We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average B&B in Istabnul”
Review of Hotel Ida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Ida
Ranked #851 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Average B&B in Istabnul”
Reviewed 8 April 2011

Ida is located in the heart of Sultanahmet among a lot of others. You can easily find it on the street if you take the right one from the Blue Mosque. They offer good prices in case of long stay, credit cards are accepted.

But we chose it because of view ofer Marmara sea from the terrace, and I`m not sure it was a right choice. Our room was very small and located on basement level. It has no windows! From there to terrace we had to pass 4 levels up by steepy stairs. They served breakfast on this terrace, but only bread, olives and tea! Actually I can`t say that was a breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boris_texnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    33
    18
    8
    6
See reviews for
4
55
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

A good budget hotel very close to historic attractions in Istanbul. Friendly staff, small but clean room with good shower. Ask for a room with a view or check out views in both directions from the terrace at the top. Take great care on the VERY STEEP stairs; it’s a bit tricky getting your suitcases up & down them!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janey57NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2010

I would agree, this is more of a hostel than hotel. Travelling with my daughter who likes to rough it a bit, it was just a double bed in a small room. Didn't seem very clean but it was alright for the price. Perfect location. Istanbul is a great city. We loved this city.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llisah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

Really close to the major historical buildings, less than10 minutes walk and that was in the heat! Clean, comfortable, good shower, view out over street and an area on the roof to collapse at night for a drink. The room was small but we only slept there. Staff were kind and helpful. Brought us a cup of tea our first night there and then showed us where we could make our own. Substantial breakfast up on the roof with views where you could watch the shipping and in the other direction see the Blue Mosque and Aya Sophia. Great place to stay, if watching the pennies, but you need to be able to handle stairs.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sailorlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Small, friendly hotel in a perfect location. Staff very helpful. 5 min walk to historical attractions and easy access to the tram system. Plenty of restaurants and bars on this street to enjoy. Only issue is steep staircase to breakfast terrace, not suitabile to anyone with a disability. Would certainly return to this hotel for a short stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joisEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Hotel Ida is a small hotel on a lively road full of hostels and hotels for a range of ages. I was travelling with a friend, and found the location of Ida was ideal for restaurants and shisha, which is what we were looking for as we did not want to travel long distances to eat at night. The blue mosque is just a five minute walk away as is the nearest tram stop, which connects Sultanahmet to the rest of Istanbul. The area is full of tourists and seems safe - we had no problems when we were there. As for the hotel itself the rooms are on the small side but there is a good sized double bed with sufficient space for luggage. We were given the basement room - not ideal but since we didn't spend much time in the room itself it didn't really bother us. The breakfast is served on the small roof terrace four floors up (with a view of the blue mosque on one side and the sea on the other side). One thing which concerned us was the stairs in the hotel are steep, narrow and made of marble so if you're not careful you could easily fall! Breakfast consists of rolls or bread, three slices of cucumber and tomato and some sort of pink meat - not a great meal but after speaking to other tourists living in similar budget hotels is apparently common in Turkey. We were looking for a budget hotel in Istanbul with a good location and good transport links - and this hotel satisfies that. However if you want to relax in your hotel room on holiday, I wouldn't recommend Ida - try the Four Seasons nearby.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rp1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pescara
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

The hotel ıs good room are small but quıte clean and prıce ıs ok.Locatıon ıs perfect. They are kınd and frıendly. You could certaınly fınd somethıng better ın Istambul but that hotel ıs a good solutıon ıf you want to save your money.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elpirulon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,155 in Istanbul
3,002 reviews
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#88 of 1,155 in Istanbul
814 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,155 in Istanbul
1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#159 of 1,155 in Istanbul
781 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bomonti Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ida

Property: Hotel Ida
Address: Cankurtaran Mah. Akbiyik Cad. No:27 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #851 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ida 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in historical district overlooking the Marmara sea. The 24-hour desk information on excursions in Istanbul and Turkey. Wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel.Excellent views across the Marmara Sea (Bosphorus), Prince Islands and Blue Mosque can be enjoyed from the terrace of the rooftop where breakfast is serving.The local area offers several dining and fun options.Staff at the 24-hour front desk can provide express-check in/out and currency exchange. Airport transfers can be arranged, and onsite parking facilities are complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ida Hotel Istanbul
Boutique Hotel Ida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing