We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could be better.”
Review of Erten Konak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Erten Konak
Ranked #261 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good but could be better.”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Not far from the sites/sights - but down very narrow streets. Interesting, quirky decoration. Very friendly, helpful staff. Rooms can be large but with small bathroom or small with better bathroom. Stairs not for elderly or infirm! Air conditioning was not working. Could not provide an iron. Breakfast very average. Very nice breakfast area. Very nice courtyard/garden seating area.

Room Tip: 302 large but very tight bathroom. 202 & 203 much smaller but with better bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    96
    37
    9
    16
See reviews for
36
156
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

IT was good enough for a 2-3 star max. Floor very creaky and could hear everything outside my room. every time somebody past the stairs or walked in the room above ours we could hear it clearly. not suitable for families. I thought it was over priced and there are other nicer hotels in the region.
sheets had stains on them and room not cleaned properly
wouldnt help with bags either

Room Tip: choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ammar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Aust.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This small, old and beautifully restored building is in an ideal location to enjoy the Old City with all it's wonderful treasures, all within minutes on foot. The very helpful and friendly staff will keep a smile on your face. The rooms are large, spotlessly clean, big fluffy towels and extremely comfortable. My wife and I stayed a total of 4 nights and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Room 403 has a great view over the Sea of Marmara, with some pieces of ancient ruins visible between...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avatif Havva Y, Yönetici at Erten Konak, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
We were very happy to read your review and are glad that our services could exceed your expectations during your stay
We thank you for your thoughtful comments and hope to be your host again in your future trips to Istanbul.
Yours sincerely,

Avatif Havva YIGIT
Sales & Marketing Consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for three nights in October 2013. Its location is just excellent, surrounded by small streets with restaurants and shops, ten minutes walk from Aya Sofia. The location is a bit noisy but it gets more or less silent by midnight. The room was small but comfortable, with a big comfortable bed, excellent view over the roofs and excellent quality of wi-fi. Continental breakfast was good. Personnel were very friendly, helping with all requests, and their advice on places to visit was very good.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on 3 or 4 floors - less noisy and excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrei_250171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
World
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My friend and I were in a pinch looking for a hotel on short notice, having arrived in Istanbul on the day of the riots and needing to change our accommodation to Sultanahmet. I walked over to the property from another hotel, and was immediately shown the best remaining room, which fit our requirements. This small hotel was well located, close to the Blue Mosque, in the heart of Sultanahmet. The service was friendly and the people courteous and helpful. The guest rooms are done in a "period" way, and hallways are decorated with the owners' fabulous hat collection. The continental breakfast was fine, and the chef was available to prepare other things if necessary. The small outdoor garden is lovely. There also was an upstairs bar, which we sadly did not have time for. I highly recommend this hotel for sightseeing in Sultanahmet.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StarfishJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Excellent hotel, friendly and helpful staff, and comfortable rooms. Lovely location in the old town. Wifi doesn't work in the room, only in the restaurant area, but other than that, it was a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Sylvia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avatif Havva Y, Yönetici at Erten Konak, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
We were very happy to read your review and are glad that our services could exceed your expectations during your stay
We thank you for your thoughtful comments and hope to be your host again in your future trips to Istanbul.
Yours sincerely,

Avatif Havva YIGIT
Sales & Marketing Consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The hotel is really in the centre, very lovely place. Nice breakfast, friendly people who are wording here. The hotel is like a little emuseum, so beautiful . The only negatieve thing is that you hear when you neighbours arrive. The wooden floor makers really a lot of noice. But yeh, it's part of the design of the house

Room Tip: Ask for the upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BDJ444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Kaftan Hotel
Kaftan Hotel
#258 of 1,155 in Istanbul
156 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#335 of 1,155 in Istanbul
474 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#70 of 1,155 in Istanbul
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Alzer Hotel
Alzer Hotel
#327 of 1,155 in Istanbul
342 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#77 of 1,155 in Istanbul
504 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#165 of 1,155 in Istanbul
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erten Konak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erten Konak

Property: Erten Konak
Address: Akbiyik Cad. Degirmeni Sk. 8-10 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#187 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#228 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#230 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Erten Konak 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Erten konak is in istanbul historical peninsula, in sultanahmet akbiyik avenue and on the roman and byzantine wall towers. It is a wooden esidence having split aubergine model, composed of 2 houses. Constructed at the beginning of the 20th century, and registered as 2nd class historical building under protection and composed of main residence building and 1 house with identity of sultanahmet erten konak rooms are decorated with antique articles and objects subject to the cencept, which reflects ottoman and turkish life style in the best manner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Erten Konak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erten Konak Istanbul
Erten Konak Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing