We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Property & Service”
Review of Tomtom Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tomtom Suites
Ranked #12 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at TomTom Suites over Easter weekend. We stayed in a Deluxe Suite, which was spacious and attractive. My favorite features were the hardwood floors, the large windows (plus the view of the Bosphorus and the Golden Horn from our room!), and the massive bath. I think one of my husband's favorite features was the fact that he could watch the NBA finals on TV! In any case, we weren't in Istanbul to watch TV, and Nural at the front desk was extremely helpful in arranging transport, recommending activities and coordinating restaurant reservations for us around the city. In particular, we liked Dai Pera, which was a fantastic neighborhood place -- great suggestion!

In the interest of full disclosure, I can see aspects of the hotel that may not be for everyone. Specifically, the location of the hotel is slightly off the beaten path. For us, this was an advantage because (i) we intentionally wanted to avoid staying in the touristy chaos of the Golden Horn and (ii) we had planned on walking everywhere and don't mind walking quite a bit if needed. We found the hotel's location to be just fine.

In short, we greatly enjoyed our stay and hope to return someday.

Room Tip: The Deluxe rooms on the third floor have the best views but can pick up a bit of noise from the rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheBarrettsAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,034)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

350 - 356 of 1,034 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel itself is beautiful in design - however, we encountered multiple problems during our one night stay, so I think it's important to share this as a counterpoint to the other glowing reviews.
There are a few things you can avoid that we learned the hard way. However, the service may be inconsistent.
1) the hotel arranged an overpriced car service from the cruise dock- they should have advised us to have them arrange a reliable taxi ( which we were advised for the airport transfer the next day). It turns out the hotel was very close by but the driver took a long windy route- probably to justify the cost. This might have been a communication misunderstanding.
2) the hotel messed up the date for our private guide. I has my confirmation with me so this was clearly a mistake. This could have been a big disappointment but fortunately the gentleman at the desk was able to find us an associate of the original guide on short notice. So the tour started two hours later. They did apologize and reduce the tour price somewhat- so a good service recovery
3) we had a wonderful room on the top floor- except that it's a bad choice if you have an early flight as we did- tap lot of noise from the bar/restaurant and elevator
4) we requested a wake up call and a taxi at 5 am. We were told they would have coffee and a snack delivered at 430, which I thought was amazing- but the wake up call came at 5am and the coffee never came. Fortunately I had set my phone alarm as back up. Luckily the clerk managed to get the taxi there. He didn't apologize or offer any sort of compensation. although I later wrote a note and did receive an apology in fragmented English.
5). Be aware that the immediate area is very hilly- you must walk up an extremely steep hill to get to the main shopping street or to/ from the tram. This might be fine for people who are in great shape, but it was not good for us. I don't recall this being mentioned in earlier reviews.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room- not 4th floor if you have an early flight
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank CC L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed for a long weekend in this delightful hotel. The room was fabulous, really large and comfortable. The hotel is in a quiet road with a very steep hill up to the tramway and shopping street. Fantastic position could get everywhere easily but nice to come back to the calm of the hotel. Nural on reception was fantastic. He told us everywhere to go and recommended some great restaurants. Breakfast is served upstairs on the roof terrace. We also eat in the hotel restaurant which was excellent. We would have liked the bar to stay open later at night so that we could have a drink when we came back from dinner but that would be our only complaint. Everything else was superb.

Room Tip: Our room on the third floor overlooking the Bosphorous was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sightseeer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Tomtom suites is one of the best hotels I have stayed at in recent years. It is a beautiful, modern conversion of an historic building in a quiet street with tasteful, modern art and the highest quality fittings. They serve a superb breakfast in a top floor restaurant with panoramic views of the Bosphorous and Golden Horn. The staff were excellent without exception. I will be returning.
The only minor quibbles: a steep climb must be tackled when arriving or leaving the premises, due its hilltop location. Dragging heavy luggage up the steep street from the tram stop requires energy, strength and frequent detours into the road itself as the pavement is poor and often blocked by parked vehicles. Young people also like to gather and drink in the (incredibly steep) passageway up to the pedestrian shopping street; while they left us alone, they were always there and the ground was strewn with broken glass.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oliver F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This Old Franciscan House in Pera ...Karakoy...is located just a few minutes walk (albeit hilly) from the Tram or from Istakal Street. The accommodations are comfortable and filled with little details (chocolates, jacuzzi tub and toiletries); there is an excellent buffet breakfast including eggs to your order. Tea is also offered in the afternoon...but be informed that if you request alcohol, you will pay thru the grapevine ! The view from the elegant restaurant where breakfast and Tea are also served is spectacular.

The orientation to the hotel and to the neighborhood, as well as to the city in general, is invaluable...in fact, the staff were outstanding in every way.

I had been warned about the dark street leading to the entrance. It is somewhat dark, but just across from the Italian Embassy and Consulate. We never felt uncomfortable, but were we to have returned very late at night, we would have opted for a taxi to the door.

We enjoyed out stay here and recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marniewdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

A fantastic hotel with a very charming and attentive staff. Although the hotel is in the middle of Beyoglu, it is located in a very quite street. I was staying there in may with my parents for three nights and we were all enjoying it very much. I can truly recommend this beautiful hotel to everyone who expects high standards of comfort and wants to be right in the middle of the pulsing city. The attention to detail and the friendly staff made our stay perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tueri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stayed at Tomtom five days with my friend in February, everything i say is little, you must stay in Tomtom to see to feel to taste..... Tomtom Suites - The Old Franciscan House, is an authentic Istanbul building whose posture reflects the social history of Pera from the 1850s to recent. Throughout history, this building was home for French nuns and some well-known Levantine families. Perfectly Charming Small Luxury Hotel, Tomtom is situated on a QUIET private street across an Italian consulate, five minutes walking from Istiklal street from a fairly steep road, or ten minutes walk from a more easy uphill road. The suites are large, quiet, very clean, well-equipped (there is a Nespresso-machine in the room) and the most comfortable BIG bed with so many types of pillows to make our sleep as becomes more comfortable, big bathroom, with shower and jacuzzi and also Molton Brown bath-products to have the luxourious feeling. The breakfast, served in the top-floor, the buffet was full of delicious food, quality and variety is excellent and the view across Istanbul is fabulous. The staff are very polite, professional and helpful in every possible way. Especially the receptionist (with long hair) Nural, thank you very much for everything Leon and Nikos from Greece.
Surely the next time i visit Istanbul stay in Tomtom.
If you love a Small Luxury Hotel this is the one for you.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeonGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#7 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,044 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,136 reviews
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,498 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#74 of 1,163 in Istanbul
581 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#3 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tomtom Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tomtom Suites

Address: Bogazkesen Cad. Tomtom Kaptan Sok. No:18 Karakoy, Istanbul 34433, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#11 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#14 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#31 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £87 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tomtom Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tomtom Suites, The Old Franciscan House is an authentic Istanbul building whose posture reflects the social history of Pera from 1850’s to recent. Throughout its history, this building was home for French nuns and some well-known Levantine families. Now it is ready to host its new guests with its "unique" service policy and a new design, pairing modern comfort with historical background. Tomtom Suites, The Old Franciscan House has 20 suites, a terrace offering a panoramic view of old town and a nostalgic outlook. It tells the story of an over 100 years old building with a stylish language, but without loosing the essence of the story. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tomtom Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tomtom Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing