We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Istanbul”
Review of Tomtom Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tomtom Suites
Ranked #7 of 1,134 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“The place to stay in Istanbul”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A quiet haven in a very busy city
I stayed here for four nights and then a few weeks later for another night. We stayed in the suites for four nights and an ordinary room for the one.
I have looked at the negative comments from previous reviews and cannot agree with them.
Likewise the positive comments are all correct.
Rooms are well set up, large and clean. Breakfast was one of our best in three weeks in Turkey. Service was great and all the staff were friendly and efficient. I will not identify any one staff member as all of them were great in their roles. The bathroom products were of good quality and the bed linen and pillows are great.
Whilst there, my sister fell ill and the staff went out of the normal line of duty to help look after her.
A negative reviewer has brought up the access. On this point I agree. The bollards which are security for the embassy meant that a taxi would drop us off 50 meters from the hotel. With heavy bags this was an issue. The bollards could be removed if the security guard saw the cab but most cab drivers took the opportunity to take their money and run. Also the narrow street up to the shopping street was far from nice. There was a longer route which was good. These are however small points and you must remember you are in Istanbul and they will improve with time.
We had a transfer to the airport and I have no complaints as it was prompt, clean and priced OK.
We did not find the school noise distracting in anyway. Also we did not have the problem mentioned with Euros.
TomTom is a great place to stay if you want a smaller contemporary hotel with character and personal service. It is quirky, as are most of the Small Luxury Hotels. So do not compare it with 200 plus room hotels with all the glitz and impressive architecture.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ddsheywo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    887
    96
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
133
590
46
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in a Superior Suite with our 6 year old daughter at the end of May 2014. It is a delightful boutique hotel with an excellent restaurant at the top and the service is faultless. Nural on Reception in particular is charming and friendly; and patiently spent time with us giving us travel tips (and how to avoid the touristy restaurants, meyhanes and Bosphorus ferry cruises) and information about the various historical attractions around Istanbul including some hidden gems. He also gave us great recommendations for eating out. Our 6 year old was made to feel very welcome at the hotel and when we were out and about. When dining on the top floor terrace restaurant (Nicole) those with young children should ask for their "Snack/Bar" Menu which includes spaghetti bolognaise, burgers etc. Breakfast is also served on the top floor terrace and there is a great view of the Golden Horn, Topkapi Palace and the Haghia Sophia.

The hotel is located on a quiet street opposite the Italian Consulate (and round the corner from the Dutch, Russian and Ecuadorian consulates - and 15 mins walk from the British consulate) in an upcoming bohemian neighbourhood where there is a lovely mix of local bakeries, kebab houses, borek shops, lokantasis, cafes, home furnishing shops, antique shops, barbers and restaurants so that you do get a glimpse of local life.

Those going to Istanbul should be aware that it is a very hilly city with lots of hilly roads everywhere, so unless you plan to only travel around by taxi there will be a lot of walking uphill and downhill to be done all over the city and not just the area immediately surrounding the hotel.

The hotel is only 10 mins walk downhill to the Tophane tram station and a few stops away from Sultanahmet station (takes 10 mins on the tram which comes along every 5 mins). The shortcut via the little alleyway just after the Italian Consulate and which goes past the Ecuadorian Consulate and up to Itsikilar Caddesi is very steep and cobbly but if you spend the time talking to Nural or any of the other nice gents at Reception you will find that there is a also a longer but less steep route up to Itsikilar Caddesi. Or, if for any reason you really cannot do an uphill walk, you could always get off at the Kabatas tram station and from there catch the funicular to Taksim and walk downhill; or get off at Tunel; and again walk downhill from there to the hotel - or catch a taxi. From Sultanahmet tram station you are only 2 mins away from the Haghia Sophia, Blue Mosque and Basilica Cistern.

We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel and were sad to leave it and Istanbul. We hope to return again in the near future to see all the other places in Istanbul which we did not have time to explore on this trip; and we would stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Cak3bak3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at TomTom Suites over Easter weekend. We stayed in a Deluxe Suite, which was spacious and attractive. My favorite features were the hardwood floors, the large windows (plus the view of the Bosphorus and the Golden Horn from our room!), and the massive bath. I think one of my husband's favorite features was the fact that he could watch the NBA finals on TV! In any case, we weren't in Istanbul to watch TV, and Nural at the front desk was extremely helpful in arranging transport, recommending activities and coordinating restaurant reservations for us around the city. In particular, we liked Dai Pera, which was a fantastic neighborhood place -- great suggestion!

In the interest of full disclosure, I can see aspects of the hotel that may not be for everyone. Specifically, the location of the hotel is slightly off the beaten path. For us, this was an advantage because (i) we intentionally wanted to avoid staying in the touristy chaos of the Golden Horn and (ii) we had planned on walking everywhere and don't mind walking quite a bit if needed. We found the hotel's location to be just fine.

In short, we greatly enjoyed our stay and hope to return someday.

Room Tip: The Deluxe rooms on the third floor have the best views but can pick up a bit of noise from the rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheBarrettsAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel itself is beautiful in design - however, we encountered multiple problems during our one night stay, so I think it's important to share this as a counterpoint to the other glowing reviews.
There are a few things you can avoid that we learned the hard way. However, the service may be inconsistent.
1) the hotel arranged an overpriced car service from the cruise dock- they should have advised us to have them arrange a reliable taxi ( which we were advised for the airport transfer the next day). It turns out the hotel was very close by but the driver took a long windy route- probably to justify the cost. This might have been a communication misunderstanding.
2) the hotel messed up the date for our private guide. I has my confirmation with me so this was clearly a mistake. This could have been a big disappointment but fortunately the gentleman at the desk was able to find us an associate of the original guide on short notice. So the tour started two hours later. They did apologize and reduce the tour price somewhat- so a good service recovery
3) we had a wonderful room on the top floor- except that it's a bad choice if you have an early flight as we did- tap lot of noise from the bar/restaurant and elevator
4) we requested a wake up call and a taxi at 5 am. We were told they would have coffee and a snack delivered at 430, which I thought was amazing- but the wake up call came at 5am and the coffee never came. Fortunately I had set my phone alarm as back up. Luckily the clerk managed to get the taxi there. He didn't apologize or offer any sort of compensation. although I later wrote a note and did receive an apology in fragmented English.
5). Be aware that the immediate area is very hilly- you must walk up an extremely steep hill to get to the main shopping street or to/ from the tram. This might be fine for people who are in great shape, but it was not good for us. I don't recall this being mentioned in earlier reviews.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room- not 4th floor if you have an early flight
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CC L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed for a long weekend in this delightful hotel. The room was fabulous, really large and comfortable. The hotel is in a quiet road with a very steep hill up to the tramway and shopping street. Fantastic position could get everywhere easily but nice to come back to the calm of the hotel. Nural on reception was fantastic. He told us everywhere to go and recommended some great restaurants. Breakfast is served upstairs on the roof terrace. We also eat in the hotel restaurant which was excellent. We would have liked the bar to stay open later at night so that we could have a drink when we came back from dinner but that would be our only complaint. Everything else was superb.

Room Tip: Our room on the third floor overlooking the Bosphorous was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sightseeer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Tomtom suites is one of the best hotels I have stayed at in recent years. It is a beautiful, modern conversion of an historic building in a quiet street with tasteful, modern art and the highest quality fittings. They serve a superb breakfast in a top floor restaurant with panoramic views of the Bosphorous and Golden Horn. The staff were excellent without exception. I will be returning.
The only minor quibbles: a steep climb must be tackled when arriving or leaving the premises, due its hilltop location. Dragging heavy luggage up the steep street from the tram stop requires energy, strength and frequent detours into the road itself as the pavement is poor and often blocked by parked vehicles. Young people also like to gather and drink in the (incredibly steep) passageway up to the pedestrian shopping street; while they left us alone, they were always there and the ground was strewn with broken glass.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oliver F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This Old Franciscan House in Pera ...Karakoy...is located just a few minutes walk (albeit hilly) from the Tram or from Istakal Street. The accommodations are comfortable and filled with little details (chocolates, jacuzzi tub and toiletries); there is an excellent buffet breakfast including eggs to your order. Tea is also offered in the afternoon...but be informed that if you request alcohol, you will pay thru the grapevine ! The view from the elegant restaurant where breakfast and Tea are also served is spectacular.

The orientation to the hotel and to the neighborhood, as well as to the city in general, is invaluable...in fact, the staff were outstanding in every way.

I had been warned about the dark street leading to the entrance. It is somewhat dark, but just across from the Italian Embassy and Consulate. We never felt uncomfortable, but were we to have returned very late at night, we would have opted for a taxi to the door.

We enjoyed out stay here and recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marniewdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,930 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#9 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#6 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Besiktas
Raffles Istanbul
Raffles Istanbul
#10 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tomtom Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tomtom Suites

Property: Tomtom Suites
Address: Bogazkesen Cad. Tomtom Kaptan Sok. No:18 Karakoy, Istanbul 34433, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#5 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#15 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#32 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tomtom Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tomtom Suites, The Old Franciscan House is an authentic Istanbul building whose posture reflects the social history of Pera from 1850’s to recent. Throughout its history, this building was home for French nuns and some well-known Levantine families. Now it is ready to host its new guests with its "unique" service policy and a new design, pairing modern comfort with historical background. Tomtom Suites, The Old Franciscan House has 20 suites, a terrace offering a panoramic view of old town and a nostalgic outlook. It tells the story of an over 100 years old building with a stylish language, but without loosing the essence of the story. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tomtom Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tomtom Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing