We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm & Friendly”
Review of Gulhane Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gulhane Park Hotel
Ranked #361 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
“Warm & Friendly”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Before I start my review, I would first like to congratulate Mr. Yusuf on becoming a proud father of a healthy baby boy. CONGRATULATIONS MR. YUSUF. Please give your beautiful lovely baby a big hug from me.

This was my second time to Istanbul and 1st time in this hotel. A fantastic experience. Enjoyed and loved the warm and friendly hospitality. Kudos to Mr. Onal for having such a fantastic team in Mr. Yusuf & Ms. Hale.

Location - perfect (at least for me as I was always within the Sultanhamet / Sirkeci / Eminonu areas)
Food - Breakfast: could do with a bit more variety. But overall very good.
Food - Lunch / Dinner: Unfortunately was never in the hotel during those times
Comfort - Very Comfortable. The room & bathrooms are well equipped
Security - A little too tight because no outsider is allowed to enter the guests room. I understand the hotel's policy because guests' safety is paramount to the management.

Now for the negatives.
1. Size of the shower cabin - way too small and too tight. I hope I am wrong, maybe because of the room size, the shower cabins cannot be bigger.

2. There is no sign or direction for taxi's to guide them towards the hotel. I was returning from Uskudar and my cabbie asked about 10 people for directions. The hotel needs to consider putting up some signage to guide taxi drivers. My friend drove me from Kuyumcukent to the hotel and he also had problems.

3. Security is overly tight. This can be lightened slightly. There are ways.

Overall I had a wonderful stay. What I really liked about this hotel is the General Manager - Mr. Onal will always make an effort to speak with the guests and he goes that extra mile to make you feel right at home. If you are going to Istanbul, I will definitely recommend this hotel. Make sure you check in when Mr. Yusuf and Ms. Hale are at the front desk. Trust me on this.

THANK YOU VERY MUCH ONAL, YUSUF AND HALE. INSHALLAH SEE YOU SOON.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xpatkris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    120
    26
    10
    12
See reviews for
89
68
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We, as in wife, 2 adolescent sons and myself, are very pleased we got to stay at the Gulhane Park Hotel for 5 nights. We were collected at the airport by Yousef at 7.30am and taken directly to the Hotel. He was a very helpful, polite young man. We were greeted at the Hotel by the lovely Helir and later by the owner Soner. We had our luggage stored until we could check in later so we could travel around the city. Our location was ideal. Very close to the tram line and everything within walking distance which is what we did. Our quad room was very good on the third level and everything in it was very good especially with a clean bathroom and plentiful hot running water. We enjoyed the variety of a Turkish breakfast, and a lot of it, offered in a very nice eating area. The helpfulness provided by Helir and Soner was excellent. There was nothing too big or too small for them to help us with and their English is very good. You may find something bigger and flashier but my family were very content with the venue, the location and the service. We would certainly stay here again if we visit Istanbul again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvagoodmerlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2013

It was rated 4 stars, but actually no more than 2
Everything wasn't sufficient starting room, bed, bathroom, BREAKFAST!!???
Location is very good, walking distance to the historical places, metro station, bus station, feri boat....

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Basel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Was initially hestitant about a hotel in the city centre (we stayed over the Galata Bridge first time) but this hotel is excellent - quiet location yet within easy walking distacne of every major attraction, and close to tram line too. We got a 40% off deal which made it very affordable. Breakfst not overly inspiring but perfectly adequate. Couldn't fault in any other aspect, and will check this one first should be be in Istanbul again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfrmTownsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont Hot Springs, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

As our first hotel in Turkey we were wondering where the car from the airport was taking us. From the outside and its location the hotel did not make a positive impact. However step inside and ones reaction changed. The staff were immediately attentive and helpful and stayed that was for the two days we were there. The furnishing are solid and durable. We enjoyed a suite on the upper floor due to a mistake in reservations (not their mistake) and found it well appointed and very clean. The elevator left a little to be desired but one cannot have it all. The location turned out to be excellent and it was an easy walk to the waterfront and restaurants. Just follow the tram lines and look for the green roof. The breakfast was one of the best we experienced and the staff attentive to our needs.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

It is very nice to see smiling faces at morning,beside their friendly look the staff were very helpfull especially Miss Haleh at reception and the very cooperative GM Mr. Onal.
I spend six wonderfull days with my 3 sisters at this hotel in the middle of November,V.good breakfast,clean Hotel and close to everywhere and everything in Istanbul .I advise those who like to spend quiet times to chose this hotel.I will do it again...

Room Tip: Rooms not so big but are quite enough because you only sleep at Hotel and spend time outside rooms u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghada95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Just came back from Gulhane Park Hotel. We stayed there for 3 nights. It was our 2nd stay there, the 1st was in January. We checked quite a few of other hotels before we decided to try the Gulhane. They speak English at the reception. We booked directly as the rate at booking.com was higher.

This hotel was our choice because of the location and more or less quiet neighborhood, that's why we went there the 2nd time and perhaps will go next time. It's located very close to Topkapi Palace, Archeology Museum. You can walk to the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia. There is also a tram stop called Gulhane (about 3 minutes walk from the hotel, but you don't hear the trams, at least in our room we didn't). It is possible to get to the hotel by public transport from Ataturk Airport, just take the metro (M1 line) to Zeytinburnu (the 6th stop), then change to the tram (T1 line) and get off at the Gulhane stop (the 15th stop).

We stayed at a superior triple room, the room overlooked the entrance to the hotel. The size of the room is sufficient for 3 people to stay (in our case, two adults and our 8-year-old son).
There are 3 beds, though the size of each bed is too small, I'd prefer a bigger bed. There were no chairs in the room, we didn't ask for them as we didn't spend much time there. There is also a small electric kettle and cups, also a small complimentary bottle of water, some tea bags. The bathroom is normal size, enough light (there is a bath, not a shower).
There is also a small wardrobe and a safe box free of charge. This time there were only 3 hangers in the wardrobe which was obviously not enough for 3 people. The room was cleaned every day but sometimes the maid forgot to put the 3d towel.
Breakfast – quite good, we never went hungry, sufficient choice of cold appetizers, every day they offered different hot dishes (omelet, mushrooms, cheese pie, sausages etc.). There are also fruit jams, cold milk, corn flakes, honey, cake (a very-very small cuts), fresh tea, coffee only from an automate. If you want fresh juice, you need to pay for it.

The thing we didn't like about this hotel was the prices for room service and the hotel restaurant in euro, not in liras. We live in Turkey and noticed that the dishes cost in euro much more than they usually cost in liras. For example, a pide (similar to pizza) for 8 euro, usually it costs 8-10 liras. Our advice is check the prices at another cafes so as not to pay more than it's worth.
Another advice is – try to book early. We noticed that the rate for the same room went up and up. When we booked the room, the rate was OK with us. When we checked the rate for the same room a few days prior to out arrival, it was much higher. It didn't concern us as we had a confirmation of the earlier rate, but we wouldn't choose this hotel with higher rates. Perhaps this is the hotel's policy but it seemed wrong to us to change the rate for the same room for the same dates.

On the whole, we liked this hotel and would probably stay there again (if the rate is right).

Room Tip: Try to book early. The superior triple room is a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sude Konak Hotel
Sude Konak Hotel
#426 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Black Tulip
Hotel Black Tulip
#244 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Sultanahmet
Doubletree by Hilton Istanbul - Sirkeci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Orka Royal Hotel
Orka Royal Hotel
#250 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dream Bosphorus Hotel
Dream Bosphorus Hotel
#460 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Sultanahmet
Raymound Blue Hotel
Raymound Blue Hotel
#486 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulhane Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulhane Park Hotel

Property: Gulhane Park Hotel
Address: Nobethane Caddesi, No:1, Istanbul 34112, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#127 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#242 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gulhane Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gülhane Park Hotel is in a fantastic location that allows you to observe the entire historical texture of İstanbul (constantinapolis), to enjoy an unparalleled view of the Bosphorus, Gülhanepark and to breathe the sea and park air. The unique historical and tourist sights of our city are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gulhane Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gulhane Park Istanbul
Hotel Gulhane Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing