We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class experience”
Review of Tomtom Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tomtom Suites
Ranked #8 of 1,148 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First class experience”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Just returned from four nights in Istanbul, staying at Tomtom suites. I was very impressed by the hotel. The staff were all friendly and knowledgeable. The location is great, as you can walk to a variety of bars and restaurants. All the sights are just a short tram ride away. The room was very impressive and great to have Molton Brown products in the bathroom. I would very much recommend this hotel, as a first class location for a city break in amazing Istanbul.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    892
    98
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
134
592
47
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This hotel is ideal in every way. Excellent, quiet, location, good-sized well equipped rooms (with an excellent bed) and bathrooms, all supported by friendly and helpful staff. The restaurant is first class (even without the views).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ogles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The hotel is on the opposite side of the river from the old town which for us was a plus point as it's out of the busy tourist area. The location is excellent, very quiet but not far from some very good restaurants. The room was of a very high standard and the hotel staff were very polite and helpful. The only thing stopping me giving this full marks was the bar service. The hotel has a very nice rooftop restaurant Nicole which becomes the breakfast room and also a bar / restaurant during the day. We decided we would like to have a drink at about five thirty. We were shown a sofa in the middle of the room and we asked if we could sit at a table to take in the view. Our request was treated with indifference as if it was a real inconvenience as they were laying tables for dinner. Guests should be allowed to sit in the bar and admire the view, especially this early in the day. Perhaps a couple of tables could be kept free until nearer to dinner. After that and sitting watching the waiter ironing the table linen for a couple of minutes we left and went elsewhere. A shame.....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Did not stay at the hotel but organised a corporate function at the rooftop bar. Lovely views, in a charming building, excellent service from friendly and flexible staff, great food and drink. You get the feeling that the rest of the hotel would be to the same standards - I will have to stay there in future !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonB_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts, USA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Location, service, view from the breakfast room on the top floor - all were spectacular. The staff were so helpful recommending guides, giving directions, accommodating early arrivals and early departures. The rooms were spacious and equipped with everything one needs for luxury. The huge soaking tub is a treat after a long day of walking around the city. A nice touch was the free bottled water and internet access everywhere.

Room Tip: It's so quiet that street noise is never an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, Berkshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I was doing a lot of research before my weekend trip to Istanbul an was torn between a hotel in the historic centre and the tomtom suites, which are a bit off the beaten track. I made the right choice - 100%. The hotel is in a quiet side street but close to loads of interesting places, the tram stop is at the bottom of the hill and you're in the historic centre in ten minutes. There is a ferry terminal in walking distance, as is the Museum of Modern Art.
The hotel itself was simply perfect. Generous rooms, super clean, lovely towels, robes and toiletries, chocolates on the bed every night - handmade ones. Could not fault it. Breakfast is on the superb terrace (glassed in so you can use it even in bad weather), great selection and you can have eggs any way you like them.
Have saved the best for last - the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and Nural was the best. I got restaurant recommendations before I arrived, they were all spot on. We liked one place so much we ate there twice. The restaurant in the hotel is also worth a try, by the way. Nural gave us directions that were simple to follow, non-obtrusive but you knew you could ask him anything.
My sister and I are already talking about next year as there is so much more to do and see in this wonderful city. We'll be back.

Room Tip: I think they are all pretty good and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Astrid23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

None of us wanted to leave the Tomtom Suites when our 5 night stay ended. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the breakfast is excellent, but the two things that set this hotel apart are the location (on a quiet side street--what a relief in crowded Istanbul!) and the truly outstanding service provided by the hotel staff. Istanbul is a huge city and it would be easy to be overwhelmed by it, but for each destination the staff provide hand-drawn maps that describe exactly how to get to that precise destination, with all the landmarks and surrounding attractions and with exactly the right amount of detail. We felt so competent and comfortable, even when we took ferries and had to change trams! The restaurant (Nicole) is also well worth a visit--excellent food, even though they did oversell the tasting menus a bit. Friendly, welcoming, really a perfect hotel experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catwoman001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#6 of 1,148 in Istanbul
2,982 reviews
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#2 of 1,148 in Istanbul
1,007 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,148 in Istanbul
3,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#15 of 1,148 in Istanbul
251 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,148 in Istanbul
2,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tomtom Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tomtom Suites

Property: Tomtom Suites
Address: Bogazkesen Cad. Tomtom Kaptan Sok. No:18 Karakoy, Istanbul 34433, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#7 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#15 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#32 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tomtom Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tomtom Suites, The Old Franciscan House is an authentic Istanbul building whose posture reflects the social history of Pera from 1850’s to recent. Throughout its history, this building was home for French nuns and some well-known Levantine families. Now it is ready to host its new guests with its "unique" service policy and a new design, pairing modern comfort with historical background. Tomtom Suites, The Old Franciscan House has 20 suites, a terrace offering a panoramic view of old town and a nostalgic outlook. It tells the story of an over 100 years old building with a stylish language, but without loosing the essence of the story. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Tomtom Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tomtom Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing