We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i like it”
Review of New Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New Backpackers
Ranked #149 of 1,200 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“i like it”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

A good hostel with the awesome staff and atmosphere. They give you lots of pleasant gifts during your stay.The rooms are nice, but it can be a little noisy in the evening. Breakfast is a little avarage.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olya F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    26
    10
    9
    12
See reviews for
8
38
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We had a fantastic time at New Backpackers, the staff were super helpful and really attentive, the dorm was clean and the breakfast yum. The dorm does get a bit of sound from outside so headphones / ear plugs might be a good idea if youre a light sleeper.

Helpful?
Thank Eileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This place was awesome! The staff and atmosphere defiantly made up for the dorm we slept in (the basement, apparently private rooms were way nicer) but the beds were comfortable!
The music from the street was very loud, nothing earphones didn't fix though.
Breakfast was a little average, but the dinners were affordable and so good! Try the hummus!

Flat head Joseph made an everlasting impression with his amazing tricks.
I would stay here again - lots of fun and really good location!

Room Tip: Go private, the dorms in the basement are clean but average .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CourtneyHerbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludbreg, Croatia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

New Backpackers has a perfect location. A few minutes away from Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque situated in a charming street of Sultanahmet. Very easy to find. Nice room with a private bathroom. Good breakfast included in the price. Every time we had tee or coffee it was for free. They have a restaurant called Siva and they serve very good food there. Amazing atmosphere in the restaurant.The staff is great, always in the good mood with the smile on their faces. Thank you guys for such a lovely stay:)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vesna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I spend 6 days at Siva. (they have a back packers too)
there is no other restaurant like this - The staff and owner are beyond kind. They make such an effort to make it a personal visit. I saw the same people arriving over and over to eat at Siva. There is a reason for that - the service and smiles are much appreciated. You feel like a friend - not a customer. Nothing is too much trouble. Everyone is special. Besides that - Siva is located in an ear where you want to be - 5 minutes from everything and everywhere you want to go. I wish I could stay here forever. Wonder if they have a job for me.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElsaHoffmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The best thing about this hostel is the location - as other reviewers have stated, it is located within a 5-10 minute walk of the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, and Blue Mosque. There are also numerous restaurant options on the street where the hostel is, and there is a convenience store right next door which seemed to always be open. The room itself was pretty standard, but was more hotel-quality than most hostels I have stayed in. It was clean, functional, and the TV with over 1000 channels always made for interesting cultural entertainment - there were channels from nearly every country in the world I think. The water pressure in the shower was pretty low, but nothing too bad. The main problem I found with the hotel was the noise from the street below which didn't seem to die down until about 1am or later. If this bothers you, you may want to reconsider - but I personally didn't mind. Also, the staff at the hotel, especially Hakan, as well as the Siva Cafe, were exceptionally warm and friendly. My friend and I always felt that we were going home. And the complimentary Turkish breakfast that is provided is a good way to start every day. I stayed in the one-bedroom private room, so I'm not sure about the quality of the dormitory, but I feel like it's probably up to the same standard, so I would recommend the New Backpackers without reservations. Hopefully, I'll be back in Istanbul one day and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My trip to Istanbul was made even more memorable by my stay at New Backpackers. The hostel is located in the heart of everything. The Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Grand Bazaar and the Tram are all a couple minutes walk away. Also there are so many restaurant options right outside the hostel, including their restaurant, The Siva Cafe...where the food is great but the wine is even better. The staff at both the hostel and restaurant were always welcoming, friendly and helpful. Harkan made sure we were always comfortable. If ever i'm in Istanbul again this is where i'll stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Msk Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Bahaus Guesthouse
Bahaus Guesthouse
#36 of 1,200 in Istanbul
198 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Hostel International
Orient Hostel International
#14 of 1,200 in Istanbul
500 reviews
Beyoglu
Stay Inn Taksim Hostel
Stay Inn Taksim Hostel
#33 of 1,200 in Istanbul
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Agora Guesthouse
Agora Guesthouse
#2 of 1,200 in Istanbul
750 reviews
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#4 of 1,200 in Istanbul
732 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cheers Hostel
Cheers Hostel
#3 of 1,200 in Istanbul
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Backpackers

Property: New Backpackers
Address: Akbiyik Cad. No:14/1, Istanbul Sultanahmet, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 1,200 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — New Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your New Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Backpackers Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing