We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax; ıts clean, quıet, and well located.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Residence Istanbul
Ranked #725 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Relax; ıts clean, quıet, and well located.”
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Pluses; great central locatıon off busy Istıklal St
clean
my room was quıet (unless hotel full and you have a room near next door dısco)
small but adequate rooms wıth 1 englısh channel (bbc) on tv
nıce bathrooms
wı-fı and a free ınternet connected pc ın lobby (great for old-tımers lıke me who stıll
don,t have mobıle ınternet)
helpful staff (though lımıted englısh)
24 hour receptıon

negatıves; Hıdden down a sıde st, so dıffıcult to fınd.
If you has a room over the next door dısco, ıt would be noısy. Ask for one that ısn,t
Most staff wıth lımıted Englısh....so that when I asked for a taxı to the traın statıon
to Ankara (over on the Asıan sıde)....they eıther dıdn,t know , or weren,t able to tell
me that the traın servıce to Ankara had been suspended. I ended up beıng taken
(at consıderable expense) to some suburbanstatıon way over on the Asıan sıde &
after some hassle makıng my way back to Istanbul.

Room Tip: Hıgher floor at the sıde or back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LobbyLudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    59
    43
    7
    6
See reviews for
18
33
31
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

If you are not looking for a fancy stay with a pretty view but a clean, affordable stay right in the heart of the most buzzing street - Istiklal Street, in Taksim then this is perfect. Not many people in Turkey speak English, however the hotel staff did which was a sigh of relief and were always helpful and informative whenever we needed help.

The biggest advantage of staying at the Residence is that you get out, walk 10steps and you are on Istiklal which is home to an array of excellent restaurants, cafes, pubs, clubs, shopping, and just loads of happy people.

Disadvantages:
If you are a light sleeper and it's the weekend (Fri/Sat) this place maybe too busy or loud for you.

One thing to note, i realized after staying in 4 different hotels during our entire holiday is that most hotels serve the Turkish breakfast (baguette, boiled eggs, tomato, cucumber, cheese, butter, olives, turkish tea/coffee) which i will be honest i wasnt a big fan of. I found it extremely hard to find a place that offered omelette or cereal or regular english tea. So carry your own tea/cereal if you are finicky.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mona_Amin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

hotel is quite average..
bed sheets are not prepared well, not good ironing which gives you a bad feeling..
room was small..
however, it is located in the center of Taksim/most famous Istiklal street..
Hotel staff are kind and helpful..
ok for such amount of payment......

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eproxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Residence hotel for 6 nights and our stay was very pleasant. It's location is perfect, 2 mins walk from Istiklal st (3 blocks away from Istiklal) and 10 mins walk from Taksim sq and the metro station though the room was quite and we didn't hear any noise from the near by bars. The room was small but had everything one could need A/C, TV, minibar,... etc. The hotel is very clean and same is the room which was cleaned daily also the dirty towels were changed. The breakfast was very good and delicious with variety of turkish cheese, olives, cucumbers, variety of jams & honey, cold meats, different kinds of bread, 2 or 3 kinds of eggs, various turkish pastries, 3 types of fruits, coffee machine and juice machine. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly, they spoke English well and they are available 24 hrs. Special thanks to Mr. Mesut, the manager, who was very kind, friendly and helpful.
I'll definitly stay there again next time.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nsalem83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Nice location(right on Isticlal str.),old room and extremely noisy!!! People in next door discos keep yelling and party all night until sun up.I could not sleep at all. If you plan to be out late or not in your room in the day this won't be a problem.Breakfast was average, but due to the noise unfortunately I won't be staying again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa71Skp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We wanted to stay near Taksim Square and this hotel fit that requirement exactly. It is a block away from the main street (i.e. the chaos) and only a few blocks from the Taksim statue. Even so, you could not hear any of the craziness outside (although the door was pretty thin so you could hear everything in the hallway). There was always someone at the reception desk and the person always spoke great English and they were very helpful. The breakfast had everything that a Turkish person could ask for...several kinds of eggs, several kinds of cheeses, fruits, a juice machine, coffee/hot chocolate/cappuccino, several types of bread, etc. We couldn't figure out how the A/C worked...it would go off after about an hour and we had to turn it on again.

PROS:
- Awesome breakfast spread...the best of the 6 hotels that we stayed at.
- Great location
- Public computer
- Lobby was very big and had comfortable furniture

CONS:
- Although there was wi-fi in the room, the signal was very weak.
- The room and bathroom was tiny.
- Housekeeping was poor. They did not change the sheets every day nor give us new towels.
- Although there were windows, the views was of brick walls.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sung K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fuzhou, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

The single room is tiny,but clean,wifi is not very good,quite slowly. excellent location,very close to taksim square and galata tower,and metro station.....staff are very friendly,helpful...if they can change their breakfast a little bit every day,i would be very happy.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QinYin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Ilya Pera Hotel
Ilya Pera Hotel
#640 of 1,141 in Istanbul
23 reviews
Beyoglu
Taxim Lounge Hotel
Taxim Lounge Hotel
#399 of 1,141 in Istanbul
39 reviews
Beyoglu
Mirrors Hotel
Mirrors Hotel
#544 of 1,141 in Istanbul
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Istanbulinn Boutique Hotel
Istanbulinn Boutique Hotel
#806 of 1,141 in Istanbul
65 reviews
Beyoglu
Misafir Suites 8 Istanbul
Misafir Suites 8 Istanbul
#320 of 1,141 in Istanbul
284 reviews
Beyoglu
Istanburg
Istanburg
#721 of 1,141 in Istanbul
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Istanbul

Property: Hotel Residence Istanbul
Address: 19 Sadri Alisik Sokak, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #725 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Residence Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing