We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excellent service”
Review of Gulhane Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gulhane Park Hotel
Ranked #366 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Great location for a family vacation. Clean room, good service, well priced.
You can walk to St. Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazar.
Nice and welcoming personnel. Breakfast is included, nice variety.
Would return anytime.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petrescu11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

I have been to many 4 stars hotels but this is defenetely NOT a 4 star hotel. We experienced a bathroom with fungus and bad smell. The towels are pretty old and they don't feel clean. However the staff was helpful and the hotel is very Close to almost everything. Istanbul is not a cheap destination but I would prefer to pay a little more and get a real 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halfdan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Of all our Turkey hotels, this breakfast was the best with 40 items on the buffet. The best coffee! The location is great, one can walk anywhere in old town, and the tram is just a few blocks away. We felt safe with no issues. They really try hard to be a five star, sewing kit, shower cap, nice toiletries, etc etc. Bayran (spelling???) the manager was extremely helpful. I needed to call out tour operator and rather than having to pay for a personal phone call, he allowed me to use his own cell phone to confirm the time for an excursion. The staff was always friendly. Mind you, the rooms are small, but that is the case for all European hotel rooms that I have experienced. I liked that it is a block off the busy tourist shopping area and thus there was no noise at night. The room has a safe and there is in-room coffee and tea. Very clean room. We couldn't get the TV to work and the staff was there in a couple of minutes showing us the issue (our fault). They are responsive.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hanegul, Manager at Gulhane Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Gulhane Park Hotel Istanbul thank you for the feedback. We are very happy to hear that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us. We want to mentione that we will be happy if we will have a chance to see you again.

Yours Sincerely

Soner ONAL
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My partner Vera enjoyed an excellent stay at the Gulhane Park a few years ago whilst attending a family wedding in the City. When she and I decided to spend a few days in Istanbul earlier this month, we chose the Gulhane Park Hotel again and we were not disappointed. Our room was comfortable, clean and well serviced each day. The hotel is very well placed in relation to visiting historical sites in the City and is close to a tram stop. The staff all spoke English very well and were helpful, professional and friendly. Given the very reasonable cost of the room, we can only rate the Gulhane Park Hotel as a five star choice - Excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

we made a reservation directly to the hotel which turned into dissapointment.
The hotel asked me to send the confirmation order form (with detail credit card info) not more than 24 hours. I did it within 4 hours - however on the next day they informed me that all available rooms have been booked via internet sales - which was not true as I did check in their system and on-line booking the room was available but with much higher price.
the manaher response to my complain does not make sense - as per traveladvisor police, I can't quote their response but would be happy to share my bad experience more detail.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank wisnu315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hanegul, Manager at Gulhane Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

We thank our guest for his review. We attach great attention to all comments of our guests to determine and revise our policies.
However, we would like to clarify some points in this matter.
In our reservation system, it is not possible to confirm reservations without credit card details. We need details to guarantee the reservations but we do not charge anything before the guests arrive.
Our guest had tried to send us his credit card details with a locked excell format without it's code. We have requested the code 3 times, unfotunately we didn't get any respond from his side. 3 days later he responded but it was too late to book 3 rooms due to availiblity reasons that we couldn't confirm the reservations also we didn't receive credit card details again.
Also ,We tried to help to find an other hotel around our hotel but he has declined.
Once again, we are very sorry for the dissatisfaction of our guest, due to unfortunate circumstances detailed above. We still do hope that our guest will visit us and use our services in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Was my first visit to Istanbul, i enjoyed very much because the hotel is very near all the sites and the staff are very helpful also breakfast was tasty
if i visit again i will choose this hotel again, and i will recomended to others.
Thanks
Dr Saad Hassanin

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr Saad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

More of a boutique hotel, rooms are clean, located in old town close to everything. We didn't eat dinner here as there was nobody eating in the restaurant. The comp. water, tea, and coffee are not replaced after day one. Plenty of essentials in the restroom. In room safe provided. I can't stress how helpful the front desk was, in front of us a guest needed to call his tour operator and the desk clerk loaned him his personal cell. The staff goes out of their way to assist you. The rooms are small as is typical in Europe. There is wi-fi in the rooms, but very very weak...that kept away a 5 star rating. Also, our room reeked of cigarette smoke, the Europeans still smoke where they want, and it was in our room!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MaltaBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Centrum Istanbul
Hotel Centrum Istanbul
#400 of 1,163 in Istanbul
214 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Black Tulip
Hotel Black Tulip
#239 of 1,163 in Istanbul
239 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hypnos Design Hotel
Hypnos Design Hotel
#198 of 1,163 in Istanbul
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
The Golden Horn Hotel
The Golden Horn Hotel
#231 of 1,163 in Istanbul
397 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#48 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,552 reviews
Sultanahmet
Uyan Hotel
Uyan Hotel
#193 of 1,163 in Istanbul
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulhane Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulhane Park Hotel

Address: Nobethane Caddesi, No:1, Istanbul 34112, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#133 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#252 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £29 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gulhane Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gülhane Park Hotel is in a fantastic location that allows you to observe the entire historical texture of İstanbul (constantinapolis), to enjoy an unparalleled view of the Bosphorus, Gülhanepark and to breathe the sea and park air. The unique historical and tourist sights of our city are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Gulhane Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gulhane Park Istanbul
Hotel Gulhane Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing