We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gereat Location and Great Service !”
Review of Aldem Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aldem Hotel
Ranked #132 of 1,081 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My friend and I were extremely pleased with our choice of the Alaaddin Hotel for our recent trip to Istanbul. The location is excellent – just one block away from many shops and restaurants, and only a 20 minute walk to some of the best sights – the Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, the Basilica Cistern, The Grand Bazaar, the Double Decker busses. The hotel was on a quiet tree-lined, cooler street just five minutes from the hustle and bustle. It had a true European/ Turkish feel and a welcoming atmosphere. It was clean and quiet, and the entire staff was very friendly and helpful, especially those at the Front Desk. A wonderful buffet breakfast was served with a panoramic view of the nearby sites, all the way to the Bosphorus. The highlight was definitely the view from the rooftop terrace on the 7th floor – just spectacular at night! The people in the surrounding areas were also so friendly and helpful . Especially helpful to us were the services of the Front Desk staff. They went out of their way to assist us in any way that they could, which made our visit so much easier and more enjoyable. I’m already looking forward to a return trip to Istanbul, and to the Alaaddin!

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor, so had easy, quick access to the Breakfast Room and to the rooftop terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

this hotel is close to all major attractions... aultan ahmet..sofia hagia..the cisterns... topkapi palace. very clean rooms. attentive, courteous staff.

stayed there three times in may and august 2013

front desk very knowledgeable and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 509ik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I stayed for 4 days at the Alaaddin Hotel, Istanbul. This boutique hotel is beautiful, and the staff is very attentive. The rooms feature hand painted ceilings, the lobby showcases lovely musaics and some great Tea 24/7, and there are even plenty of English novels in the lobby to browse! The complementary breakfast is filled with everything to start your day great, from a beautiful panoramic 6th story view. It is a very short walk to the Old City of Istanbul. The Mosques, Hagia Sofia, Palaces, Food, all sorts of shopping are all just around the corner! I would return to stay here again and again and again. I WILL return to this hotel. I am seriously in love with this hotel! Thank you, SELIM, and ALL the staff!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a window facing the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MesaMama1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I recently stayed here with a friend and we were both very satisfied! The transfer to the hotel was great and despite arriving very late in the night-we were greeted by the hotel staff (Selim Bay) very friendly and welcoming. We were offered tea and coffee and our bags were taken to our rooms for us. Very hospitable!
The rooms are the perfect size and in the perfect location. Every day our rooms are cleaned making our stay much more comfortable. You almost feel like home here.
The breakfast every morning was delicious and the kitchen staff were friendly and kind.
The roof terrace is wonderful!
All of the staff at Alaaddin Hotel help in any way they can answering any questions we made. If I were to stay in Istanbul in Sultanahmet area near the Blue Mosque and Aya Sophia, Alaaddin would be a first choice.
I recommend booking with them!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ViaDagmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Stayed here with my 2 kids earlier in July 2013. It was such a nice experience!! The staff, including Erdal & Mohammed, were very helpful and accomodating. The rooms very nicely kept. They aren't too big but thats normal for hotels in this area.
The location for this hotel is so superb for access to Aya Sofiya or Blue Mosque.
Since our sttay was during Ramadan, it was nice for my kids and I to go the Blue Mosque and its grounds as often as we wanted and being so close was a delight. The kids and I loved the mystic music fest going on every night, as well as the crafts & foods bazaar set-up outside the mosque for the Ramadan festivities. A truly memorable experience!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SabirHuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The boutique hotel has very small however clean rooms in a central location within walking distance to many major attractions as well as the tram. Limited amenities include a roof top patio and breakfast has a relatively good selection. There is a wide variety of restaurants nearby and a small grocery store is located around the corner. Management and reception are helpful and attentive. Overall, a good value if you don't mind a small room.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BocaRatonAndBack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

A month ago we stayed for a week . After 17.5 hours flights, and further 2 hours (customs/transfer) we checked in and were shown to a room that had only about 3 feet of space on 2 sides of the bed, so that when you open the bathroom door it reaches the bed side. also one 3 drawer dresser and no night stands. We called the desk, 'this room is only a single room, and we booked a double room", no more rooms tonight, we will change tomorrow, and they did.
The only way to open the suitcases was to put them on the bed. We couldn't really sleep much that night as we already lost sleep the night before, it was a terrible feeling, that took a good 2 days to recover.
Like all travelers, we were determined that our visit will not be stolen from us.

Came home, was not easy, but contacted Hotels.com, were advised that " the room you booked measured X feet by X feet', "you should have booked a 2 bed room", the hotel changed you to a better room.
And Customer Service could not call us back, and would not give us anything in writing.

So! their best room in the hotel, was big enough, but you had to walk out of the bathroom sideways, and be aware that there was a dip of about 1.5 ", and a dip of 1/2" coming in the room.

The night stand was for display only, that can accommodate a book and 2 cell phones but no clothes.
There was one closet , one shelf on the very top, and another on the very bottom. No shelves in the middle.

The breakfast room sharp steps to walk up to 6th. floor. the only hot thing they offer is tea or coffee.

Lots of nice tiles and wall decorations. Clean, and good service.

Located on block from the main tourist area, but you have to pass the restaurants, on both sides of streets getting to tourist areas. Great view from the 7th. floor terrace if you ignore the dead planters and the adjacent dilapidated building and rotted furniture on other buildings.

This is a small hotel with small rooms, which will expect you to pay for a double room but has no problem in giving you a single room, when you paid for a double
3 star is all that it deserves if they offered you what you paid for.

Any hotel that shows room measurements at time of booking, means the room is very small and you should not book it.

Since most hotels in that area are very small, WHAT TO DO.
DO NOT BOOK WITH HOTELS.COM because they will not help you if you have a problem
Do what other smart travelers did.
Look at Istanbul's metro line, 2 km from the tourists area, that is where you will find much bigger rooms, hot breakfast, much cheaper price, and close by reasonably priced restaurants where the locals eat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khanney2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Ayasultan Hotel
Ayasultan Hotel
#357 of 1,160 in Istanbul
250 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Perula
Hotel Perula
#358 of 1,160 in Istanbul
189 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nomade Hotel
Nomade Hotel
#411 of 1,160 in Istanbul
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Anthemis Hotel
Anthemis Hotel
#141 of 1,160 in Istanbul
129 reviews
Sultanahmet
Star Holiday Hotel
Star Holiday Hotel
#228 of 1,160 in Istanbul
194 reviews
Sultanahmet
Arife Sultan Hotel
Arife Sultan Hotel
#498 of 1,160 in Istanbul
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldem Hotel

Address: Alemdar Mah. Catal Cesme Sok. No:20-22 | Eminonu/Cagaloglu, Istanbul 34410, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 1,081 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: £21 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aldem Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alaaddin Boutique Hotel - Istanbul We are conveniently located in heart of the Sultanahmet, and either a walking distance or a short tram ride (Tram Station is 3 mins walk from the hotel) to many of the historic attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aldem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing