We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth it!”

Sultanahmet Koftecisi
Ranked #99 of 13,475 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Sultanahmet
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not worth it!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is a review of the Sultanahmet Köftecisi at the address Divanyolu 12, across from the Blue Mosque. Don't go there! We paid TL 93.50 (~$46) for three köftes, one kebab, a plate of fries, two Cokes and two small bottles of water - about 20 lire more than we have been paying for bigger, better meals while here in Istanbul. The meat and the fries were served dry, bland and in very small portions, and both the kebab and the köfte had too much fat and gristle. Service was very slow, though the restaurant wasn't anywhere near full.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    565
    455
    174
    62
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
RIYADH
Level Contributor
120 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best kofte I had”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Perfect kofte actually the best. Place is humble but clean and as other reviews said it is the place you go to eat and leave immediately. I really recommend it

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MANALUM3LI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
197 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Bland and plain meatballs”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I came here based on the positive reviews from TA and my guide book. There are multiple "Sultanahmet Koftecisi's" right next to each other on this street so make sure you're in the right one. This restaurant is located directly across from the Hippodrome/Blue Mosque/Hagia Sophia. I was seated right away by the staff and given a menu. I selected the namesake koftecisi and I thought it was just meh. They also ran out of tomatoes. Additionally, the bathrooms are very clean. I would say this spot must run off its tourist hype but it's not really worth it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jing0423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simple Restaurant with Amazing Kebab”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Located across the street from the Blue Mosque and Aya Sofia, this unassuming restaurant had a secret - some of the best kebab in Istanbul. My girlfriend and I stumbled in there with low expectations given its location near all the tourist sites. The menu is very simple at this restaurant - kebab and a few sides. Yet the kebab is fantastic, very tender and succulent. Near the tourist sites and need a place to stop? Definitely make a stop here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
156 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“A good spot for lunch”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This restaurant is close to Basilica Cistern and Hagia Sophia. We came here for lunch around noon and didn’t have to wait for a table but it filled up fast.
The menu was small. We ordered the salad and the lamb shish kebab since we don’t eat beef. The lamb shish kebab was good. The service was efficient. It was a good spot for lunch when you visit Basilica Cistern, Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MidcoVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sultanahmet Koftecisi also viewed

 

Been to Sultanahmet Koftecisi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing