We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worm,clean and convenience to stay”
Review of Sinbad Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sinbad Hostel
Ranked #566 of 1,200 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
“worm,clean and convenience to stay”
Reviewed 14 February 2011

If you walk from sultan ahmet tram station just 5~10min,you can see this hostel.It is in the center of historical place,so very close to go hagia sopia,blue mosque,tocapi palace,basilica cistern,grand bazaar.Rooms are very worm and clean.They give anyone 2 clean linen sheets for bed by free. Free wifi even you can use in your room.When you go back to international airport,can take 10euro shuttle bus in front of hostel.No problem hot shower for 24 hours,too.Very cheap price but everything including.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzan1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    14
    14
    8
    13
See reviews for
3
12
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

If you are looking for a budget-friendly and hospitable location to stay while traveling around Istanbul, this is definitely the place to go. It's right by the most famous and beautiful sites in Istanbul - The Blue Mosque, Aya Sofya, the Grand Bazaar, and so on. The staff is friendly and the price is amazing - you even get breakfast, which is included in the price of your bed. I'd highly recommend this hostel for any backpacker who is looking for a great location, a comfortable stay, and a very, very budget friendly pricetag.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel33324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denhaag
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

relex, good locatıon,good staf ,clean,good servece,free ınternt ,free breakfest

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hisham0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

I am writing this review while still in my room. Here are the good and bad about this place:
pros: OK location. some of the staff are nice. terrace view is nice.
cons: There is so much to complain about here. This is one of the dirtiest places I have been to. The entire floor has one sink about 50cm whide, and two showers. One did not work at all, and one did not drain the water. So you'd end up in a pool of dirty water with hair floating around. The owner is such a grumpy angry man who dose not speak english. The staff are ok, but are so afraid of the owner. They nickel and dime you for everying including 1 TRY for hot water. Yes, they charge for hot water. The owner has a Korean partner which heavily advertises there and brings loads of Korans here. So the ratio of Asians vs the rest of the world is 8 to one. I love Asians but they do not speak with anyone and if you were planning on making friends, forget about it. Oh and the brkfast is 3 tiny slices of cucumber, 1/4 of a tomatoe and one egg and that's that. And the terrace which is the only thing going for this hostel is closed during the day.. So people are forced to eat on the street where he has 3 tables while a car is passing by every 2 minutes.
Overall, you can do so much better in terms of finding somewhere more fun, with more space, cleaner, better amenities, and friendlier people at the same price. This place used to be 7 euroes up till last yr, but since the Korean partner joined, they went up to 12 Euroes, but you still get 7 euros service.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nimster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Pitesti, Romania
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2010

We went 4 persons and we've stayed in double rooms with shared bathroom (shared with the whole floor, not between us). I couldn't sleep because of the smell of dirt and stinking beds. I felt sick when I had to go to shower or to wash my teeth. At the toilet, if I closed the door, there was not enough space to turn around. Hot water was only when nobody was taking shower at the lower levels. It was very warm in the room because there is no AC, only a ventilator. The room was 2m/2m I think. The door would not open normally because there was no space. No piece of furniture to put your clothes, no nothing. Every room was 30 euro/night, so both rooms 60. We had already payed half of the amount so we had to stay 3 nights. I think they ask so much any in advance to be sure you don't go away the moment you walk in. We looked for some other place to stay and found an apartment, 400 meters away, which was 65 euro/night for all of us. So exactly the same. We had AC, close to the touristic center, beautiful terrace with the same view we had from sinbad, intimacy, clean sheets, space etc. It was much better.
So, if you don't afford a hotel and you are looking for cheap places to stay, don't go to to sinbad. Look for apartments. Maybe you'll like sinbad if you are a group of 15 year old adolescents that don't care if the shower is clean.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrotterwannabe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

I have made more than 25 trips to Turkey and for the last 8 or so visits to Istanbul I have stayed in the Sinbad Hostel. The location is perfect... close to the tram, in the historic Old City and yet far enough away from from the flood of backpackers hostels that you will be living among real local people! Is`nt that why we travel? Every year I stay i Sinbad I have seen improvements in the comfort, facilities and decoration. The friendleness and good service remain the same! I look forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ssss293974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2010

When I was looking for new accomodatıon ın Istanbul Sinbad was reccomended.. I am so pleased that I took up that reccomendation. They were courteous and helpful and I was made to feel so welcome. I was only going to stay a few days but ended up staying a week and then coming back again for a couple of days before I left Turkey.
The hostel is so handy to all the major sights and restuarants. The rooms and bathrooms are kept spotless. One of my favourite things at the hostel is breakfast which is included. Best of all breakfast is served on the roof terrace with a wonderful view out to the sea.
Nothing seems too much trouble and the staff are friendly and helpful at all times.
If you are looking for good hostel accommodation in Istanbul I would reccomend Sinbad. They will help make your stay most enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiwistanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,954 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,725 reviews
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#93 of 1,141 in Istanbul
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#158 of 1,141 in Istanbul
777 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#209 of 1,141 in Istanbul
114 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,141 in Istanbul
3,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinbad Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinbad Hostel

Property: Sinbad Hostel
Address: Kucukayasofya Mah. Demirci Resit Sok. No:1 Sultanahmet, Fatih | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #566 of 1,200 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Sinbad Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing