We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Apartment in excellent location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Istanbul Amedros Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Istanbul Amedros Home
Ranked #24 of 1,174 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Apartment in excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here:

http://www.istanbulsuitehome.com/index.php/en/apartments/73-deluxe-aparts-2.html

Excellent accommodation for a family of four. Clean and well-equipped. It didn't feel crowded and the roof space with a courtesy fridge and comfortable loungers was a nice bonus. The wifi worked and the guys who welcomed us were very helpful and accommodating.
Would definitely stay again. Maybe a microwave and an iron and board would be useful additions.
Others have mentioned the rather loud muezzin, especially in the morning. Obviously, this is part of the atmosphere of being in a muslim country; but, yes, the amplified call is very loud. Best advice is to close the windows – we found that helped a lot. Don't let this put you off!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BOwm23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    54
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
147
64
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We had a very good stay in the apartment which is very conveniently located -- walking distance to shopping, Blue Mosque and grand bazar. The apartment is well equipped and very very clean. Yuksel, the owner has a lovely shop and cafe too and is very generous with guests who are living in his apartment. Will definitely come back

Room Tip: Nice sunny balcony. rooms have a lot of natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shammy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Our airport pick up wasn't too sure where to drop us off so initially we were worried we were being dumped in some small back street. However it soon became apparent we were in the right place and were let into our apartment, no. 2......although all look the same in the block. The apartment is just like it appears in the website.....spacious and tastefully decorated. There is also a good sized balcony and the roof terrace (shared with the other apartments) is a real delight. We stayed a week and the apartment was cleaned on several occasions. The location is great, easy walking distance to all the main sites, shops and restaurants. The old town is clean, felt very safe and people were so friendly. A small shop is located immediately opposite which served our needs although we only had breakfast in the apartment. Some tea, coffee, bread, fruit and milk were in the kitchen when we arrived. The apartments are great value, equivalent to a hotel room rate but with so much more space and flexibility.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becksloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

We were very impressed with the apartment the moment we entered. Very bright and lively, a small convenience store right across, which made our stay very comfortable. We were in constant touch with the manager if we ever needed anything. We stayed in Deluxe 1 which had a small private garden and thats what awed us when we first entered, looking at the greenery. The walk to the main street (Divan yolu, about 5 mins) is a bit of an exercise but the whole of Istanbul is like that, so one has to get used to walking uphill. Its very conveniently located to most of the attractions in old sultanahmet. The apartment was kept very clean and Burhan(staff) had provided us with few necessities(milk, fruits, cheese, etc) the first day we came in.
And the BEST part about the apartment was its roof top terrace. We loved spending our late nights there. Luckily the weather was really nice, so it gave us an opportunity to enjoy the weather. Yuksel(owner/manager) has paid attention to very small details when it comes to the guests staying in the apartments. We never found any need to contact anyone for anything because everything one could need was readily available either in the apartment or the store across.
We loved the city and the apartment just made it even better and enjoyable for us. We would definitely love to come back to this city and Istanbul Suite Home will be our first choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shikha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

My spouse and I recently stayed at the Istanbul Suite Home. Some parts of our stay there were good, some were not. The transfer from the airport went well. At the apartment, the manager greeted us and showed us how to use the television and operate the door to the small, not very usable, balcony. Almost from the beginning the television would not work. The cable box was replaced the next day. After that we were able to use the television. The balcony door was very difficult to master. It took us serveral days to do that. The building's front door lock would not work on three occassions. Fortunately, some of the men, who are always in the street, were able to unlock it for us. Not having a manager on site is a disadvantage, expecially if you do not have a cell phone that operates in Turkey. The sound proofing does not exist. The sounds from the apartment, from the rest of the building, and from the street were very intrusive. There was construction going on next door that was too loud for us to be in the apartment during the day for several days during our stay. Judging by the what we could see of the work, it will go on for sometime. The Istanbul Suite Home policy of requiring an advance payment by means of Paypal of one-quarter of the total rent so not so bad. However, requiring the remaining three-quarters in cash (Euros or U.S. dollars) on arrival is a problem. Carring that much cash on the airplane is uncomfortable. They do not accept any credit or debit card.

All of the above are problems, but the problem that bothered me the most occurred when I contacted the manager about an airport shuttle back to the airport. He had offered to arrange one when we arrived. I told him that I would get back to him later. A few days beore our departure, I called the manager and indicated that I had seen a number of places that offered an airport shuttle for 5 Euros per person. Could he match that? He indicated that he could, so I gave him the flight information, date and time. He told me when to be ready and to leave the fee, 80 liras, on the kitchen countrer the day before departure. After I hung up, I spoke to my spouse about the amount, was 80 lira equivalent to 10 Euros (for the two of us.)? He looked on line and found that 10 Euros is about $13.00 USD which is about 26 lira. I called the manager back, and he said well that is for a shuttle, he was offering a taxi. This is not what was discussed in the first conversation. The manager should have been forthright with me and said no, he could not match 5 Euros per person. His attempts to explain away this discrepancy were weak at best. I do not mind someone trying to sell his product, but I do mind him not being forthright about it. Given this treatment, I cannot recommend the Istanbul Suite Home to family or friends or anyone.

Despite the above, I can say the apartment has a good amount of space, an adequately equiped kitchen, a close proximity to the major attractions, strong air conditioning, and a nice roof top terrace for all guests to use.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Seala_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Very comfortable and clean with lovely sunny living room overlooking the Sea of Marmora. Excellent transfer service from chaotic airport. Fresh bread, water and vegetables in shop opposite. Ten minutes walk to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and the tram. Many excellent restaurants nearby. Overlooks Sinan's masterpiece, the the Sokullulu Mehmetpasha Mosque. Well worth a visit but only open after 11am. A brief encounter with riots in May did not put us off. All over 60 - steep streets and stairs not a problem. Unanswered bell on arrival, so need to have phone available for contact.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkSueT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

The location is close to the center of Sultanahmet. The apartment itself is modern, spacious, clean and well equipped. Beautiful shared roof terrace.There is a grocery store across the street. Very nice and helpful employees. Great for families!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VerenaBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Istanbul Place Apartments
Istanbul Place Apartments
#16 of 1,174 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Beyoglu
Nuru Ziya Suites
Nuru Ziya Suites
#8 of 1,174 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Beyoglu
MySuite Istanbul
MySuite Istanbul
#6 of 1,174 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Suites
Sultanahmet Suites
#36 of 1,174 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Sultanahmet
Topkapi Apartments
Topkapi Apartments
#63 of 1,174 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Beyoglu
Casa di Bava Istanbul
Casa di Bava Istanbul
#48 of 1,174 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Istanbul Amedros Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Istanbul Amedros Home

Property: Istanbul Amedros Home
Address: Dizdariye Cesmesi Sok No 45 Binbirdirek | Sutanahmet / Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 1,174 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ISTANBUL SUITE HOME is located at the very heart of Istanbul's Old City part, Sultanahmet that is surrounded by most of the historical sites and attractions, museums, churches, mosques, antique bazaars and basilica cisterns etc. The building has 5 stories consisting of 1 individual apartment flat on each story. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Istanbul Amedros Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Suite Home Hotel Istanbul
Suite Home Hotel Istanbul
Suite Home Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing