We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Budget Hotel if you are patient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Residence Istanbul
Ranked #725 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
88 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good Budget Hotel if you are patient”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We selected the hotel as it was economical and included breakfast. The first shock was that the taxi could not reach the hotel as Istiklal Cd was full of pedestrians. The next shock was that the bath room was so small that there was no room to bend. It needed some efforts to lock the front door. To make it worse, there was so much noise from outside that we could barely sleep in the night.
The positive aspect is the proximity to the busy Istiklal street and the foodstuffs that it could offer. The people at the hotel were courteous. The breakfast was adequate. The room maintenance was good.
If you do not mind the problems as above, Hotel Residence would suit a lower budget.
My wife mentioned that we should have stayed at Sultanahmet instead of staying at Istiklal Cd even at a higher price.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TennisPRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    59
    43
    7
    6
See reviews for
18
33
31
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

If like us you're going to see Istanbul, and need a central, pleasant, clean, efficient and economical place, then you needn't look beyond the Residence. Rooms were fine and clean. Breakfast decent. Very easy access to all you need:- shops, restaurants, bars and transport to the main sites. 1 minute to the pedestrian street, then it's a pleasant walk to the old city. At all costs, avoid the late night basement bar next door; mafia-run... All other bars and eateries were excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

The only things going for this hotel are that it is clean and well-situated, just off the pedestrian street of Istiklal. The staff did their best but it is hard to like this hotel. The first room I had was tiny & gloomy with two pallets, although I had asked for a double bed; a few days later I was changed to a bigger room, with two beds where I could at least move. The breakfast, in a basement, is nothing to write home about, particularly given what is provided in comparably priced hotels in Istanbul. The soap & bath soap are dispensed from metal containers fixed to the wall; you cannot put any paper down the toilet but have to use a wastepaper bin next to it. I would not recommend this hotel for creature comforts.

Room Tip: Ask for a big one. I have no idea how two adults could fit into the first one I had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tangier, Morocco
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

The hotel is located close to the Istiklal street. The rooms are small but clean. The staff is nice. The breakfast is average. Even though I stayed there for 5 nights, I only had breakfast there once. The hotel is a bit noisy at night but it helps a lot if you close the window. The only things I don't like is water. It was usually cold. I complained three times in vain. Still, I would like to stay there again.

Room Tip: I was in 211 second floor. Ask for a location on the other side not on the street if you want to sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abdelkrim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Portugal
Level Contributor
171 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Agree with most prior reviews. Proximity to Istiklal Cd is the benefit. Room is tiny, but clean. Noisy in the evening though most of the night. Breakfast is nothing to write home about. We even decided to eat at McDonalds one morning.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chipol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2013

It was not the best stay we had in Istanbul but maybe we were just unlucky. The price was right, and the location was in the heart of the action in Beyoglu which were the positives. The first room they gave us was not what we booked, they gave us, as a couple, a room with 2 single beds. We complained and they 'upgraded' us to a suite room with a queen bed. The suite room bathroom was *moldy* so we complained and they didn't seem to really care that it was moldy. We had no other option except to move to the small room with the two single beds. Most rooms seemed a bit loud but that's more because of the location and not because of the hotel.

Room Tip: I think it was the south side rooms that were quieter. 108, 208 etc were the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nostromos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed there 4 nights. Staff were extremely nice, polite and helpful. Couldn't be better.
Rooms nice and clean. It's in a lively neighborhood (shop, bars, nightclubs and restaurants), so if you don't like noise 24/7 ask for a room away from the street (I don't think there are silent rooms in Istanbul a all ;-)). Breakfast is absolutely acceptable for at 3* hotel. Good choices. We stayed there 3 teachers with 36 highschool students and they enjoy the hotel and everything else!
Beds were fine - your're there to sleep, right? Hot water worked all the time we stayed there. So why not 5* .... well the hotel itself is very noisy and sound travel very easily - even when more considerate people than our students came back from town or talked in the room. A few carpets were people walked could make wonders.

Room Tip: Away from the street or bring earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seaplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Ilya Pera Hotel
Ilya Pera Hotel
#640 of 1,141 in Istanbul
23 reviews
Beyoglu
Taxim Lounge Hotel
Taxim Lounge Hotel
#399 of 1,141 in Istanbul
39 reviews
Beyoglu
Mirrors Hotel
Mirrors Hotel
#544 of 1,141 in Istanbul
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Istanbulinn Boutique Hotel
Istanbulinn Boutique Hotel
#806 of 1,141 in Istanbul
65 reviews
Beyoglu
Misafir Suites 8 Istanbul
Misafir Suites 8 Istanbul
#320 of 1,141 in Istanbul
284 reviews
Beyoglu
Istanburg
Istanburg
#721 of 1,141 in Istanbul
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Istanbul

Property: Hotel Residence Istanbul
Address: 19 Sadri Alisik Sokak, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #725 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Residence Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing