our 4-night stay.

Getting to the hotel from the tram was a bit of a challenge as we did not have a super-detailed map. There are a whole bunch of little streets and alleys in this neighborhood and it seems like the names of the thoroughfares change every block or two. Once you find this place you'll love the location as it is in short walking distance from a number of sights and the tram. It is the perfect location. And there are a ton of eateries nearby. I would stay here again without hesitation and recommend it to others!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
902 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 535 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This small hotel is a 10 minute walk to the blue mosque and Sofia mosque.it is surrounded by stores and restaurants that come alive at night. My only complaint is that they put a very strong room deodorizer in rooms and that my room was teeny weeny and had no window.the elevator which goes up to the 6th floor restaurant is also tiny that only 3 persons can fit in.breakfast was however good and there is free internet in rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betty l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I just stayed at Hotel Evsen for a total of 7 nights with 2 of my friends (we were a group of 3 girls all in our mid-20's). Another one of our friends joined us and stayed in a room by herself which she also loved.

We all had an AMAZING stay and could not be happier with the hotel and the staff! I'm not sure why the other reviews are saying that the rooms were too small...we stayed in a Comfort Triple Room and there was more than enough space for all of us -- it was a great size. The room was decorated really nicely and was very clean - the bathroom was nice too (very clean). They cleaned the room every day and provided fresh towels which was really nice.

The staff here are amazing. Hayder and Turan were so helpful and kind. We all became friends by the end of the trip. I highly recommend asking them for tips and advice and just have conversation with them. They are so friendly! Travelling as a group of 4 girls, they made us feel really comfortable and safe.

The hotel also has free coffee which we became addicted too (the cappucino's are amazing). The breakfast was nice as well.

The hotel is a 5-7 minute walk from the Blue Mosque / Hagia Sophia / Topkapi Palace - it's in a really good location. We also headed to Taksim often which is only a 10 lira cab ride or a 15 min tram ride. The hotel is also really close to the tram stop which we used quite often to get to Ortakoy and Bebek.

I would 100% recommend Hotel Evsen. We had an amazing stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rubab H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

As written by everyone already, the location of this hotel is great as it is walking distance from major attractions. Book this hotel if you aren't staying long in the room and are just looking for a clean room and bed to sleep in. The room is so small there is no place to walk after opening one luggage. We came by taxi the first day and this is probably a mistake. The taxi driver could not find the hotel despite asking about 10 different drivers. There was also heavy traffic in old town so not ideal to be stuck in the narrow roads and searching for the hotel. Taxi driver gave up, deposited our luggage at the road side and told us it was very near, despite agreeing to drop us at the doorstep when we were discussing the taxi fare. We lugged our suitcases around for 20 minutes before finding the place. Save yourself some trouble and take the tram and have some idea where the hotel is before arriving. The hotel should be near both Sirkeci and Gülhane station, but we find Gülhane more convenient for us.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Eksplorling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultan Palace Hotel
Sultan Palace Hotel
#559 of 1,156 in Istanbul
109 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Laleli Gonen Hotel
Laleli Gonen Hotel
#485 of 1,156 in Istanbul
220 reviews
Fener & Balat
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
#297 of 1,156 in Istanbul
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#67 of 1,156 in Istanbul
876 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sapphire
Hotel Sapphire
#99 of 1,156 in Istanbul
2,190 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nena Hotel
Nena Hotel
#79 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Evsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Evsen

Property: Hotel Evsen
Address: Hocapasa Mah. Ibnikemal Cad. No:9 Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34134, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#128 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#189 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Evsen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Evsen is located at the centre of the Old City in Eminönü-Istanbul at the starting point of both land and sea transportation and is just near Sultanahmet. Our brand new hotel, which is dealed out on October 2008 with its top quality facilities & amenities, welcomes you to enjoy the unique historical places in Istanbul with qualified multilingual staffs. If you choose to stay in Hotel Evsen, you will experience the magnificent history of Istanbul by visiting the Topkapi Palace, The Blue Mosque, Saint Sophia, The Basilica Cistern, Turkish Baths, The Grand Bazaar and more which are only in 10 minutes walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Evsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evsen Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing