We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5stars Hotel in Istanbul”
Review of Tomtom Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tomtom Suites
Ranked #8 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Milano
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“5stars Hotel in Istanbul”
Reviewed 19 December 2009

I'm just back from a five nights stay. The Hotel is the best that you can find. I was there with my family (two child two and four years old) and all the staff was great. The room are large and very well furnish with a big plasma tv. The Bathroom is large to with an oversized jacuzzi and a large shower too... the bathroom is large as a standard room in london :-) A terrace restaurant with a fabulous view of the Bosforo and an high grade couisine is the icing on the cake.
The location is strategic and you can quickly reach a lot of point of interest in Istanbul.
High recomended.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elisemkII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    895
    98
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
134
595
47
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
belgium
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 407 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2009

A boutique hotel where, for once, style does not come before substance. Central location, superbly renovated old palace, huge and well designed modern rooms (I had a senior suite) with high ceilings and large bathrooms in hammam-like white-and-grey marble. The most unusual thing about the hotel is the lack of noise, since the street is closed to traffic because of the Italian consulate.

Breakfast is very good and is served in a room + terrace with a view of the Bosphorus, Topkapi and Haghia Sophia. I had dinner in the restaurant once, and it was fine, although there are many good places serving authentic Turkish cuisine nearby.

The only facility I missed was a fitness room, but the hotel can arrange a day pass at a club not too far away. Free use of the computer, including Internet.

Very kind and attentive service, 5 stars in a modern way.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank topsmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2009

I stayed there only for 3 nights in a de luxe room that was excellent in terms of these small things you need when you travel. Huge and clean bathroom with jacuzzi fully equipped with bath, cosmetics and personal hygiene sets, decent minibar, big and comfortable bed. Not much space in the closet though. If you are there, do not miss breakfast on the top floor with a magnificent bay view. Very cosy, quiet and elegant boutique hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dada73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

Just returned from a week end in Instanbul and I feel the need to say thanks to the staff of this hotel who are relly nice. It is not the cheapest hotel in town, neverheless it is worthy every penny you spend there. Nice location, extremely clean, elegant, nice big rooms with marvellous baths, very nice breakfast with breathtaking view and last bot least a ... Four Seasons service(spending 1/3 of the price!). We were not astonished actually by the city - it is still very interesting - but we would returt to Tomtom for sure. It is hidden gem ... for the time being. Thanks!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AthensADav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2009

We had been at Istanbul for business purposes and used to stay at the well-known brands at Taxim. This time the trip was for leisure and we were looking for a charming, cozy, friendly, clean, staff friendly boutique hotel. So, THIS IS TomTom suites and we consider ourselves very lucky to stay there. Due to the Italian embassy its socak is not crowded and safe 24/7. Breakfast variety was very satisfactory, view from terrace wonderful, staff very friendly, very quiet and clean. If you are looking for a hotel with ID, we strongly recommend it. Be aware that Istiklal street is only 5 minute walking, but uphill.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VassilisV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

We too, chose Tom Tom because of this site. We were going to stay at a Starwood Hotel - probably Le Meridien as I'm a member, but were quite taken with the feedback provided here. Apart from the style of the hotel which appealed from the website, the hotel is extremely central, which in a city like Istanbul, is very important. Relaxing on the roof terrace with a glass of wine overlooking the Bospherous (the pictures don't lie) at the end of a gruelling day site-seeing was perfect. I've been waxling lyrical about the whole trip since we got but but do make special mention of Tom Tom. Since coming back we've heard from people, we were unaware of before we left, that have apartments in Istanbul which are now being offered on our next, inevitable, trip. In all seriousness we will decline as there are few places I've felt quite so at home in - the decore being similar to what we have at home. I have to make special mention regarding the staff. Rarely have I come across sweeter, more friendly and deferential people - always on hand to assist or freshen my glass - a real winner for me. Right up to the receptionist waving at us as we drove away, we felt they couldn't do enough for us. I can't recommend Tom Tom enough. I wish them all the best and very much look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boxboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2009

We booked this hotel based on other recommendations on this site. With consistently outstanding comments, we felt very confident in the quality of the hotel. Visiting their website, we learned that the rates were very attractive compared to other big-name hotels with similar ratings. We ended up in a Senior Suite that was MASSIVE with absolutely beautiful antique oak floors in a chevron pattern - really a work of art in their own right.

Our room was light and airy with 14 foot ceilings and three large picture windows. The room was decorated simply but very elegantly and featured handwoven rugs and handmade local pottery and original contemporary oil paintings of Istanbul sites.

Our large and luxurious carrera marble bathroom had heated floors and a separate (large) rainhead shower and 6 foot jetted tub. Double sinks and large mirrors finished the room. Fixtures were Hans Grohe and Duravit. We had our choice of 4 types of soap (Olive Oil, Thyme, Daphne, Cinnamon) and a selection of pillow choices. The bathroom was stocked with 2 shaving kits, a loufah mitt, pumice stone, 2 dental kits and Molton Brown lotion, shampoo, conditioner, bath gel and SeaMoss stress relieving hydrosoak (bath salts). Other small items included shower cap, cotton balls, cotton buds. The bathroom also featured large white turkish towels, heavy white robes, a 1200 watt hairdryer and lighted makeup mirror.

In the hallway, we had an oversized closet with a safe, stocked minibar, complimentary coffee setups and bottled water. The room included umbrellas (not needed), shoe horn and cloth laundry bags.

We enjoyed a complimentary breakfast with Salmon, fresh cheeses, homemade breads, fruit, jam and cereals. The library had many terrific books about Istanbul, Turkey and we especially enjoyed the history books that helped educate us on the environs.

What we most enjoyed about this hotel was the staffs' warm welcome and quest to provide support for every need. They were charming, knowledgable and fun to be with.

In terms of location, it is very close to the metro stop (by walking down the hill) and we never had any trouble getting a cab within about 5 minutes of calling one. The climb back to the hotel (uphill) is not for everyone. I recommend this for moderately fit couples who want luxury but also the opportunity to be in a neighborhood that is quiet, safe and real.

Be sure to print out the map of the hotel from the hotel website as many of the taxi drivers did not know where it is (because it is small and new). Tell them it is next to the Italian Consulate.

Absolutely would recommend this to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Digimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#17 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,016 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,156 in Istanbul
3,005 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,156 in Istanbul
3,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,156 in Istanbul
2,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tomtom Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tomtom Suites

Property: Tomtom Suites
Address: Bogazkesen Cad. Tomtom Kaptan Sok. No:18 Karakoy, Istanbul 34433, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#7 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#15 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#32 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tomtom Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tomtom Suites, The Old Franciscan House is an authentic Istanbul building whose posture reflects the social history of Pera from 1850’s to recent. Throughout its history, this building was home for French nuns and some well-known Levantine families. Now it is ready to host its new guests with its "unique" service policy and a new design, pairing modern comfort with historical background. Tomtom Suites, The Old Franciscan House has 20 suites, a terrace offering a panoramic view of old town and a nostalgic outlook. It tells the story of an over 100 years old building with a stylish language, but without loosing the essence of the story. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tomtom Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tomtom Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing