We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Affordable Location”
Review of Erten Konak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Erten Konak
Ranked #243 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Overall a great experience with a superb breakfast. Affordable and what you'd expect for the price. Rooms are economically sized and occasionally you can hear noise from outside or others. Nothing that you wouldn't expect from any hotel in the area situated in an old house. Off the main drag so street noise is minimal

Room Tip: Top floor is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bsteers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avatif Havva Y, Yönetici at Erten Konak, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
We were very happy to read your review and are glad that our services could exceed your expectations during your stay
We thank you for your thoughtful comments and hope to be your host again in your future trips to Istanbul.
Yours sincerely ,

Avatif Havva YIGIT
Sales & Marketing Consultant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

A good location on a quiet street. The rooms are nicely decorated, spacious with high ceilings. The old floors do creak, so the top floor is best. The bathrooms are somewhat tight, but some do come with small bathtub/shower units.

Room Tip: The 4th floor is the best, so you don't have creaking floors above you, no elevator though and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Journey_Team
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avatif Havva Y, Yönetici at Erten Konak, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
We were very happy to read your review and are glad that our services could exceed your expectations during your stay
We thank you for your thoughtful comments and hope to be your host again in your future trips to Istanbul.
Yours sincerely ,

Avatif Havva YIGIT
Cales & Marketing Consultant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This small jewel is located just a few minutes walk from Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and other landmarks. It is also close to the tram stop and numerous restaurants.
The hotel manager (we forget his name) paid special care and attention to our inquiry about the places to visit. He even served a cup of Americano coffee while he was showing the map and explaining about the places we should go.

We also got a good friend, Osman, who became like a brother even in a short time. He is the chef of this hotel. Everyone from the front office staff to the kitchen staff are very nice and caring.
The hotel rooms are very clean even though a bit small.
The only "nuisance" we had was the noise from the wooden floor when the other guests walked near our room. Otherwise, this is a great hotel to stay in Sultanahmet.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew5757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avatif Havva Y, Yönetici at Erten Konak, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
We were very happy to read your review and are glad that our services could exceed your expectations during your stay
We thank you for your thoughtful comments and hope to be your host again in your future trips to Istanbul.
Yours sincerely,

Avatif Havva YIGIT
Sales & Marketing Consultant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Loved this hotel and it's interior decoration. Superb location & great staff who were very friendly and helpful. Our room was great in size and lacked nothing, 4th floor is a must, as floor gets a bit noisy. Will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beatrice N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avatif Havva Y, Yönetici at Erten Konak, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
We were very happy to read your review and are glad that our services could exceed your expectations during your stay
We thank you for your thoughtful comments and hope to be your host again in your future trips to Istanbul.
Yours sincerely,

Avatif Havva YIGIT
Sales & Marketing Consultant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Not far from the sites/sights - but down very narrow streets. Interesting, quirky decoration. Very friendly, helpful staff. Rooms can be large but with small bathroom or small with better bathroom. Stairs not for elderly or infirm! Air conditioning was not working. Could not provide an iron. Breakfast very average. Very nice breakfast area. Very nice courtyard/garden seating area.

Room Tip: 302 large but very tight bathroom. 202 & 203 much smaller but with better bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

IT was good enough for a 2-3 star max. Floor very creaky and could hear everything outside my room. every time somebody past the stairs or walked in the room above ours we could hear it clearly. not suitable for families. I thought it was over priced and there are other nicer hotels in the region.
sheets had stains on them and room not cleaned properly
wouldnt help with bags either

Room Tip: choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ammar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This small, old and beautifully restored building is in an ideal location to enjoy the Old City with all it's wonderful treasures, all within minutes on foot. The very helpful and friendly staff will keep a smile on your face. The rooms are large, spotlessly clean, big fluffy towels and extremely comfortable. My wife and I stayed a total of 4 nights and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Room 403 has a great view over the Sea of Marmara, with some pieces of ancient ruins visible between...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avatif Havva Y, Yönetici at Erten Konak, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
We were very happy to read your review and are glad that our services could exceed your expectations during your stay
We thank you for your thoughtful comments and hope to be your host again in your future trips to Istanbul.
Yours sincerely,

Avatif Havva YIGIT
Sales & Marketing Consultant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#338 of 1,163 in Istanbul
480 reviews
Sultanahmet
Kaftan Hotel
Kaftan Hotel
#226 of 1,163 in Istanbul
168 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#91 of 1,163 in Istanbul
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#67 of 1,163 in Istanbul
525 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#514 of 1,163 in Istanbul
365 reviews
Amber Hotel Istanbul
#86 of 1,163 in Istanbul
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erten Konak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erten Konak

Address: Akbiyik Cad. Degirmeni Sk. 8-10 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#175 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#227 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#228 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £29 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Erten Konak 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Erten konak is in istanbul historical peninsula, in sultanahmet akbiyik avenue and on the roman and byzantine wall towers. It is a wooden esidence having split aubergine model, composed of 2 houses. Constructed at the beginning of the 20th century, and registered as 2nd class historical building under protection and composed of main residence building and 1 house with identity of sultanahmet erten konak rooms are decorated with antique articles and objects subject to the cencept, which reflects ottoman and turkish life style in the best manner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Erten Konak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erten Konak Istanbul
Erten Konak Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing