We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and beautiful hotel”
Review of Tomtom Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tomtom Suites
Ranked #14 of 1,178 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Stayed here for four nights with two friends. The hotel is beautiful in a very convenient area near the tram (which takes you to all the biggest sites in Istanbul and is safe and easy to use) and the major pedestrian street of Istiklal Caddesi (which is admittedly up a VERY steep walk uphill). There are also a number of trendy and chic bars and restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.

Our room was large (enormous by European standards) and very comfortable. The bathroom was similarly well appointed. The staff were extraordinarily polite and eager to help (especially the night concierge and the man who ran breakfast). The view from breakfast is also extraordinary over Istanbul.

Our only complaint was that a few requests made went unfulfilled at first, but were usually taken care of after a reminder (when possible).

But in total we were all completely wowed by the experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markk612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliDoganCamak, General Manager at Tomtom Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Dear "markk612";

Thank you for rating us "excellent" on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you had such fond memories about our city and Tomtom's facilities. This is great to know you enjoyed our suites, our location, decoration and helpful staff. Our breakfast is one of the best in town, coparing to other small hotels. Please be sure that our staff and i will be happy to "wow" you again during your next visit in Istanbul... As Tomtom family, we wish you a great day.

Kindest Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,045)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

553 - 559 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2012

Regular stopover on the way home from the Middle East on business. Tomtom Suites is wonderful. The minute you walk in, you're welcomed like an old friend. The rooms are beautiful and the area is very quiet. Security is very good as it is across from the Italian Consulate (the road in from of the hotel is controlled access). The Restaurant view on the rooftop is beautiful and the waitstaff is exceptionally friendly. Usually have an early morning flight to catch back the States so I usually miss breakfast. However, the hotel staff always offers me a to-go breakfast with a sandwich, fruit and orange juice. Small touches like this keep me coming back. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Stayed in a few. Liked Room 35 the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisMcNeely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliDoganCamak, General Manager at Tomtom Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Dear "ChrisMcNeely";

Thank you for being our loyal guest and sharing your delightful experience with Tomtom in TripAdvisor. I am thrilled to learn that every time you visit our hotel you find us wonderful... As you have said, we give a lot of attention to small details, because we know that these small touches makes our guests holiday unforgettable. We expect to meet you here in Tomtom - The Old Franciscan House for another wonderful stay with us. On behalf of Tomtom team, i wish you a pleasant day. Thank you for your feedback...

Kindest Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Hotel is chic looking and well designed. Location is a 5 minute walk up a hill to Istiklal, and a 5 minute walk downhill to to tram stop. 1 minute walk to Pera street which has some cool spots for eat and drink. Rooms were great, and very large. Bathroom was almost completely marble finish and very sleek. Bed was extremely comfortable.

The concierge Nural went above and beyond to accommodate us. Upon signing in, he gave us an orientation of the city with a map, marked some notes for us and provided a welcome drink for us. He recommended great restaurants and even hand-drew a few map illustrations for us to help us find our way to specific points of interest.

The restaurant on the roof terrace of hotel is great, has a great view of the city, and serves great breakfast.

Every time we re-entered hotel we were greeted by Nural and his assistants at the front desk. Never once waited for assistance with anything. The Tom Tom staff was always there but it was never too much.

One thing important to note. The road up to Istiklal from TomTom is steep. if you are older, or have a bad leg/knee/foot or have trouble walking, and feel the need to frequent Istiklal, this could be an issue.

5-Star experience through and through.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #24 and it was very large and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank David435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliDoganCamak, General Manager at Tomtom Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Dear "David435";

Thank you for lovely your comments on TripAdvisor. We are happy to learn that you have enjoyed that much our location, room decoration, comfort standards and "younique" service... You have mentioned our step-up hill to be difficult. For all guest who can have some trouble to climb the hill, we can call a taxi, and it takes 5 minutes to bring them at Istiklal Street. Mr. Nural wants to thank you also for your reviews. As Tomtom - The Old Franciscan House, we wish you a pleasant day.

Kindest Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We spent 7 nights here for our first child free vacation and this hotel was a superb way to start our adventure. Nural and the team were so friendly and helpful in every way - with restaurant tips and bookings, assistance with ferry times and tram tickets and generally just being a welcoming presence whenever we wandered 'home'. We couldn't fault this beautifully restored boutique hotel. So much character and a great fit with the area. When a room came up with a better view they were able to move us for a couple of days which was a lovely surprise. There is a lot of thought given to travellers comforts - like the fresh bowl of apples, the luxury toiletries, the colourful artwork and local floor rugs - all goes to making this place something special. Just like the city of Istanbul..... we will be back! Thank you Tomtom for an unforgettable holiday. Spencer and Caroline (Melbourne)

Room Tip: The lower level rooms look over the street to the Italian consulate - not a bad view, but if you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliDoganCamak, General Manager at Tomtom Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Dear "Caroline C";

This is great to learn that you had an unforgettable holiday with us in Tomtom. Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our area, furnishings, room amenities and staff services. I have shared your review with Mr. Nural too and he is delighted to read your comments also. As Tomtom family, we look forward to see you again for your next trip to Istanbul, for another "unforgettable holiday"!

Kindest Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We just spent three nights in Istanbul and the beginning of our trip to Turkey, and chose Tomtom Suites based on the TripAdvisor reviews. We were certainly not disappointed. Many good things have already been written by other travellers who have stayed at Tomtom, and we would concur with the overwhelmingly positive comments. In particular, the service and attentiveness of the staff was truly outstanding. We will definitely stay here again in future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BruceFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliDoganCamak, General Manager at Tomtom Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Dear "BruceFraser";

We are happy to read your review on TripAdvisor. This is a great experiance for other contributors to get your feedbacks about Tomtom Suites and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. For your next trip to Istanbul, we will be pleased to see you between us again. As Tomtom family, we wish you agreat day...

Kindest Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

It's hard to add anything new to what's already been written about Tomtom Suites. Our room was big and comfortable, breakfast on the rooftop terrace (wht such a great view) was first rate, and the dinner we had there was one of the best of our stay in Istanbul. We only wish we could have stayed longer than just a couple of nights.

A huge thank you to Seray and Nural who work at the front desk. They made sure we had everything we needed and knew where we were going in town. They are two of the friendliest people we met and we're happy to have met them.

Room Tip: I doubt there is a bad room in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank p4tr1ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliDoganCamak, General Manager at Tomtom Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Dear "p4tr1ck";

We are very happy to know that you had an excellent experience with Tomtom Suites - The Old Franciscan House. We are providing our "younique" service for all guests. We are glad that you enjoyed our decoration and furnishings. Mr. Nural and Ms. Seray are also pleased to receive your excellent feedbacks. For your next visit in Istanbul, please do not hesitate to take contact with us. We will be delighted to make you feel another unforgettable experience. On behalf of Tomtom family, i wish you a great day.

Kindest Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Opposite to theItalian Embassy,completely silent place,but walking up the steep slope you are in 5 minutes in the trafficfree zone of The city,next to Taksim place.It is a perfect location for a business visit.the rooms are large an well set up,the breakfast is on the 4th floor,the top floor and you have a nice view over the Bosporus.in the evening it is a nice restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliDoganCamak, General Manager at Tomtom Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Dear "oew";

Thank you so much for your kind feedback on Tomtom as your holiday destination. I am glad that you enjoyed your time at the breakfast and the service throughout the hotel from our staff, who are proud to extend the warmest hospitality of our "younique" culture. I look forward to welcoming you back to Tomtom Suites - The Old Franciscan House on your next trip to Istanbul.

Kindest Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#4 of 1,178 in Istanbul
1,054 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,178 in Istanbul
3,178 reviews
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,178 in Istanbul
3,618 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#3 of 1,178 in Istanbul
3,066 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#69 of 1,178 in Istanbul
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tomtom Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tomtom Suites

Address: Bogazkesen Cad. Tomtom Kaptan Sok. No:18 Karakoy, Istanbul 34433, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#13 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#14 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#30 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £78 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tomtom Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tomtom Suites, The Old Franciscan House is an authentic Istanbul building whose posture reflects the social history of Pera from 1850’s to recent. Throughout its history, this building was home for French nuns and some well-known Levantine families. Now it is ready to host its new guests with its "unique" service policy and a new design, pairing modern comfort with historical background. Tomtom Suites, The Old Franciscan House has 20 suites, a terrace offering a panoramic view of old town and a nostalgic outlook. It tells the story of an over 100 years old building with a stylish language, but without loosing the essence of the story. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tomtom Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tomtom Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing