We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great choice!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aldem Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aldem Hotel
Ranked #82 of 1,012 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Kosice, Slovakia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great choice!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

A great hotel with awesome location, old cities lovely restaurants are just outside the door. And everything else you wanna see is within walking distance. Helpful and friendly staff, cozy, clean and nice size hotel. Easy to get to and they organize airport transfer.
Breakfast buffé was good and we had it on the roof, with the most fantastic view. :)

Rooms are a bit badly sound isolated, never heard anything from outside, but could hear people walking/talking in the corridors very clearly.

But best thing is the location, cant get better!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma1111156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    124
    39
    10
    7
See reviews for
72
112
62
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

The three most important thing in hotels in my opinion is "location,location,location". The Alaaddin is a perfect place to stay to explore Istanbul in particular the Sultanahmet area. All the best sights are within maximum a 15min stroll from the hotel. We spent 9 days in Istanbul and we saw everything we wanted to see and more. The staff were also fantastic, so friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay there very much. The rooms were small but cozy and the bathrooms (my pet peeve) were absolutely clean and tidy. We had a room on the second floor, facing the street and it was great to watch the coming and going of the people in the mornings. When the noise of the city got too busy we simply closed the window and all was quiet. We loved that there were restaurants all around and the tram was literally a five minute walk. This was our first visit to Istanbul but not our last and the Alaaddin will be our first choice to stay

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ESHOLZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

My hubby lost his pport, Especially Mohamed was amazing, and Erfan too, helped to find our embassy, booked bus and ferry tickets, helped me when Turkish airlines cancelled our flights(in the middle of the night). We just had to ask and they delivered...what a team.Nothing was too much hassle for the breakfast staff as well, they served us all with enthusiasm a willingness to please.
Hotel was well situated, close to Blue mosque, Grand bazaar, tram, Mohammed is a mine of info for shopping, day trips etc.
Hotel squeaky clean baths, comfy beds, cosy rooms, (some small),
Our teen kids loved the 4 sleeper family room, which is more spacious.
Easy to get to from airport by tram and train, Mohameds directions were spot on.
Thanks again Mohamed and team, we experienced Turkish hospitality at its best.

Room Tip: if you three or four , book trp or quad as standard rooms are small. quad room 101 very comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank afssim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

My friends and I spent 4 days in a beautiful city of Istanbul and stayed at this lovely little hotel during our visit. We booked on-line and were surprised when we found out how close this place was to most of things that we planned to see. Besides the great location I have to point out the helpful staff, cozy and tidy little rooms and a nice view from the restaurant and the terrace on the top. Rooms are nicely furnished, they have a TV and a mini fridge. My room was on the second floor and did not have a window view (it was facing the fire escape) but I didn't mind. There are rooms with a street view as well which are brighter. The noise level could be lower, but I guess it really depends on other guests. Breakfast is served in a restaurant on the 6th floor and the variety of food is good. It is good to know that the hotel also offers transportation from and to the airport for the price of 20 lira per direction. We had a great time, I fell in love with the city and most certainly will visit again. Of course, this hotel will be my first choice for the stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side have a nice view and are brighter than the ones facing the other side. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yvonne7D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

I stayed at this hotel between 16 -23 March of this year and found that the hotel was located very well- within a two or three minute walk to Bascilla cistern, Hippodrome and Blue Mosque. Furthermore the tram is round the corner so in terms of getting around, it is excellent. The staff were all very welcoming. Our tv stopped working and they tried to sort it and eventually gave us another room. We stayed in room 202 which faced onto the street. very interesting. Later we moved to the next room, 203. The lady who served breakfast and Tasali were both extremely lovely. Will certainly go back!

Room Tip: 202 was a good room with street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hafsa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

I've been to this hotel three times. The location is perfect in the Sultanahmet tourist district. All of the best sites, many food options, and the Tram are just steps from the door. If you shop around, the rates are among the lowest in the neighborhood. The rooms can be small, the noise level can vary, and the free wi-fi internet signal can too. These things all depend on the room you get. I prefer the rooms in the front overlooking the street. Much brighter, great internet signal, and fridges in the rooms.

5 star rating because of the value. I'm sure that there are better hotels, but maybe not for the money. I will be back.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the street seem to be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gopackjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

I booked this stay with the help of the great comments from Tripadvisor. The booking was made through an on-line booking site for my family and I to stay over the New Year period. We had several local questions to ask prior to our stay, for example where to eat for New Year, best currency to use etc so decided to directly contact the hotel. Each time I asked a question, it was responded to me promptly and efficiently. Through the hotel we arranged for a taxi. The driver met us at the airport with our names on a board and taken directly to our hotel - 5 euros each, bargain. We were greeted with the mostly friendly group of staff, after a quick check in, we were taken to our room. The room was of good size and very, very clean. TV with 1000s of channels (a couple in English), no view, but lovely and quiet, a reasonably stocked and priced mini bar and room service was available. The breakfast is fine, continental style with local samples, again clean, very friendly staff and wonderful views. Less than 5 mins walk to trams, Sophia and Blue Mosque. Plenty of nice places to eat and drink within seconds to walk. Will definately come back and I highly recommend to all. Thank you. PS - the table booked at the Hamdi Restaurant for New Year was fantastic, window seat over looking river and fireworks, a memorable start to 2012.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank snowies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Ayasultan Hotel
Ayasultan Hotel
#313 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#26 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Anthemis Hotel
Anthemis Hotel
#167 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Sultanahmet
Arife Sultan Hotel
Arife Sultan Hotel
#466 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Sultanahmet
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
#76 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldem Hotel

Property: Aldem Hotel
Address: Alemdar Mah. Catal Cesme Sok. No:20-22 | Eminonu/Cagaloglu, Istanbul 34410, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 1,012 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aldem Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alaaddin Boutique Hotel - Istanbul We are conveniently located in heart of the Sultanahmet, and either a walking distance or a short tram ride (Tram Station is 3 mins walk from the hotel) to many of the historic attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Aldem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing