We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the centre..”
Review of Mystic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mystic Hotel
Ranked #692 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Catania, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Close to the centre..”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Me and my girl friend we stayed in this hotel from 24/11 forward ,room "Tuci" the price we payed for it, is right for what we get, very cheap and convenient ,room are a bit small, toilet too, especially the sink, we couldn't wash properly, The shower contrariwise very comfortable, steps going to the room are uncomfortable and a bit dangerous,in fact, i slipped down the stairs, fortunately, I am not hurt so much, room presents warm most of the time,nice view, but I think it need a good arranged aesthetics, after all, as i said, for what we paid for it it's ok.
The staff is managed in family, nice person and available, the only flaw they miss a little smile..
Breakfast not too abundant, especially if you get late in the morning, you don't get eggs..
So after all i can suggest who want to economize their trip in Istanbul. "Pay for what you get".
This is not a complain.
Thanks for every things!!

Room Tip: I would choose the first floor, Tuci room by the sea, i didn't see the other ones..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geezeer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    83
    33
    29
    35
See reviews for
66
102
38
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We (2 girl friends) stayed here at the end of October 2013 for 4 nights. Nice room with sea view and sunset. Mr Balkir and family were very attentive and helped book excursions, taxi transfers and even accompanied us to the Grand Bazaar to help negotiate. Cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I stayed in this hotel and I love it.The hotel is great,location is excellent,close to all major attractions.My friends and I loved this place,the room was great,the owner is one good man who gave us the best servise.The hotel arranged airport transfer,great wifi conections,breakfeast was great..I'm more than satisfied and for sure,i plan to come back in this hotel.

Room Tip: Each room is good,i stayed at Nefertiti apartment and i 'm so satisfied.It's a big room,clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aldina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I stayed 2 nights in Mystic hotel and Im very satisfied with the service. I have ordered private car to pick me and friends up on airport and the driver was there on time. Hotel is very good. Its just 3 minutes walk from Blue mosque. Hotel stuff was more then helpfull. Our room was clean and i loved it, and price is not much really. This hotel felt like home really, and next visit to Istanbul, I will definately stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naida G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This hotel is close to all the major attractions and the cost of a room represents very good value for money, the owner was very helpful and gave me good advice on how to get to the Asian side of Istanbul.
Breakfast was OK nothing special but for the price charged I did not expect anything much.
The only thing that I did not like were the stairs, they are very steep and the lights along them are activated by a sensor which comes on just a bit too late, a lower or ground floor room would be best for those who are not fit or confident with steep stairs.

So if you are looking for good cheap accommodation as a base to visit Istanbul then this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DM2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed for 5 nights here - 4 nights before touring other parts of Turkey and another night before flying home.

Good location - walking distance to attractions like Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia, Basillica Cistern, Topkapi...Sultanahmet tram station also within walking distance. Its situated on a steep slope, not suitable for physically challenged people.

Excellent wifi service.

The hotel arranged airport transfer for us. It may be slightly expensive from the shuttle service but we were satisfied with the service - very punctual, nice spacious car for the 3 of us.

We booked a standard triple room but were given a quad room instead. We hardly had any place to put our 3 big bags. To make it worse, the room is on the 2nd floor; no lift, only narrow stairs. We had to carry the bags ourselves. The bathroom is also small. If you get a quad room on 2nd floor, please ask for other room.

The last night, they gave us a triple room - Nefertiti, better than the quad room. I believe this is the one that the hotel promised us but failed to provide us for the 4 nights we stayed earlier. Slightly bigger room & bathroom. Also, its on 1st floor.

The family hardly smile at us or talk to us. We also didnt get any discount for staying 5 nights with them. We should have asked.

If we ever visit Istanbul again, we dont think we will stay here again unless we get a room on 1st floor.

Room Tip: Nefertiti - on 1st floor, 1 single bed & a double bed, bigger bathroom, not seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emyliamohdnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I stayed in this hotel in March 2010. It might have gotten better by now. Arriving before noon, I was ignored by the owner who kept on talking on the phone while I stood there. My room was on the top floor with a window in the ceiling. I asked for another option. He kindly showed me a larger ground floor room. The bed was large but not very comfortable and the toilet seat was inside the shower! The hotel is situated by a steep slope leading to the Hippodrome facing a beautiful Ottoman mosque. You cannot bring overnight guests at all. On the last day, he asked for my room as he had more guests arriving. He wanted me to pay EUR 50 and stay in another hotel. I refused to pay any extras. Finally, he put me up in Sokullu apartments (check review) which was great. For free.

Room Tip: Top floor room has a ceiling window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatih2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,948 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,725 reviews
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#93 of 1,141 in Istanbul
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,141 in Istanbul
3,274 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#216 of 1,141 in Istanbul
114 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#156 of 1,141 in Istanbul
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic Hotel

Property: Mystic Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Caddesi, Katip Sinan Cami Sokak, No:32, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #692 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Hotel Class:3 star — Mystic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mystic Hotel is a charming new hotel that offers you a mystic atmosphere. In this newly renovated historic building, a short stroll from Sultanahmet Square, you will have a magnificent panoramic view of the sea from the lobby and all front-facing rooms. All our rooms have air conditioning and cable TV. There is a five channel music broadcasting system, direct and free of charge internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mystic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mystic Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing