We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“for the big points ok, but not gracious”
Review of New Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New Backpackers
Ranked #154 of 1,259 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Reviewed 15 April 2012

we spent 3 nights at new backpackers hostel over eastern. the hostel is situated in a street beside the hagia sophia and blue mosque. we were received by a friendly hostel staff in their own restaurant, taking a cup of tea, so the first impression was good. the double bed room was a little bit small for 2 persons, but this was ok. we had an own bathroom. both were not cleaned as we arrived. our room window was directed to a patio with a lot of trash. most of it is caused by a stopped construction site right next to the hostel. but there was also trash that must come from one of those hostel rooms, such as shower gel packages etc, as it was exactly down the window. the shower head did not work, so we removed it and gave it to the cleaning woman. they never replaced it, even after talking again with the staff. we took the shower like a gardener, without shower head. the hostel is good situated for visiting the big points. but if you have more days, change the city part, for example to beyoglu, as we did. it seemed, that hostels and people there are much more gracious.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JClaude84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2012

We spent 2 wonderful nights in this hotel. The staff was very nice and friendly. The location gives easy access to the best sights of Sultanahmet. The common room is a very cosy and nice place with warm atmosphere and beautiful music. I can recommend this place.
Pawel

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PawelBaggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

new backpackers is in a perfect location- close to all the main tourist attractions- and there is great service, the staff are amazing, very friendly, warm and welcoming.. great value.. i had a fantastic stay here!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natashap4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

wonderfull place to stay ,very good location and frendly people will make your holiday extra ordinary ...

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nurettin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Great place & great service. Good and friendly people who are always there to help you with whatever that is that you need help. Great location - it's near by everything you need and wanna see in Sultanahmet =).

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

if u go to istanbul just find this place and stay there.hospitality and everything was really good.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mstrlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

New Backpackers is a great and cheap hotel/place to hang out/ meet new friends/ have a good meal and just about everything you need. The beds are comfy and you can feel safe with the staff. Stay there a few days and they`ll work as your extended family. Also worth mentioning is their excellent restaurant at fair prices. The food is fresh and the service is great. Free tea and coffee is on the house if you live there and the staff will help you with just about anything!

Room Tip: We had NO problems sleeping in a shared room with other people. We got to know them personally, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonBF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,175 in Istanbul
3,178 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#841 of 1,175 in Istanbul
629 reviews
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#85 of 1,175 in Istanbul
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#19 of 1,175 in Istanbul
1,839 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#69 of 1,175 in Istanbul
664 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#105 of 1,175 in Istanbul
2,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Backpackers

Address: Akbiyik Cad. No:14/1, Istanbul Sultanahmet, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 1,259 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: £16 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and Ebookers so you can book your New Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Backpackers Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing