We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous property and lodging experience”
Review of Tomtom Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tomtom Suites
Ranked #8 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Marvelous property and lodging experience”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Seeing it's location on a quiet side street in a neighborhood looking rather "gritty" gave us pause, but upon seeing our room 21 facing the back, all new and spacious and bright and light (the largest bathroom window I have EVER seen!!) with great art and accessories, Nespresso coffee machine and more, and waking up to breakfast with cooked eggs and cappucino on request at that gorgeous glass-enclosed terrace looking over and down to the river.........it was terrific.

Nural very helpful with questions and suggestions and Faud in the breakfast room also exceptionally courteous.

HIghly recommending;; but walking from there either down a hill several long blocks to the tram, or up a steep hill to the pedestrian Istiklal street, is not for the feint of hear!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfk59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    896
    99
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
134
597
47
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NE US
Level 6 Contributor
574 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We had a large suite with a nice view toward the water in this hotel on a quiet street. The street is quiet most of the time, but an elementary school is nearby and the noise is significant with large numbers of children trudging by at peak school start & stop times (I used earplugs for an afternoon nap). Other than school buses twice a day, the street is quite peaceful. The staff was super friendly. The breakfasts at the rooftop restaurant were excellent. The location is good with a short 5-10 min walk down to the water and the trolley line and a 5-10 min walk up a steep hill to the heart of the neighborhood (Istikial Cadessi). Istikial Cadessi is set aside for pedestrians and a trolley (but watch out for a few other cars too) and offers a nice place to walk. There is also a Starbucks about 10 min away (there are actually 3 on this road in total). There were a few negatives. They said you could get any of 200 papers delivered, but what they do & did for us on only 1 day, is download the paper and print parts of it for you. We also were missing soap when we got there and never received additional bars during our 3-night stay. They say you can drink at the rooftop bar & restaurant, but they had few options for wine by the glass. In addition, it would have been nice if the downstairs lounge area (it was outfitted with a bar and tables) or better yet, the upstairs was open mid-late afternoon. It would have been nice to sit and have a relaxing cup of coffee or tea after sightseeing. Regardless, we would stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were so impressed with everything at Tom TomSuites. They have it absolutely right. Service is exceptional, we had a superior suite which was huge and beautifully furnished, complete with a marble bathroon. Bed was very comfortable and came with a choice of pillows. Restaurant on the top floor is also used for breakfasts and offers a feast not only in taste but a beautiful display to the eye, plus you get a tremendous view over Istanbul. Staff are exceptionally helpful and more than willing to point you in the right direction for sightseeing. Do take up their offer of a travel card as it makes it so much easier to get around on public transport. We will certainly be back to stay at TomTom Suites in the near future, thank you all for making it so memorable.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Magalan100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holte, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

The drawback: Limited rooms with view, slow wifi, and one thing that really costs one star: When we arrived, the staff was polite but not more. We arrived very early in the morning, and we had to ask several times for check-in information. We did not expect early check-in, but one male receptionist did a bad job with regard to keeping us informed. Too bad.

Everything else was FANTASTIC. May I point out two persons: The waiter in the morning - didn't catch his name, but wow he was good. And "Nural" - a receptionist who was warm, smiling, and so polite that I would stay there if I knew he was on duty.

The rooms, restaurant, terrace, and the decor in general was just perfect. Go! It's cheap (compared to Danish prices.)

Go!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with city view - or you might end up in a low story room with no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank supertraveller_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We loved our stay at this little hotel, a beautifully renovated Old Franciscan house at the crossroads of several of the city's hippest neighborhoods, all within walking distance. (The streets are hilly and cobblestoned. Leave your high heels at home.) The accommodations and service were superb; the staff responded quickly and cheerfully to all requests, offering sophisticated suggestions for food and culture throughout the city, even making charming, detailed, hand-drawn maps for us! Very fine breakfast buffet (with an awesome view) in the rooftop restaurant.

Room Tip: All rooms were excellent, even the smaller ones. Luxurious bathrooms with deep spa tubs and Molton B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

Fantastic hotel in a good location in Istanbul. Within walking distance of the tram and local sites, bars and restaurants. From arrival to departure the staff were extremely helpful and attentive. They recommended excursions, day outs and good spots for nightlife.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank EmmaAndAngus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This beautifully renovated hotel, one of the Luxury Small Hotels of the World, is only a 10-minute walk from Istiklal Street, the delightful pedestrian way midway between the Galata Tower and Taksim Square. It's the hip part of the city, crammed with shops, restaurants, and beautiful old embassies. The gracious staff, tasteful hotel decor, incomparable restaurant view of the Bosphorus and city below, and luxury touches (Godiva chocolate on your pillow, slippers in a cloth bag tied with a ribbon) make this our first choice in Istanbul.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely but of differing sizes and configurations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andybabette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#17 of 1,155 in Istanbul
1,016 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,155 in Istanbul
3,006 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,155 in Istanbul
3,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#3 of 1,155 in Istanbul
2,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tomtom Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tomtom Suites

Property: Tomtom Suites
Address: Bogazkesen Cad. Tomtom Kaptan Sok. No:18 Karakoy, Istanbul 34433, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#7 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#15 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#32 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tomtom Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tomtom Suites, The Old Franciscan House is an authentic Istanbul building whose posture reflects the social history of Pera from 1850’s to recent. Throughout its history, this building was home for French nuns and some well-known Levantine families. Now it is ready to host its new guests with its "unique" service policy and a new design, pairing modern comfort with historical background. Tomtom Suites, The Old Franciscan House has 20 suites, a terrace offering a panoramic view of old town and a nostalgic outlook. It tells the story of an over 100 years old building with a stylish language, but without loosing the essence of the story. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tomtom Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tomtom Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing