We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying by the Blue Mosque”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
Ranked #310 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Only a few steps away from the Blue Mosque stands Armagrandi Spina Hotel, beautiful location, and the view from our balcony it was breath-taking. Having said that, if you are a light sleeper, don't forget to take your ear plugs because at around 5 in the morning the calling to the mosque most probably will wake you up.
The breakfast at the hotel was amazing, the staff very friendly but... they lacking in cleaning the rooms. Definitely a place to stay and visit.

Room Tip: As for the annex with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graciela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

Pros: Location, location, location!


Cons: Limited breakfast selection, if this matters to you....


A nice, basic hotel in an amazing location. Literally a 2-minute walk from the Blue Mosque and Aya Sophia,a 5-minute walk to the tourist hub of the city and a the Sultan Ahmet tram stop, a 10-15-minute walk (or 2 tram stops) from the grand Bazaar and 3 short tram stops from the Spice Bazaar and port area.

Pleasant and helpful staff and management. Rooms were basic, clean and comfortable.

A slightly larger breakfast selection (similar to other comparable hotels in the area) would make a huge difference. It was mostly a cold selection of salads, cheeses and meats together with some scrambled eggs and some sliced chipolata in a tomato-ey sauce (and unfortunately these too were often cool). Some fried options would have been nice. And some cartons of pure juices wouldn’t go amiss – during our stay there was only a strangely thick, rather sickly-sweet orange liquid available. The coffee was also a very strong Turkish variety which was not to everyone’s taste.

There was a great view from the roof terrace both of the mosques and the sea, however the bar there was not open when we stayed which made the rooftop eerily uninhabited (while other terraces we could see nearby were buzzing).

Overall a very nice and convenient experience, and we would be very happy to stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ESyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Location is, as others have said, perfect for exploring the old town. The hotel itself seems nice enough and the view from the terrace is lovely but 2 things let us down on our trip.
Firstly we pre-booked an airport transfer to avoid the worry of arriving late at night and getting a cab in an unfamiliar city. No-one was there and we had to negotiate our own ride. The hotel did not apologise but did try to charge us.
Secondly we were put in a basement room. The tv did not work and it had no real windows - just some near the ceiling at the pavement level. The light was the same day or night - needed lights during the day and no curtains at night meant the street light came in. We had to leave the room to see enough to determine how to dress for the day.
The room smelt musty and damp and airless and there was mould on the ceiling. The bathroom was damp and infested with flies. It was better after the first day so we had the impression that the room had not been used for a while.
Tea and coffee was not replenished.
The breakfast had some choice though the eggs and coffee were cold as others have noted. The breakfast staff seemed disinterested and each day I had to ask for something that had run out (milk, plates, juice...).
The terrace is lovely and if it wasn't for the awful room, I'd have rated this hotel ok as a 3 star.

Room Tip: AVOID the basement!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benkei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Location is absolutely brilliant the backyard is basically the blue mosque & Hagia sophia not even a 5 minute walk. A small hotel, fairly clean and nice rooms. Cost is also fairly decent. Service is good, so no complaints at all. I would definitely stay there again

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Altafur R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

It is just near by the Blue mosque and Haggia Sofia. With such a great location, the environment in hotel could remain quiet. I personally like the breakfast while my colleagues think it is just ok. Most rooms have a great view of the square between Haggia Sofia and Blue mosque.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarasarahPan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The location is just excellent if you are looking to stay in the Sultanahmet district (near the Blue Mosque, Haggia Sophia, etc.). This hotel is around 1 block away from the Blue Mosque and two blocks away from the Haggia Sophia. It's on a small street next to these two landmarks. The view from their terrace is spectacular. Great place to take some great pictures, specially during the sunset. Once you go up their terrace you can see a few other terraces from other hotels and restaurants, and then you realize you're in a great spot. However, they don't have a restaurant or bar on this terrace (or at least when we were their, the bar was not open).

There are many restaurants in the area, so don't worry about finding somewhere to eat or grab a drink. However, a warning about this district: is crowded with tourists which of course attracts lots of street vendors trying to sell you something (e.g. boat tour on the Bosphorus). They can sometimes be very annoying.

The Sultanahmet tram stop is also just right there (between Blue Mosque and Haggia Sophia), so it's very convenient to move around if you need to take the tram. If you wan't to walk, you will be within walking distance of the Grand Bazaar (15 min), Spice Bazaar (15-20 min), and other main attractions.

If you are not a deep sleeper, do not stay here. You will be right next to the Blue Mosque, which means that the call to prayer will be REALLY loud and will wake you up around 5-6am. If this is a problem for you, do not stay here. It wasn't a problem for me. It was actually breathtaking to hear the call to prayer.

The hotel in general is ok. It looks a little worn out and old, but was very clean. The front-desk staff was great, very friendly and helpful. The shower was a bit too small but ok. Breakfast was included and was the typical buffet breakfast that you will find on almost all other Turkey hotels: tomato and cucumber salad, feta cheese, olives, eggs, sausages, some other greens, etc.

Be sure to check some nearby restaurants that are highly ranked on TripAdvisor. These were really good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We were referred to this hotel by friends of ours who had stayed here a couple of years ago. We were not disappointed. When we arrived late a night the first thing we did was go to the roof top terrace and were just amazed at the beautiful view of the Blue Mosque to our left and Hagia Sofia to our right. All lit up at night they were impressive. The next day we noted that we had a great panoramic view of the Basphorus as well. It is a great location to the major attractions and to the tram transportation line which will take you to other parts of the city. The hotel staff were friendly and very helpful. The breakfasts were healthy, colourful and delicious with lots of choice. The one negative was that our air conditioner didn/t seem to work and the light on my side of the bed never did work. Other than that the rooms were clean and pretty standard but the views and location more than made up for it. it did take us a couple of days to get used to the loud speaker call to prayers at sunrise but we thought that added to the exotic ambiance of the city. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jksouth_5447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Uyan Hotel
Uyan Hotel
#193 of 1,163 in Istanbul
613 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Palace Hotel
Sultanahmet Palace Hotel
#381 of 1,163 in Istanbul
188 reviews
Sultanahmet
Alzer Hotel
Alzer Hotel
#279 of 1,163 in Istanbul
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#85 of 1,163 in Istanbul
740 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ararat Hotel
Ararat Hotel
#140 of 1,163 in Istanbul
77 reviews
Sultanahmet
Aristocrat Hotel
Aristocrat Hotel
#257 of 1,163 in Istanbul
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armagrandi Spina Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armagrandi Spina Istanbul

Address: Utangac Sok. No:19 Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#138 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#191 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#215 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £29 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Armagrandi Spina Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Armagrandi Spina is a converted 19th century house featuring a striking wooden exterior with ornate Ottoman and Byzantine style architecture and interior decoration. Our hotel is situated in the Old Town in the historic Sultanahmet district of Istanbul From our breakfast room and Top Terrace, we offer stunning views of the Old City and Bosphorus.We would be happy to be able to assist you during your holiday in this fascinating city and to have you here as our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Splitty, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Armagrandi Spina Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Armagrandi Spina Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Armagrandi Spina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing