We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reservations!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zubeyir Ocakbasi

Zubeyir Ocakbasi
Ranked #63 of 13,374 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Beyoglu
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Reservations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We loved this restaurant so much we came back. Master griller. Everything we ate at this place was excellent. Very popular so you must make reservations if you want dinner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leothefirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    463
    241
    47
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good gril”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

If u r into Turkish grill, i would recommend this place for you.. They only serve grilled meat and Salad..
I like the chicken grill was tasteful and tender, the beef Kebabs was great, so was the lamp chops, all taste really good..

Helpful?
Thank Abonoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Little gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We had a great dinner! Staff were friendly, we were served quickly and the food was extremely well priced! I'll go back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laviniamw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“AVOID - Tiny portions barely enough for dwarfs, living off its old reputation”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

For anyone considering this restaurant, please take the time to read the "Terrible" and "Poor" reviews first. We paid US$50 for two people and was shocked at the Lilliputian-sized portions of lamb served. They do however try to compensate by throwing in a lot of stale bread. Apparently, some of the other reviewers commented that this place has been going downhill for a while and the restaurant has halved their portions to jack up profits. Either they are suicidal or repositioning themselves as a tourist trap. Service was terrible and slow, the waiter impatiently threw up his hands halfway and left while we were asking him questions about the menu. To top it off, there was a literal fly in my beer and the same waiter just shrugged when we showed it to him. Spend your Turkish liras elsewhere!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank leavesofgrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I came here twice during a weekend city break and this is one of Istanbul`s gems. Fairly priced but excellent food, one of the best Kofte Kebabs I have ever eaten. Overall a great experience!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ss3627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zubeyir Ocakbasi also viewed

 
Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to Zubeyir Ocakbasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing