We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent kofte and service!”

Sultanahmet Koftecisi
Ranked #99 of 13,397 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Sultanahmet
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
73 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent kofte and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

Excellent kofte, spicy enough but not too hot! The pilav even better!!! A decent meal low cost and very quickly service!
Try with the bul biber - paprika!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank katia_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    558
    453
    174
    61
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not sure what the hype is about”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

We went here after i ready a review on trip advisor about we must try. We went and found that yes the menu is very limited just two meat dishes you can chose from the kofte which is nice or the lamb shish which is very tasteless.

It was a good quick lunch as the service is very quick. one thing we saw a theme about in turkey is that anyone serving you is very bad a concentrating 100% on you while serving they tend to end up in conversations with others which is really bad. people pushing in when queuing for something is also very common and you need patience to deal with that.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank NSCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Specialists for Kofte”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

I had the best Koftes here,
The place is run really efficiently, even though it was nearly full, we did not wait for more than 10 mins for all orders for a party of 8!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Manu_MJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“not bad”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

This was convenient for our first night in Istanbul and I had read that it was good so we decided to give it a try. We liked the simple atmosphere but weren't very impressed with the food. The lamb and meatballs were pretty bland. We would however recommend the lentil soup. The semolina halva was also simple and good.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, England
Level Contributor
135 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Limited cuisine but authentic Turkish experience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

The only place I've ever eaten where you don't have to say anything to any of the staff. There's no booking, so once seated (upstairs in our case) from the queue outside by the Turkish equivalent of a racecourse "tic-tac" man gesturing to the waiters inside, it just happens.
A plate of bean and tomato salad is placed in front of each diner, soon to be followed by 4 or 5 delicious non-greasy kofta accompanied by a few large grilled green chillies. These chillies are not hot and can be eaten without any problem. You also get a bottle of water and a pot of salty yogurt.
When that lot was gone,a plate of solid semolina arrived. This tasted far better than it looked, a world away from the post-war school dinner version which scarred some pupils for life.
And that's it. it all happens very quickly by western standards, but the Turks, who formed the vast majority of customers, got through it even quicker than our party of 8 : the adjoining table turned round twice while we were there.You get the impression that this place is a familiar institution to people living in Istanbul, the equivalent of the English fish and chip restaurant.
Next thing you know, you're outside and only £8.50 lighter. What a bargain, and what an experience!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barnabee797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sultanahmet Koftecisi also viewed

 

Been to Sultanahmet Koftecisi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing