We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth not staying here”
Review of Neverland Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Neverland Hostel
Ranked #398 of 1,236 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We were here for a week with school and the first night my boyfriend and I stayed in a two bed room. It was terrible damp and we found it really hard to breathe due to the mould. The next day we moved into a 9 bed dorm. This room was not damp but extremely dirty. In addition to the old dirt the staff did not empty the rubbish for the whole week and with 9 people in the room it filled up quite quick.

The bathrooms were dirty and the water in the shower was ankle deep cause it didnt run away.

There was only wifi in the reception and in there there was a cat, which I am really allergic to.

Location is good, night staff friendly, day staff not so much. And it was damn hard to find!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barsine80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Neverland Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013

I was staying at Neverland hostel for 5 nights and i have to say that i just love this place.
We stayed in a 4 bed dorm, which was pretty big, so we had enough room to store our luggage.
The room had no airconditioner, but we left the window opened during the night, so it was okay.
The hostel in general has a great atmosphere. Even if it is pretty hot in the main area, it is always cool so sit aorunf, meeting new people and drink some glasses of turkish tea.
The location is just fantastic. You can get there from the airport with the metro and tram with onlz 5 minutes of walking.
The quarter around is a very nice place, because it is not very touristy, so you can find many cheap places with a lot of turkish people.
I would definitely recommend you this place, because you wont find such a great place for this less money with breakfast included!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FabiiF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Cheapest doubled room with private bath in Istanbul

We chose this hostel because they had best price for room with double bad and private bath.
Location was very good. We walked every day from there to whole town.
Bath room was very simply, only toilet and shower, all together. Room had big bad and very simply decorated however with nice paintings.
It was so noisy from the street but after second night we get used to it.

Next to the reception was relax zone for dinning and relaxing. Wi-Fi was good. It was whole decorated with old newspaper and beautiful paintings.

Stuff was very polite and friendly. They show to us room before we paid. Place was always clean.
It is good value for your money if you travel on budget.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrej Ž
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Great spot - it's not a fancy hostel, but it's VERY comfortable, nice lounge, social atmosphere, great for a short or long stay. The place is covered in great political posters - it's great decor to feel immersed in (and learn about) social movements in Europe and Asia. The location is great - a few mins walk to Metro/Tram, a few mins walk to Istiklal and Taksim Square.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattLeonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I stayed in a single room for 20 euro a day, breakfast is very generous, and shared bathroom and shower was cleaned every day. spacious room downstairs I had problem with the wifi connection the first day but after I was able to be connected. The tram is very near and you can reach easily the main attraction sites. a special Thanx to the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giacomo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We stayed there 4 nights. This is simple and cheap. The lobby is a common place where one can chill out, speak with other travelers, share experience with the staff (all speak English, some even speak other languages).
The availability for laundry, extra cleaning of the room when needed, breakfast... is incredible if you consider the price of the rooms/beds in dorms.
Of course, if you expect fine linen, design decoration, and posh stuf, this is not your place. If you're looking for a different way of discovering Istanbul, just go ahead!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

i loved this hostel. i travelled alone (fr the first time) and i stayed here in a single room for 5 nights. I felt at home, I also got a bad fever for half day and i really felt at home, one of the guys from the staff helped me with aspirine and a chat. everybody was helpful during my staying. free wi fi, computer for guest,es nice breakfast, and really good music in the hall all the day long.
i had a single room and I couldn't expect anything better.
the hostel is clean and tidy, but I THINK bathroom could be messy during high season when it's crowded.
I suggest you to bring your sleeping bag with you, for ME the linen wouldn't be satisfying.
btw the location is PERFECT, everything it's within a walking distance, you can also walk to sultanahmet...so nice to have a walk along galata bridge <3
and if you don't want to walk you have a tram stop just 3 minutes away from the hostel. getting the ataturk airport takes about 1 hour with public transport with just one change, really easy, cheap and nice....Istanbul which will close its ancient walls just behind you :)

the only problem I had was the heating.
my first room was at the last floor andt it was cold, the heating was too weak. I asked to fix it and they moved me to another -really warm- room. i have to be honest i heard another room had a problem with heating too.

btw i LOVED neverland

Room Tip: if you are planning to go there during the winter try to ask for a lower floor room, they are warmer...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giorgia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Orient Hostel International
Orient Hostel International
#11 of 1,236 in Istanbul
506 reviews
Beyoglu
Levanten Hostel
Levanten Hostel
#71 of 1,236 in Istanbul
127 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Hostel
Sultan Hostel
#15 of 1,236 in Istanbul
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Puffin Hostel
Puffin Hostel
#113 of 1,236 in Istanbul
49 reviews
Beyoglu
Eastwest Hostel
Eastwest Hostel
#406 of 1,236 in Istanbul
53 reviews
Sultanahmet
Istanbul Harmony Hostel
Istanbul Harmony Hostel
#80 of 1,236 in Istanbul
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neverland Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neverland Hostel

Address: Bogankesen Cad. No:96 Taksim, Beyoglu, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #398 of 1,236 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: £10 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Provide a comfortable, safe and cheap accomodation right in the center of istanbul ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Neverland Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing