We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tomtom Suites
Nearby Hotels
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Amira Istanbul(Istanbul)
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$393
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$351
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$213
Swissotel.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Sultania(Istanbul)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Avcilar(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,290
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$425
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$118
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,069)
Filter reviews
1,069 results
Traveller rating
947
103
14
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
947
103
14
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsitalian consulatetom tom suitestop floormarble bathroomnicole restaurantsmall luxury hotelquiet streetrooftop restaurantdeluxe suiteheated floorsistiklal caddesirooms are hugeseparate showerjacuzzi tubthe main shopping streetturkeynespresso machine
Filter
Updating list...
750 - 755 of 1,069 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2010

I stayed at the TomTom Suites for 5 nights in April. I was traveling with a friend and we booked two separate rooms. We were coming off a 12-night cruise and, after sharing a claustrophobic cabin, when I arrived at the TomTom Suites I thought I had died and gone to heaven. The bath roooms are spacious and have a large, jetted tub, the bed is a King, the rooms have a large, flat screen TV and DVD player (the hotel has a DVD library) and the decor and art work is pleasing.

The first night we arrived we were treated to a glass of wine by Alli, the Guest Relations Manager, and saw for the first time the beautiful view of Hagia Sofia and the Blue Mosque from the roof top bar and restaurant of the hotel. I always get out there and eat the local food and rarely take more than one evening meal in a hotel while I visit, but my friend and I ate at the restaurant on the top floor 3 nights of the 5 nights we stayed. I don't know what happened! We felt comfortable, enjoyed the staff and the view, and the food was good, so after a day of touring sites and being exhausted, it was one place were we just wanted to stay put.

The breakfast in the morning was very nice and the tour company that the hotel recommends was very good. We did two private tours with this company (can't spell the name but it's the main one the hotel uses) and we were very happy with both tours. Suzanne was our guide and we can highly recommend her if you choose to ask for her.

The location of the hotel is unique in that it is by the Italian Embassy and Russian Embassy so there is a guard at the top of the street and the street itself is quiet. This is a real bonus as Istanbul can be noisy and in this location it was like the craziness was just up the street buy not on our street.

I liked Istanbul and wished I had more time. I generally pick a different hotel the second time around but in this case I would want to go back to my "home" in Istanbul again because that is how I felt while I was there.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Summerblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

Istanbul was a big trip for us. Coming from western Canada and travelling 18 hours by plane, we wanted a hotel with good service, nice amenities, comfortable bed and bath, and that was near to the action of Instanbul. We stumbled across TomTom suites online, and took a chance with it...and are we ever happy we did!

Although the map to the hotel confused all taxi drivers (I learned that saying Galatasaray would get you close), when we found it we were blown away. Fine old wood floors, marble staircase, excellent fit and finish, spotlessly clean everywhere...and this was only on the way to the room. Once in the room, we entered our large L shaped junior suite. Beautiful! Three large double windows that opened onto a quiet residential/private street facing the Italian consulate. Beautiful king sized bed with top quality bedding. 12 foot ceilings with crown moulding, handsome artwork, quality wood furniture and flat screen TV/DVD/Sat. How could they top it? Upon entering the floor to ceiling marble clad HUGE bathroom...I found out. Top quality fixtures, double sink, rainstorm shower head, double soaker jacuzzi tub, fine soaps and shampoos, etc. Did I mention that this was the JUNIOR SUITE?

Complimentary welcome drink served on the Terrace bar roof was the next suprise...a STUNNING view of the Bosphorous/Golden horn with the Aya Sophia/Blue Mosque/Topaki Palace right there!

The breakfast served from 7-1030 was spectacular. Fresh eggs on demand, squeezed OJ, choice of coffee, fresh pasteries, warm breads, olives, salad, fruits, cheeses, meats, etc. It was excellent everyday.

Dinner in the restaurant was equally as good. The food is fresh and tasty, reasonably priced, and different enough from the typical Turkish meals in Beyoglu to make it a welcome treat. Nice wine list as well!

The location was as good as it gets. A 5 minute walk (uphill) to Istiklal street and the endless shops, bars, and restaurants. A 5 minute walk (downhill) gets you to the train station that transports you to Sultanahmet and the Grand Bazaar/Blue Mosque in 15 minutes. Galata tower, Galatasaray Hamam, Taksim Square are all within walking distance. But when you are done with the crowds, your return to the oasis that is the TomTom Suites for a mid-afternoon siesta is one of the special pleasures that is so nice to find on a vacation.

The staff was polite, multi-lingual, efficient and friendly. We really enjoyed our visits with them all and their warm smiles and thoughtful advice were welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 12FootDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

We stayed for 6 nights in this very beautiful hotel and Tomtom suites totally fulfilled our expectations. We wanted a quiet location in Istanbul and this hotel is more than perfect. Located near busy Istiklal street for shopping and restaurants, with easy reach to the tramway stop going to Sultanahmet in 5 minutes. The hotel is surrounded by embassies (Itally, Russia, France) and is very safe. We also loved the mixing contrast with the beautiful, lively popular life in the surrounding the area. It is not dirty neither rundown, it is just life as we lost in many hygienist western cities...

During the day, you just hear for very few minutes children going to school and playing. This is absolutely not noise, just manifestation of life.

Tomtom suites is very QUIET and it is really a peaceful, relaxing hotel where you can pamper and sooth yourself from hectic Istanbul activities.

We were in executive suite and it is really an AMAZING suite : very large, king size comfy bed, 2 big flat TVs, large marble bathroom with big jacuzzi bathtub, living room with kitchenette, lots of stowage.

Top of the top is the terrace, as big as the suite, with magnificent views on the Bosphorus and Sultanahamet. We loved to go early in Sultanahmet to visit turistic places than coming back at noon at the hotel to have sunbathing on the terrace and then going out again for shopping and eating + night life.

We particularly loved the design of the hotel : contemporary beautiful and chic wooden furniture, beige fabrics, wooden and marble floors. It is has no flashy nor kitsch furniture you could find in many bad design hotels. Very feng shui and chic atmosphere.

Staff is brilliant : very serviceable, professional staff, never intrusive. Thanks to Ali Dogan and his assistant working in the morning, a wonderful and very helpful woman.

Breakfast is very good.
Terrace bar-restaurant has nice atmosphere and beathtaking views.

The only minus is the random turndown service. For this category of hotel we could expect a regular turndown service with bottles of water each night. Internet connection is also very slow.

Tomtom suites is a top-notch hotel, one of the best in Istanbul. We'll definitely go back for our next stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

We booked this hotel in September 2009 going on the reviews on Tripadvisor.

Positives:

Large room - well serviced, including luxury toiletries, dressing gowns and slippers
Great decor throughout the hotel - very boutiquey
Wonderful view from roof terrace


Negatives:

Room very noisy - asked for top floor room away from lifts at end of corridor, was actually accommodated in a room on 2nd floor (out of 4 floors) at the end of the corridor. We would like to add that we are quite well travelled and this is the noisiest room we have ever stayed in. On 2 nights we were woken up by the people above us at 02.00, then again at 06.00. We tried to come back one afternoon for a nap as we were so tired, to be greeted by stomping above, doors slamming, noise of people in bathrooms (won't elaborate here), children screaming in the consulate opposite, this really wasn't the quiet break that we were after. After reporting this we were told that there were not any other rooms so we didn't have any other alternative.

No turn-down service, not a major thing but when a hotel is charging guests for the top end of the market and not delivering.

Only 1 bottle of water per stay per room. We had to buy our own water from a local supermarket.

Found staff on reception to be very unhelpful and quite surly.

The rooms do have air-conditioning although it's not turned on until middle of May, not what you expect from a supposed 5* hotel. We were told to open the window?! Consequently we found the rooms to be very stuffy, could not open the window for long due to other outside noises.

Breakfast was ok, although not really much choice, there were 3 trolleys of food that were wheeled in and out every morning, just cold items, jams, cheese, salad, fruit, bread, only 2 cereal choices. You could order eggs anyway you wanted them cooked though.

The hotel is quite a walk away from the main sights, however, the tram at the bottom of the hill is quite easy and accessible. Would also like to add that the surrounding areas are not that nice, to be honest, found it be rather dirty and run down.

All in all, we would say that this hotel is trying to be something that it's not and is over-charging for what it is. In our view it is just a bed and breakfast but not a very good one at that. In comparison, 2 hotels that are on a par, Rathaus Wein and Design in Vienna and Hotel Josef in Prague, TomTom Suites has got a lot to learn.

We would certainly not recommend and would not stay again. VERY disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank S&ALLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomtomistanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Tomtom Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2010

Dear Madame;

We are sincerely sorry to not be able to welcome you in the comfort that you expected.

We will continue to find out the best way to entertain our guests in a highest comfort.

Nevertheless, please allow us to explain to you a few small points:

Our building has built 110 years ago, to be used by Franciscan nuns.
We restored our hotel to be used in necessary forms of modern life needs.

Our whole environment is surrounded by 4-5 centennial old embassys, churches and levantine schools; dating from the period of when Istanbul was the capital of Ottoman Empire.

The street where we are located; is a dead-end street without any traffic circulation.

Despite this; especially in the daytime hours; the children who leave from the minority schools (wich are inherited from the Ottoman Empire to today); can be noisy.

Our hotel facilitys are published francly on our website and our corporate’s websites.

But we apologise for this disappointment.
Please be sure; that we will improve our guest satisfaction hereafter.

Kindest Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2010

We selected this hotel because of the Tripadvisor.com reviews and it turns out they were all true. The hotel is wonderfully located, though the first night coming late from the airport we were a little worried as its nestled right in the middle of the old neighborhood of Beyoglu.

The Rooms:
Very large, very well appointed, very clean with lots of extra little details -- very full minibar, provided with the choice of local wines (we didn't but it was nice to see), beautiful carpets and lots of space. The hotel is a renovated convent so the bones of the place are great, the owner redid it in a modern style, which can sometimes mean poor details and bad construction, but not in this case. The whole place is beautifully renovated. Also I think the artwork is original and mostly of turkish artists, its very nice.

Beds were incredibly comfortable with big pillows. Our bathroom had both a HUGE bathtup and a shower, with a very wide selection of soaps. When was the last time you stayed at hotel and you could choose between 3 different types of soap which are rotated daily so you have 3 different choices every day?

Internet connection is a little slow at first but I think thats more a function of the Turkish states control on communication than the hotel's fault (it was interesting to see which sites were blocked or not).

We had a room on the 3 floor overlooking the Italian consulates residency and the golden horn. The hotel doesn' t have what I imagine are the amazing views of the Bosphorus of the hotels on the water, but it doesn't need them either.

The staff was beyond courteous. they were charming. The breakfast is delicious and a real spread and the staff was very helpful in the morning with our planning for the day.

I would not only go back to this hotel, but recommend it (already have) heartily to friends.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Corinne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews