We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best kebab grill in town”
Review of Zubeyir Ocakbasi

Zubeyir Ocakbasi
Ranked #60 of 13,596 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$50
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Beyoglu
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“The best kebab grill in town”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Off the beaten track. They have an open grill, teppanyaki style. This was the best shish and minced meat kebab we had in Istanbul - delightful succulent and moist, cooked in front of your eyes.

They had run out of a few things but it was Sunday night so suspect that was the reason. Great meal.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bear5308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    493
    250
    50
    29
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I looooove this place!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I happened to eat at Zubeyir the first night in Istanbul and I wish I hadn't, because no other restaurant after really lived up to this place! In fact, I went back for my last meal, to leave the city with a real taste of the best Turkish food I've ever had, served by efficient and helpful staff in a truly great atmosphere. It is simply a great experience! If you are planning on eating there at week-ends though, you must book! It gets very busy, but they totally deserve it! Oh.. and it's very good value for money.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marzia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food ruined by service”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

The food was very enjoyable, as mentioned by many people before. The service however ruined my experience - the waiter made me feel like my existence interfered with his enjoyment of life and conversations with other waiters he was having while taking our order. I was disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Alina203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Expensive, chefs cooking in front of you if you're lucky enough to get a spot”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I started with the tzatziki, which was some of the best I have ever had. Highly recommend it. I also had a traditional kebab plate, which was good, but I was glad I had the tzatziki for dipping because the meat wasn't really much different than what you'd find at other places. I wish I would have ordered some of the more original menu items. The wine and beer list was way overpriced, but they did bring out free kahve with the meal, which was a plus.

I was not all that comfortable eating here alone though. Much better to go with other people. The dining space (several floors for dining) is setup much better for that.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank libertina628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Very local, cosy and delicious! It is a MUST go restaurant for kebab and meet. Try local wine and enjoy

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Olesya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zubeyir Ocakbasi also viewed

 
Istanbul Province, Turkey
Istanbul, Turkey
 
Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to Zubeyir Ocakbasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing