We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite hotel in Istanbul”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tomtom Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tomtom Suites
Ranked #7 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Favourite hotel in Istanbul”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

I have made 20+ trips to Istanbul, both on business and pleasure, and have stayed in a number of nice hotels in the Sultanahmet, Bosphorus, Beyoglu and airport area. TomTom has been my hotel of choice on at least six occasions so far, and remains my preferred location to stay while on short trips in Istanbul.

The location is ideal, just a short walk away from all the shopping and restaurants and the hotel itself is located on a street that is quiet and even guarded (as it is on the same street as the Italian Consulate).

The rooms at TomTom are stylish, spacious and impeccably clean. The bathrooms are especially welcoming, with luxurious fittings and top-notch toiletries. The beds are heavenly and there is a free wireless internet in all the rooms. However, it is the service that makes TomTom such a lovely place to stay. Being a small boutique hotel, they offer a great level of attention and hospitality to every guest. Especially Nural is always so welcoming and has an infectious enthusiasm and smile for all TomTom customers.

Our use of room service has always been good. The breakfast is both fresh and plentiful, especially as you can order your favoured egg dishes à la carte. The view from the breakfast room on the top floor terrace is pleasant and you can enjoy nice cocktails (not cheap!) or dinner there in the evenings at well.

A taxi ride from the airport to TomTom has cost us approximately 50 Liras on a consistent basis.

I would highly recommend Tom-Tom for any stay in Istanbul, whether for a weekend break or a longer stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kapelki2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliDoganCamak, General Manager at Tomtom Suites, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear ‘Kapelki2’.

Thank you for being our loyal guest and sharing your delightful experience with Tomtom. I am thrilled to learn that you returned to our hotel for your business trips, and have such experiances on our roof top terrace even for the breakfast and dinner. I thank you for being our loyal guest. We all look forward to your next visit in Tomtom Suites, for new surprises and memories...

Kindest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    885
    95
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
133
590
45
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Everything was excellent; service, room quality, etc. The room was beautifully decorated. the beds were very comfortable and the furniture was unique.
The staff were very helpful and friendly. They spoke some different languages and was happy to provide directions and a tourist map.
The Tomtom suit is in a quiet area and a 10 minute walk from Taksim square!
The breakfast was very good, but breakfast needs more options. But all in all this was a great place to stay! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Elhaam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliDoganCamak, General Manager at Tomtom Suites, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear "Elhaam B";

Thank you for your feedback, I am so happy that you have such experiances of our staff and your stay at Tomtom Suites - The Old Franciscan House. On behalf of Tomtom team, I cannot express enough gratitude for your compliments towards our staff and service, which I have shared with them personally as well as with their direct leaders. I look forward to welcoming you both back in the future for another memorable holiday full of little surprises and unforgettable moments.

Kindest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

My partner and I stayed 4 nights at tomtom suites and it was truly a home from home. Situated in a very quiet street yet only minutes from the tram station that could take you to any of the major attractions. Beautiful decor, the comfiest bed I have ever slept on and beautiful crisp linens and soft towels. The standard of cleanliness and Maintainance were excellent.
The restaurant which was also the breakfast room on the top floor offered amazing views over the Golden Horn and Topkapi. Breakfast was always fresh and lovely although maybe a few changes would be good. If you were here for 7 days it may get a little boring. The restaurant which we ate in one evening was lovely with tastes and textures I have never had anywhere else.
Nural the Guest Relations Manager was fantastic, always smiling and happy to help and offer genuine, sincere advice about restaurants in the area, places to visit or provide us with umbrellas when it rained!
Would highly recommend this hotel and can't wait to go back to istambul where I shall definitely stay at Tomtom Suites.

Room Tip: We were on first floor in a classic suite and couldn't fault it. However I think second floor w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KayMallorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliDoganCamak, General Manager at Tomtom Suites, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear "KayMallorca",

Thank you so much for your kind feedback on Tomtom Suites - The Old Franciscan House and Istanbul as your holiday destination. It's a real pleasure to know that you enjoyed your time at the restaurant and the service throughout the resort from our staff, who are proud to extend the warmest hospitality and provide insights into our unique culture. I will definitelly share your compliments with our staff, and thank them for keeping providing the highest standards of Turkish hospitality.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Tomtom Suites - The Old Franciscan House on your next trip to Istanbul.

Kindest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

The hotel's great qualities have been well-documented in previous reviews. I'll just add some additional comments to the mix. My husband and I stayed here for six nights in early March. I loved the room's minimalist decor, with wooden furniture and floors offset by Ottoman accents. The heated tile floors in the bathroom were a welcome feature after long days exploring in the chilly rain. Good water pressure from the shower (an important detail for us). The Wi-Fi was free and fast, a rarity in most hotels. The Turkish delights at turndown were delish.

Our rate included a free airport transfer -- which was a breeze from start to finish -- as well as free breakfast and dinner at the rooftop restaurant. The breakfast offerings were basic, with solid service and stunning views across the Golden Horn. The dinner was enjoyable -- a modern twist on traditional Ottoman fare -- but portions were on the small side.

There have been many opinions about the surrounding neighborhood. The hotel may seem off the beaten path, but it's only 5 minutes downhill to a nearby tram stop (Tophane). And Istikal, the major pedestrian boulevard, is 5-10 minutes the other direction -- albeit up a steep hill. But hills are just the reality on this side of the Horn. If you're staying for only a few days in Istanbul, you might be better served with a hotel near the historic sights. But we spent the majority of our trip in Beyoglu, which offered more in terms of great restaurants, bars and shopping. It's easy enough to zip over to Topkapi and Hagia Sophia on the nearby tram. (We even took the tram to the airport at the end of our journey -- a straightforward process.)

We both agreed that it was one of the best hotels we've stayed in during our travels.

For a drink near the hotel, I'd recommend the Solera Winery, which offered a wide selection of local wines by the glass. We found ourselves there on more than one occasion.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jennifernycity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliDoganCamak, General Manager at Tomtom Suites, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear "jennifernycity";

I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in Tomtom Suites during your visit in Istanbul.
We are delighted with your compliments about your dinner in La Mouette Restaurant. As you have mentioned; we are providing the "younique" service in our property. We thank you also for your feedbacks about our decorations and location. We look forward to welcome you again here in Tomtom Suites; to make you feel the "younique experience" once again.

Kindest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
München
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights at TomTom and we enjoyed the hotel to the full.
The hotel is beautiful, perfectly located in a quiet street and only a few steps to go to Istiklal Caddesi or the tram station Tophane to reach the main sites.
Furnishing, decors and the bathroom luxurious and spacy.
Great service, the staff very attentive and helpful; especially Nural with his tips and restaurant recommendations. Breakfast or dinner on the rooftop terrace with her great views is overwhelming.
The hotel is an excellent recommendation for every sort of trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Horst R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliDoganCamak, General Manager at Tomtom Suites, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear "Horst R";

Thank you so much for your kind feedback on Tomtom Suites, as your holiday destination. I am glad that you enjoyed your time at the breakfast and the service from our staff, who are working hard to extend the warmest hospitality of Turkish culture. I look forward to welcoming you back to Tomtom Suites on your next trip to Istanbul.

Kindest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed for 4 nights at TomTom and definitely recommend the hotel to people looking for small luxury personalized hotels with lots of charm!
The hotel is located on a quiet street in the beyoglu area - a few steps away from Istiklal or from the tram station to go to the main sites.
Staff is very helpful and very friendly. Room was amazing (we had a superior suite located on the third floor), very large and nicely decorated + beautiful wooden floor. Breakfast on top floor with great view and rather small but tasteful buffet. We didn't try the restaurant.
All in all an amazing hotel - we'll definitely go back there next time we are in Istanbul. Congrats to the Tomtom team!

Room Tip: The higher floor the better. We slept in room 35 and highly recommend it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JonASwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliDoganCamak, General Manager at Tomtom Suites, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear "JonASwitzerland";

Thank you for being our guest and sharing your delightful experience with Tomtom Suites.
I am glad that you appreciated our room's decorations and enjoyed your time in your suite.
We are proud that you had a great stay with us, particularly at the rooftop breakfast service...
I look forward to welcoming you back to Tomtom Suites soon.

Kindest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We just returned from a long weekend in Istanbul and we had an amazing stay at Tomtom Suites. The hotel itself is beautiful and perfectly located but the excellent service stands out! Everyone was attentive and helpful especially Nural who provided top tips and restaurant recommendations. Highly recommend Tomtom Suites - we are already thinking about our next visit!

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank clarisse7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliDoganCamak, General Manager at Tomtom Suites, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear ‘Clarisse7’;

Thank you so much for your kind feedback on Tomtom Suites as your holiday destination. I am glad that you enjoyed our service throughout the hotel from our staff, who are proud to extend the warmest hospitality and provide insights into our unique culture. I look forward to welcoming you back to Tomtom Suites on your next trip to Istanbul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,919 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#4 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#9 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Besiktas
Raffles Istanbul
Raffles Istanbul
#10 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tomtom Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tomtom Suites

Property: Tomtom Suites
Address: Bogazkesen Cad. Tomtom Kaptan Sok. No:18 Karakoy, Istanbul 34433, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#5 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#15 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#32 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Tomtom Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tomtom Suites, The Old Franciscan House is an authentic Istanbul building whose posture reflects the social history of Pera from 1850’s to recent. Throughout its history, this building was home for French nuns and some well-known Levantine families. Now it is ready to host its new guests with its "unique" service policy and a new design, pairing modern comfort with historical background. Tomtom Suites, The Old Franciscan House has 20 suites, a terrace offering a panoramic view of old town and a nostalgic outlook. It tells the story of an over 100 years old building with a stylish language, but without loosing the essence of the story. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Tomtom Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tomtom Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing