We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best value in a great location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of World House Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
World House Istanbul
Ranked #31 of 1,171 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best value in a great location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Conveniently located 100 meters from the prominent Galata Tower. Find the tower and you've found the hostel! It's 45 minutes from the airport on the M1 metro and then T1 tram for a cost of 4TL/US$2.50. Hostel is excellently located on the main road leading to the shopping, culture, restaurant and nightlife district of Taksim. Also 30 minutes pleasant walk to the UNESCO site Hagia Sophia mosque across the Galata bridge over the Golden Horn inlet. The cheapest rate is the comfortable but a bit noisy mixed 14 bed co-ed dorm for US$16/EUR12 most due to people wandering back late from the nearby bars and clubs. Shared bathrooms and showers are a bit cramped so it's not a great choice for "large" guests. Theres also a pizza joint and a supermarket close by. The biggest downside is it is right next to a Mosque so you get woken up at 5am by prayer calls. Of course that's no problem if you're a practicing Muslim but everyone else could use ear plugs unless you're looking to beat everyone else to the showers! Free fast wi-fi and Turkish style breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnthonyMaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    69
    23
    4
    3
See reviews for
9
25
59
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Awesome, clean cheap hostel!! Tiny bathrooms, but who cares their clean. Nice staff, good breakfast!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paige O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

This is quite a large hostel, with a lot of rooms of various sizes and configurations. It's in a terrific location, but hard to get to by taxi! Amazing view of the Galata Tower from the top floor rooms. Nice and clean. Linens are included, but bring your own towels. It's definitely in the party area of town, and a partying crowd -- routinely heard noisy groups coming in between 2 and 4, closely followed by the call to prayer from the minaret right next door. The beds in our room were not great. Bunk beds with more than a bit of sag in the middle.

Room Tip: Higher up have nice views of Galata Tower! But a long walk up the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ISWizards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

We had a double bed room with private bathroom. We stayed 4 days and no cleaning was performed (no need actually with hot August). Lining were included, towels were not. The room was big, with a table, a closet, a shelf and a roof fan. The neighborhood was quiet, still very close to lively streets. Free WiFi connection works only at ground floor but there are 2 coin operated PC to go online (however you cannot write your stuff offline and then copy and paste). Breakfast is good and you can take as much as you want.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ferdinando P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Overall this hostel is good value. The rooms are clean, staff friendly and it is a great place to meet other travellers.
My only complaint is that the young tour organiser can be very persistent and pushy.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina_hw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2011

I found that staying on the top floor-8 beds-bedroom was a great experience. I had the room just for myself for 4 days of 5. There, I was able to enjoy the views from Galata tower across the hostel, and full view of the old town every morning and night. Their breakfast is the same as the rest of Turkey, and the location i found is good. A little touristy for my taste, but still not overwhelmed by it. They have one washing and dryer machine, which is pretty convenient. ALso have internet, also convenient, but very pricey compare to the prices you can find around the corner. Ohh...one thing, the room on the top floor, the one with the view...you have to walk 4 floors to get there. There is not elevator, but is is nice to go around and around...you will see why.

My mix feelings comes in term of the staff. Two of the guys there were very friendly and eager to chat or help, but then there was a third one (who was almost all the time there) who seems to be bothered the few times I approached to him to ask for some directions. That was kind of uncomfortable. Also, My first morning there, one of the employees - a boy-not the maid, went into my room while I was not there, I think to take a break...at that point I thought was a guest, but then I saw he was not staying, he worked there. At any rate, it was only that time. It did not happen again while I was there. But still that experience contributes to my mix feelings.

I would still recommend this place to my friends. Take care, hope it is helpful.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DEMM_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2010

I stayed for 5 days in the 8 bed dorm room. The location was close to Istiklal Street and a 5 minute walk down the hill to the metro. However, it was also a busy and touristy street and above a record place that plays loud music through the night. There was also a mosquito problem (but that may be anywhere in Turkey in the summer) that gave one of my friends 30 bites in one night. Internet is 1 TYL per 20 minutes and there is free wi-fi in the lobby. Free Turkish breakfast is bread, jam, cheese, slices of cucumber and tomato, olives, and tea. It's the delicious the first day, but sickening by the fifth day. Nevertheless, it's quite generous. Laundry is 10 TYL per load. Airport pickup is 25 TYL (but I'm not sure if it varies by the number of people picked up at once), so taking the metro (3 TYL) might be better if you arrive before 10 (when the metro stops running).

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anomelisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Georges Hotel Galata
Georges Hotel Galata
#87 of 1,120 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Beyoglu
SNOG Rooms & Suites
SNOG Rooms & Suites
#432 of 1,120 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Sultanahmet
Istanbul Harmony Hostel
Istanbul Harmony Hostel
#89 of 1,171 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#4 of 1,171 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Beyoglu
Art Nouveau Galata
Art Nouveau Galata
#37 of 1,010 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Beyoglu
No:11 Apartments
No:11 Apartments
#32 of 1,171 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to World House Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about World House Istanbul

Property: World House Istanbul
Address: Galip Dede Cad. No:85 Galata, Istanbul, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 1,171 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World House Istanbul offers comfortable beds, 24 hr hot water and a superb atmosphere in the heart of the city, the right fit for any urban traveller. Since 2005, we are working very hard to keep our hostel clean, secure, fun and still affordable. World House Istanbul is a 150 year-old Genoese-style stone building located just a few steps away from the iconic Galata Tower and the renowned Istiklal Avenue, and just several minutes away from the Sultanahmet. It can accommodate up to 82 people with its ensuite double and triple rooms, 4-bed, 6-bed, 8-bed and 14-bed dorms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your World House Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing