We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic first time trip to Sultanahmet”
Review of Ferman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ferman Hotel
Ranked #213 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic first time trip to Sultanahmet”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The overall Ferman Hotel experience made my first visit to Sultanahmet and modern Istanbul a fabulous memory. The staff, with no exception, was top notch, but special thanks to Sinan in reception. He had a solution for every question I asked - and, with a smile!
It was a very fortunate last minute decision to visit this wonderful city - and I couldn't have been luckier finding a hotel like this. It is within walking distance of Agia Sofya, Topkapi, the tram...and the view from our room was The Blue Mosque!
Many many thanks from Room 504 to all the employees at the hotel, and a highlight of each morning: the excellent breakfast buffets.
I will be back!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaaren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    195
    45
    15
    5
See reviews for
119
359
54
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This boutique hotel is only a few blocks from The Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace in a nice neighborhood of other boutique hotels, cobblestone streets and open restaurants. The staff was extremely helpful with taxis, directions, & suggestions for a Bosphorus tour. They recommended a Turkish bath that is reputed to be the oldest in Istanbul opening in 1475. It was a great experience but I would probably go to a more modern one next time. Our room had a large balcony that looked out at the Marmara Sea at the mouth of the Bosphorus. It was wonderful watching the small fishing boats as well as large oil tankers and cruise ships go by.
The rooftop breakfast room had the same beautiful view of the sea but it also looked directly at the Blue Mosque in the other direction. After 5 days we got a little tired of the same breakfast every day and probably should have gone elsewhere once or twice. We sat up on the deck one evening drinking beer and watching the sun set and the lights come up on the Mosque. Spectacular views.
We visited friends who stayed at the Ritz Carlton which is in a business area near Taksim Square. It was plush but had no Turkish flair and was far from the old area of Sultanahmet. We were so happy we were staying at the Ferman and would stay there again!

Room Tip: Our view room was worth the extra few dollars. The balcony rooms are only on the top floors so be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crafty_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This hotel is a great value for the money. The view from the room of the Bosphorus was spectacular. The view from the rooftop bar/breakfast room was even better. The staff was attentive and extraordinarily helpful. They provided great advice on restaurants, directions, schedules of attractions etc. Cannot think of anything except positives to say. I booked it sight unseen and will definitely stay there if I return.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that overlooks the bosphorus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bill s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garut, null, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I picked the hotel solely on the basis of Tripadvisor and it proved to be a great choice. Perfect location, a great room and very friendly service.

The only small criticism I would have was over the breakfast - I'm sure great if you're Turkish but didn't do it for us. However, there are many wonderful cafes close, so it's not a big deal.

I have already recommended it to my son for his trip to Istanbul.

Room Tip: Room 405 - on the street side rather than the train and with a view of the Blue Mosque. One floor hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingsley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. It's in a great location and close to near by major tourist sights.

Rooms are large and spacious and well decorated. Beds and pillows are very comfortable.

Breakfast on the roof top terrace was nice and great views of the Blue Mosque and Afa Sofia.

Hotel staff are very friendly and willing to help with any enquiry.

Worth a stay here.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Cass2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We travel a lot and can divide our hotel types by using Paris as a base, either you are a right bank or left bank hotel. We prefer the left bank and that's what the Ferman Hotel is like. The neighborhood is full of restaurants, stores, shops, a smaller bizzare, and other boutique hotels. The view while having breakfast in the morning or a drink in the evening was amazing. The Blue Mosque on one side and the water on the other. Our room overlooked the water, it was a very nice size and comfortable. I had no problems with the wifi but my wife did a couple of times. It is so easy to get to most of the main attractions by walking, the Blue Mosque is only 150 yards away as an example. The nest time we go back to Istanbul we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRSMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Dorado Hills CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I stayed here for four days at the end of August, 2013 and the location could not have been better! It did indeed have the best view of the Blue Mosque. The room was very comfortable and clean. The breakfast buffet was always very good. We never had to take any public transportation as the hotel was within walking distance to every place that we wanted to go. I traveled with a friend so there were two women traveling alone and we felt perfectly safe at all times.

My prescription sunglasses broke and the staff expertly glued them back together. All of the employees were sincere in making sure that we were comfortable and that we had everything that we needed. I would definitely stay here again the next time I am in Istanbul.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana1758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Ferman Sultan Hotel
Ferman Sultan Hotel
#270 of 1,156 in Istanbul
289 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#166 of 1,156 in Istanbul
836 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#343 of 1,156 in Istanbul
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
#296 of 1,156 in Istanbul
393 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ferman Konak Hotel
Ferman Konak Hotel
#410 of 1,156 in Istanbul
11 reviews
Sultanahmet
Historia Hotel
Historia Hotel
#161 of 1,156 in Istanbul
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferman Hotel

Property: Ferman Hotel
Address: Amiral Tafdil Sok. No:37 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#68 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#72 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#83 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#160 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ferman Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are here to make your holiday get comfortable and meet all your expectations and desires. A 24 hour-room service, friendly staff, good quality and smiling faces are here to welcome you. Throughout your stay you will discover the cultural richness of Istanbul while indulging in the wellknown Turkish hospitality. That is our aim to include the perfect service touches in a wonderful setting that take and ordinary vacation to extraordinary memories. Ferman Hotel is a new S.Class boutique hotel, opened in 2009 at the central of the historical peninsula (Sultanahmet). There are 24 rooms decorated with in a mixture of the Ottoman and the modern style with 2 King's Rooms, 2 Penthouse Rooms, 2 Junior Suits, 6 Sultan's Rooms, 4 Ocean Rooms and 8 Ferman's Rooms. King's Rooms, Junior Suits and Ocean Rooms has a wonderful Marmara Bosphorous view. Penthouse and Sultan's Rooms has a great Sultanahmet view. And the other 8 Ferman Rooms are with a city view. The rooms are at a graceful blend of the past and the present, designed in the Ottoman style yet offering all the modern amenities. Each room is equipped with electronic room key locks, air conditioning, minibar, safe deposit box, smoke dedector, satelite tv channel, 82 inc LCD tv, wireless internet access, direct dial telephone and bathroom with tub or overhead shower. Apart from the superior comforting rooms, it has spacious and very well appointed public areas, where you can relieve yourself from the daily stress. It also puts a strong emphasis on food and beverages. Ferman Hotel is located with in a walking distance to all historical sights such as St. Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Covered Bazaar, Cistern, Topkapi Palace and many others. Due to its convenient location, it offers a great advantage for guests those who wish to explore the old city, Sultanahmet. Ferman Hotel is the new face of Sultanahmet, your second house in Istanbul. Our incredibly central location is only a few steps walking distance to the hub of Istanbul's greatest Ottoman and Byzantine historical treasures including Hagia Sofia, Blue Mosque, the Byzantine Hippodrome, Topkapi Palace and the world famous Grand Bazaar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ferman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferman Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing